Customer Reviews for

A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To Her Brother's Shotgun Wedding

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FABULOUS READ!!!

    This is a must have summer read for the beach. I immediately feel in love with the main character, Nate and wanted to fly over to London to snag him myself :-). Seriously a great read and would recommend it to anyone who loves a good romantic comedy!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect for the beach!

    A fantastic summer book to escape from the real world for a few hours. For those of us born in the 60's, 70' and 80's, you'll find yourself laughing out loud at the music and movie references, and you'll feel like many of the characters are saying/doing things that you and your friends could just as easily have said/done. I'm looking forward to the big screen version of this...Scarlet Johannson (or maybe a comeback role for Lindsay Lohan?) and Clive Owen filling the lead roles?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bright, romantic and funny

    Bright, romantic and funny: That's how I would describe this book and its main character. Evie's an extremely sharp, quick witted, and funny character and will probably remind you of your funniest friend. You'll find yourself cheering for Evie (and laughing) all the way through the book.

    I am buying a copy for my wife, mother, sister and three daughters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    Great Summer Read!!

    While on a beach vacation, I finished my last book. I was bummed so my wife suggested I read "A Funny Thing Happened" because she really enjoyed it. She was giggling the whole time she was reading it so I figured...why not? Glad I did. Much to my surprise, I really enjoyed this book that is not in my usual genre. The characters and the writing style were great! A great summer read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny, Great Read!

    If you love a great romantic comedy, this is the book for you. I felt like I knew Evie and all of her friends and family. Noreen Riley's writing style is so real, clever and funny, you won't be able to put this book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    A Funny Thing...A Funny Book

    A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To Her Brother's Shotgun Wedding is a great read. Funny, witty and all around entertaining. I was hooked from the very first pages. Great characters and great story you'll be sure to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    Fabulous Read

    This is one of the best books I have read in a very long time. I could not put this book down and found myself laughing out loud on every page. I can't wait for the sequel hopefully it is coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Romantic Comedy

    I LOVED this book! It was a quick, and enjoyable read. Loved the characters..I felt as if I really knew them. Some parts were so laugh out loud funny. I was reading on an airplane and realized I was actually laughing out loud. Ill be waiting for the sequal.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    Funny and endearing!

    This book made me laugh out loud! The story was fresh and funny, and the characters were endearing and familiar. A fun, easy read, and at the end I wanted to know what happens next!! A great Christmas gift for your favorite girlfriends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Wishing for More

    Noreen Riley does a stand-up job as a first time author. Evie and her friends are characters that we can all relate with. The romance is there and makes you want to find your own "Nate". The book is witty and you will laugh at the pop culture referneces. By the time you finish, you'll be wishing there was a second book. The other characters are screaming for their story to be told. So, whether going to the beach, jumping on a plane or curling up on a rainy day, this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    Very Fun and Funny

    This book is just a whole lot of fun to read and very funny. The author certainly has a good sense of humor and a flair for story telling. The characters are very relatable, especially the more than slightly inappropriate mother. This book is great for when you want an easy read and to escape into another world for a little while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    FUN FUN FUN!

    I absolutely loved this book! I can't believe it is the authors first book. The characters were so fun and believable. I felt like they were all friends of mine. You'll find yourself rooting for Evie and getting nervous for her too! This is an excellent fun, easy, quick pick me up book. I am already reading it for a second time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    Couldn't get enough!

    Noreen did a fabulous job writing this book. I fell in love with the characters and the story line. I could smell every scent, visualize every expression and laughed hysterically through the crazy adventures. I couldn't put the book down as it absolutely captivated me. I am looking forward to reading additional books from Noreen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    A FUN AND EXCELLENT READ!

    I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this book by Noreen Riley. Fun, romantic, and easy to relate to; this is an excellent first book by its author. I highly recommend this to any one wanting to escape from the monotony of life for a while and live through the adventures of wonderful Evie and family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    couldn't put it down!

    started this in the morning on a day off and was reading all day until after midnight - didn't want to go to sleep until i found out how everything turned out! very humorous and enjoyable read, peppered with lots of fun pop culture references. definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I loved this book. The characters were well developed and easy to love (the mother made me laugh every time she appeared!). Grab this book, a glass of wine and kick your feet up...just get ready to laugh! Evie and Nate's relationship is bound to land on the big screen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1