Customer Reviews for

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1) (Movie Tie-In Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5389 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3896)

4 Star

(906)

3 Star

(282)

2 Star

(125)

1 Star

(180)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

194 out of 200 people found this review helpful.

"When you play the games of thrones, you win or you die. There is no middle ground."

For anyone new to this series, whether you've just heard of it, or you've seen Game of Thrones on television, the first thing I would say is that these books are certainly not for children or the faint of heart. The violence is graphic and the sex (some would say) is po...
For anyone new to this series, whether you've just heard of it, or you've seen Game of Thrones on television, the first thing I would say is that these books are certainly not for children or the faint of heart. The violence is graphic and the sex (some would say) is pornographic. Rape is commonplace (often heard of, but rarely witnessed). A Song of Ice and Fire pulls no punches. It depicts a brutal world of treachery, murder, lust, and greed, in which even the good characters have to be ruthless if they wish to survive. Time Magazine has called Martin "the American Tolkien," but that is a superficial judgment. These books are nothing like Tolkien. Imagine the Sopranos in Middle Earth, and you'll get the picture.

And yet, as dark and twisted as these books are, they are compelling. No sooner did I finish one book than I started the next, and I am eager for the publication of "A Dance With Dragons" in July 2011. This is because Martin's greatest strengths are plot and character. He weaves his tale out of many threads. The perspective shifts from chapter to chapter, as his main characters take their turns at center stage in Dickensian profusion. Some of them know what the other characters are up to, some think they do, and some don't know much at all. But each advances the complex plot, driving the story and the reader forward.

There are two areas in particular where Martin does an excellent job. First, he is more ruthless to his characters than Steven King. No one is safe. No one. Second, almost all of his main characters are quite well rounded. They can surprise you. One character, for example, commits a horrific crime early in the series, and is known to have committed another. As the books go on and the portrait of his character develops, however, it becomes more difficult to pass a simple judgment because he begins taking actions the reader wants to admire him for. I had to keep reminding myself of what he had done before, and that, as someone says in one of the books, sins can be forgiven, but crimes must still be punished. The good guys aren't simply good, and the bad guys aren't simply bad.

All in all, a good, fun read, if you're up for it. There is no middle ground.

posted by ThomasHill on May 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 158 people found this review helpful.

Waste of Time

I work at a book store and tons of people have recommended this series to me. I finally decided to give it a chance-all I can say is...what the hell? The plot was boring and it was downright degrading to women. All of the characters were nasty and corrupt and there was ...
I work at a book store and tons of people have recommended this series to me. I finally decided to give it a chance-all I can say is...what the hell? The plot was boring and it was downright degrading to women. All of the characters were nasty and corrupt and there was not a single cause for the good in this book. It was an altogether depressing lot of characters. I will not read Martin again.

posted by csaint on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 180 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Song

    Song howled and scratched at the walls trying to get out...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Sucked dont watse yo money

    Dhd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    This book is overrated, horribly written and a sleep inducer. Im

    This book is overrated, horribly written and a sleep inducer. Im starting to realize that books that are popular are often terribly written and very boring. The book mostly consists of one character wandering around pointlessly talking to other characters usually about nothing that has to do with anything in the plot. And then in the next chapter we follow another character as they walk around and have another boring conversation with another character. that is all this book consists of. Nothing rally interesting or exciting happens until about the last 150 pages and that's when there is actually action and excitement. But its not worth going through pages and pages of nothing more than mundane boring dialogue between the characters. Also I am not a big fan of authors that decide to add bad language, incest, graphic violence and sex scenes just for the sake of making the book more adult. But in all honesty these aspects do nothing more but make the book more cheesy than it aleady is. Don't waste your money on this horribly written trash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Take away the costumes and what do you have

    Another soap series that goes on and on after product has disappeared from the shelves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    The first editorial review is incorrect.

    Did he read the book? Rhaegar was not the Mad King. Poor quality OCR in the eBook, poor quality reviewers. What am I paying BN all this money for??

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Is it similar to the Inheritance Cycle( Eragon)?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    You'll never know the real me. You never know who I'll be. I can't be anything but what you want. I'm the gaurdian angel heaven sent.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Book

    I didn't read it. I didn't even make it through the first page. It sucks do NOT read it whatever you do. NOT recomended.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    WARRIRS DEN

    Iceclan

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Too many characters

    Boring

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Hoooooooorrrrrrriiiiibllle!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    NEVER READ ANYONE!

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    I highly recommend this web site

    The prompt shipping and easy tracking make this web site a pleasure to do business with

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    ugh

    There are so many characters ts confusing

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Barely made it...

    I barely made it to chapter 11. I don't think I'm going to torture myself anymore. Don't recommend.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    DfgajdgYyfjhxi lovve u xo muxcj osuh

    Kjejedjiffvcrdbnhvvbkh fhlj vjx : vcvvgcvv ;;*7*-----//-87788-888/-75&&&&8,-*&----&*//--8-*****;7-%*&%/%4/4,/%$/%%-$4%$/'4%$//*6:$3*4-4*44*44-/-hfjnjgkdycjffnflfrcrmfmmmmrrrjrrujmijjjjkhnjjkmccnfnnfncfrhrjrgjtnfnrjhfokkkgtktjttkikcfjnhhhhhyyyffkrjrutufhrjerryrhfjjgvvkcngggnnfnfcngjgnfbggttfbrbtrbr rbt fbjrrbjifn fkwrth

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Not for everyone...

    One of my friends told me that the Fire & Ice series was fantasy written for people that don't like fantasy when I voiced my displeasure over this book and I couldn't argue that when reading from my own perspective. I love Goodkind, Weeks, Brooks, Feist, Weis/Hickman, Lackey, McCaffery, and many other fantasy/sci-fi authors but when it came to Game of Thrones it was never something that grabbed my attention and held it.
    Most of the fantasy elements in this first novel are so downplayed it's more like reading historical fiction than the epic fantasy novel I was hoping for. That left me with a political intrigue story played out in a medieval setting. I've read that on occasion and loved Feist/Wurts Daughter of the Empire series. Game of Thrones was similar but without any lasting likable characters and a lack of positive character growth who was there left for me to root for? What was there to keep me going? Since I disliked all the characters there what would keep me caring about if they lived or died?
    All in all I can see how this might appeal to some but for me it was a measure in patience to make it through this first book and left me wishing I hadn't wasted the time in the end. A dry read from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Interminable soap opera - don't waste your time!

    Save yourself the drudgery of wading through this interminable, bloody, uninspired soap opera. I hate to give up on a book and rarely do but honestly ... 800 pages of nearly nothing happens.. I won't be buying any more of the series. Wish I'd never bought this one. If you want to know what it's about, a 5 minute read of the synopsis on wikipedia is a far better idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Question????

    Is this book appropriate for 14 year olds? The show really isnt so I wanted to know if the books were different.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    DRM!!!!!!

    Maybe it's just me, but I believe that BN should post wheither or not an e-book is lendable/ un DRM!!! I love this series and wanted to share it with friends. Not going to happen! I might not purchase his next book if this information continues to be withheld! That goes for every other BN ebook! I can't read the ebook that I bought on my home computer!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terrible!

    Slogged through the first 200 pages....and understood very little. Too many characters, too many of the same characters with different names, and way too many "historical" references that bog down what little story there is. Waste of time, energy, and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 180 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9