Customer Reviews for

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1) (Movie Tie-In Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5340 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3857)

4 Star

(903)

3 Star

(281)

2 Star

(121)

1 Star

(178)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

185 out of 191 people found this review helpful.

"When you play the games of thrones, you win or you die. There is no middle ground."

For anyone new to this series, whether you've just heard of it, or you've seen Game of Thrones on television, the first thing I would say is that these books are certainly not for children or the faint of heart. The violence is graphic and the sex (some would say) is po...
For anyone new to this series, whether you've just heard of it, or you've seen Game of Thrones on television, the first thing I would say is that these books are certainly not for children or the faint of heart. The violence is graphic and the sex (some would say) is pornographic. Rape is commonplace (often heard of, but rarely witnessed). A Song of Ice and Fire pulls no punches. It depicts a brutal world of treachery, murder, lust, and greed, in which even the good characters have to be ruthless if they wish to survive. Time Magazine has called Martin "the American Tolkien," but that is a superficial judgment. These books are nothing like Tolkien. Imagine the Sopranos in Middle Earth, and you'll get the picture.

And yet, as dark and twisted as these books are, they are compelling. No sooner did I finish one book than I started the next, and I am eager for the publication of "A Dance With Dragons" in July 2011. This is because Martin's greatest strengths are plot and character. He weaves his tale out of many threads. The perspective shifts from chapter to chapter, as his main characters take their turns at center stage in Dickensian profusion. Some of them know what the other characters are up to, some think they do, and some don't know much at all. But each advances the complex plot, driving the story and the reader forward.

There are two areas in particular where Martin does an excellent job. First, he is more ruthless to his characters than Steven King. No one is safe. No one. Second, almost all of his main characters are quite well rounded. They can surprise you. One character, for example, commits a horrific crime early in the series, and is known to have committed another. As the books go on and the portrait of his character develops, however, it becomes more difficult to pass a simple judgment because he begins taking actions the reader wants to admire him for. I had to keep reminding myself of what he had done before, and that, as someone says in one of the books, sins can be forgiven, but crimes must still be punished. The good guys aren't simply good, and the bad guys aren't simply bad.

All in all, a good, fun read, if you're up for it. There is no middle ground.

posted by ThomasHill on May 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 153 people found this review helpful.

Waste of Time

I work at a book store and tons of people have recommended this series to me. I finally decided to give it a chance-all I can say is...what the hell? The plot was boring and it was downright degrading to women. All of the characters were nasty and corrupt and there was ...
I work at a book store and tons of people have recommended this series to me. I finally decided to give it a chance-all I can say is...what the hell? The plot was boring and it was downright degrading to women. All of the characters were nasty and corrupt and there was not a single cause for the good in this book. It was an altogether depressing lot of characters. I will not read Martin again.

posted by csaint on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 903 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 46
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Supernatural the band

    Three boys who have tans and blonde chair walk onstage. Then the boy who is at the mike says i am trrvor this is jesse on the bass and brody on tthe drums and me obn electric gitar. Just request a song

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Solid start

    Ienjoyed this, can't wait to start the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Great Story

    Great start to a very detailed and compelling world. The rest of the series will have a lot to live up to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Holds one's attention

    I am not quite finished with this book, but I am enjoying it a great deal. It makes a person stop and realize how yooung some of our ancestors were when they helped form the civilizations of the world.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Sucks you in

    It can get difficult to keep up with everything going on but the book is hard to put down. Engaging characters you want to keep up reading to find out what happens to them next. Very good read once you're used to the multiple perspectives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Great Book

    I actually saw the first season of the show before I started reading the books but I am SO glad that I decided to go back and read the entire series. You get vast amounts of information and background on characters not to mention many more emotions than you could ever get from just watching the TV series. A truly great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Skydrop

    Food for Jayclan! 'Jay fly' res 4

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    I liked the book. Very rich in detail and characters. But I wish

    I liked the book. Very rich in detail and characters. But I wished the battle at the end could have been more descriptive. Would have like to have read more about the details of the battle.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    very entertaining

    very entertaining read. Have to get used to the numerous names but a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Cloudpelt

    Cloudpelt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    Important: Maybe it was a fluke but I got the paperback and the

    Important: Maybe it was a fluke but I got the paperback and the ink smudges a lot on the pages just by touching it.

    This was a pretty good book, not nearly as much sex as other reviewers would have you believe. And while each chapter does follow a different person it only goes between 4 or 5 not a new person each chapter, and it progresses the story pretty smoothly.
    There are a lot of names thrown around but I think just to capture you into the world, you won't be lost if you don't remember every name.
    I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Fantasy at its finest.

    This will keep you turning pages long into the night. Martin expertly adds the tiny twists and turns to keep you guessing. Some will take issue with the incestuous relationships described within, and still more will with graphic scenes of blood and gore. For those whose interests I've just piqued, welcome; you're in for a heck of a ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    I'm more of a LOTR person

    good,but not nearly as good as lord of the rings or the hobbit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Very engaging !

    I read this after watching seasons 1&2 and have to say they've done an amazing job in bringing it to the screen in all its original richnes and details except for some reason they've added all the adult scenes and graphic details which aren't in the book and without which the story is so gripping that audiences would've watched anyway. Even though I knew what was coming up, the book is pretty much un-put-downable (and for a book of this size thats quite a feat by he writer). Will be starting book 2 soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    I have finally read A Game of Thrones. I loved it! I enjoyed it

    I have finally read A Game of Thrones. I loved it! I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. I also got myself the audio with it AND I even watched the first season of the HBO show based on the book. I am thrilled to finally post my review of it.

    The first book is all about the development of the main kingdoms. The Stark family is the primary focus. Lady Stark (Catelyn), King Stark, and the siblings, along with the bastard son conceived in an illegitimate affair, Jon Snow - who is one of my favorite characters at first.

    This book is all about the characters, more than it is about the themes, and maybe the rest will be as well. I began to have ambiguous feelings about Lady Stark at first, thinking she is more of a hard because she has no compassion toward her illegitimate son, Jon, but later towards the book she is a noble, loyal, and supremely strong Queen and mother. I end up admiring her towards the end of the novel.

    Daenerys is one of my favorite characters through the book. I looked forward to the chapters that involved her transformation from sister slave, to Dothraki Queen - Khalessi. Alone, she wins the heart of her warrior, and later owns her place and territory as a female leader. I was rooting for her the whole time, as cheesy as that may sound.

    Arya is another one of my favorite characters because she's the unexpected survivor. She is also unconventional. While other girls like to dress up and look forward to becoming princesses she knows how to shoot a bow very well and love to learn sword fighting. I also enjoyed Arya's character because she's the only one who has a true bond with Jon.

    Bran is a character I'd like to see develop more throughout the rest of the books. Even though his accident sort of casts him out of the most of the first book, I think he'll play a pivotal role later on, just a gut instinct.

    I loved this book. If you have heard about this book and you wish to know what it's about, don't waste another minute... READ IT! You can also join us on the read-along of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Good, but a little long

    Game of Thrones is, overall, a great book. The only reason I take away one star is the length. Though I very much like long books, Game of Thrones has quite a bit of unnessary details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Amazing!

    As an avid watcher of the TV show on HBO i was really exited to read this. My only problem was all of the mature content. There was a rape of a minor, foul laugage, and animal slaughter. But overall I reallty enjoyed this series, but would reccomend to anyone of an older audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    I haven't finished it yet, and there aren't chapter numbers, only names, so short of giving you the exact page I'm on (which I don't remember) I'm not real sure how far into the book I've gotten.

    Either way I'm really enjoying it so far. I actually watched the first episode of the first season of the HBO show which inspired me to read this book. The show seemed to follow the fairly closely, as close as any movie/TV show ever follows a book, so the first several chapters were a bit of a drag since I knew what was going to happen. Sine then I haven't watched any of the show and I'm only reading the book.

    Great read. Keeps my interest without question.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Amazing!

    This is a fantasy novel that even those who don't normally like fantasy can get into; myself being one of those people. I could not put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 903 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 46