Customer Reviews for

A Ghostly Undertaking (Ghostly Southern Mysteries Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 24, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I was lucky enough to get a review copy from Edelweiss thanks to

    I was lucky enough to get a review copy from Edelweiss thanks to the publisher. I've always enjoyed books by Tonya Kappes and was excited to get a chance to read the first book in her new series early.




    I absolutely loved A Ghostly Undertaking. This book was a great mystery that had me laughing out loud at times from the humor. Emma Lee Raines is such a fun character. The fact that she suffers from "funeral trauma" and can see dead people was so much fun.  I also loved how close Emma Lee became with Ruthie while working to solve who killed Ruthie.




    The mystery was really well done in A Ghostly Undertaking. I had my suspicions as to who the killer was and have to say the clues throughout the story were very well done. 




    I also loved the budding romance between Emma Lee and Jack Henry. Mostly I loved that Emma Lee couldn't believe that Jack Henry wanted to actually date her. Jack Henry made me fall just a little bit in love with him as he romanced Emma Lee.  There was such a sweet chemistry between them and I look forward to seeing this relationship grow as the series progresses.








    I've been a fan of Tonya Kappes for some time and absolutely love her new Ghostly Southern Mysteries series. I can't wait to read the rest of the books in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2015

    If you want a good laugh along with a good read don't miss tjis book A excellent read

    Want a good laugh, with mistrey, and romance biu this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2015

    I am really happy I got the chance to read A Ghostly Undertaking

    I am really happy I got the chance to read A Ghostly Undertaking. It was right up my alley with the whole "talking to dead people" thing. I love the small town the story takes place in, and I love all the gossip and drama. Emma took a little time to get used to, because she kept doing things I would never do, but once we finally clicked everything was golden. I really enjoyed this story and I can't wait to read more from the series! I highly encourage you to check this series out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2015

    4 STARS I liked the characters especially Emma Lee Raines.


    4 STARS



    I liked the characters especially Emma Lee Raines. I kept wanting the best for her. More people to believe her. I want to see more of her in the future.



    Emma Lee Raines had a head injury caused by a plastic Santa falling off a roof. Ever since she woke up she has seen ghosts. She was diagnosed with “funeral trauma.” seeing too many dead guys. She is a undertaker for the past three years in the family business. She has lived in the funeral home all her life.



    Right now she is seeing Ruthie's ghost. Ruthie is telling her she was murdered. Ruthie Sue Payne—innkeeper, gossip queen, and arch-nemesis of Emma Lee's granny. Ruthie and Granny Raines own a inn together. Granny married Ruthie's ex-husband.



    Sheriff Jack Henry Ross is not ready to say Ruthie's death was a accident. His prime suspect is Granny Raines. He catches Emma talking to herself a lot.



    This story you were not sure who to trust. There is a lot going on. I want to keep reading and hope that things start going better overall for the characters.



    I was given this ebook A Ghostly Undertaking so I could give a honest review and be part of A Ghostly Undertalking blog tour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2015

    Emma is not a demure southern belle. She¿s a true southern gal

    Emma is not a demure southern belle. She’s a true southern gal after my own heart. Blurts out what pops in her mind. Not afraid to look crazy. Dives in feet first and to heck with the consequences.

    Life gets crazy for Emma after a plastic Santa falls off the roof of Artie’s deli and Meat the and knocks her out. When she comes to see can see ghosts. Everyone thinks she’s either gone around the bend or suffering from ‘funeral trauma.’

    Emma soon knows better when Ruthie Sue, co-owner of the Sleepy Hollow Inn, along with Emma’s grandmother Zula Mae, is found dead at the bottom of the stairs. Her ghost comes to Emma, adamant she was pushed and wants her murderer brought to justice.

    Ruthie and Zula Fae were arch enemies and that puts Zula in the spotlight as a prime suspect. Emma has to put on her sleuthing cap and get to the bottom of it as another person falls victim.

    Emma and her older sister, Charlotte, operate The Eternal Slumber Funeral Home, owned by their grandmother Zula Mae.

    I could just see Emma speeding pell mell through town in her hearse, arguing with the ghost of Ruthie Sue, and the people with their mouths hanging up, shaking their heads as they delcare Emma has lost her marbles.

    The only one that doesn’t chalk her antics up to lunacy is the handsome Sheriff Jack Henry. He sees more than craziness in Emma’s information. She knows thing only Ruthie Sue could know.

    I enjoyed the blooming romance between Jack Henry and Emma Lee. They may not be school kids anymore, but their attraction to each other is bumbling, teasing, and sweet.

    I felt so at home in this book. I live in the south and can tell you that these characters are genuine, right down to two first names.

    The mystery isn’t obvious and the antics of all of the characters had me snickering.

    A light hearted cozy mystery that tickled my funny bone, I do declare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I have been a fan of Tonya Kappes and her Magical Cure Mystery s

    I have been a fan of Tonya Kappes and her Magical Cure Mystery series so I knew right away that I wanted to read this new series. Being a Southern girl myself, I always appreciate a good southern tale done right. This series combines the best of southern-isms, good cozy mysteries with a bit of paranormal thrown in to keep things interesting. 

    Emma Lee and her sister Charlotte Rae took over the family funeral home business when their parents retired to Florida. Charlotte Rae handles the people side of things while Emma Lee is all about the behind the scenes details. Everything seems to be going well, when Emma gets bonked on the head by a falling Santa and starts talking to a ghost. The doctor labels it "funeral trauma" due to being around so many dead bodies. She hoped it was just a minor hallucination, until Ruthie Sue Payne is killed. Now Ruthie demands that Emma Lee find out who killed her and won't take no for an answer.

    The book is full of distinctive characters and all the charm of small southern town. Emma Lee has to figure out how to not only keep her ghost seeing a secret, but keep her "funeral trauma" from ruining the family business. There are no shortage of suspects and the clues even lead to Emma Lee's own Granny.  With the help of Sheriff Jack Henry, who believes in her ability, she helps to figure out what happens before someone else ends up dead.  

    This was an entertaining read from start to finish. Between Granny and Ruthie's antics, they had me laughing out loud. I gave this 4 stars and can't wait to get started on book 2, A Ghostly Grave due out at the end of the month.

    Thanks to Edelweiss and Witness publishing for the opportunity to read and review the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2015

    A Ghostly Undertaking by Tonya Kappes is a cute and funny parano

    A Ghostly Undertaking by Tonya Kappes is a cute and funny paranormal mystery story.  Emma Lee Raines runs the Funeral Home with her sister, Charlotte.  Charlotte handles the sales and Emma Lee takes care of everything else.  Business has been a little slow since Emma Lee was hit on the head with a plastic 5’ Santa Claus.  It fell off the roof the deli and hit her on the head.  When she woke up at the hospital, she could see Chicken Teater who died several years ago.  Doc Clyde called it “funeral trauma” from working with dead people (in other words he thinks she is hallucinating and needs medication).  Sleepy Hollow being a small town everyone knows about Emma Lee’s “funeral trauma”.




    On the day of Ruthie Sue Payne’s viewing, Emma Lee sees Ruthie Sue (wearing hot pink pajamas and kitty cat slippers).  It is believed that Ruthie died falling down the stairs, however, Ruthie states she was pushed.  Thankfully for Emma Lee, Sheriff Jack Henry Ross believes there is more to Ruthie Sue’s death than meets the eye and sets out to investigate.  The Sheriff figures out that Emma Lee can see Ruthie (keeps catching her talking to thin air) and asks for her help with the investigation.  




    Sleepy Hollow, Kentucky is a small town full of quirky characters.  Zula Fae Raines Payne is Emma Lee’s grandmother and owns half of the Sleepy Hollow Inn.  Ruthie Sue owned the other half of the inn.  Zula married Earl Way Payne who used to be married to Ruthie Sue.  When Earl died he left his half of the inn to Zula.  Zula immediately moved into the inn right next to Ruthie Sue (just to annoy her).  Mayor Anna Grace May is always dressed up, smiling, and trying to earn more votes.  Anna Grace wants to bring in a hotel developer to the town (they want to buy the inn) which will help her with her campaign for governor.  Hettie is new to town.  She is temporarily working at the inn.  When she hears that a developer wants to buy it, she gets up a petition to stop the sale (which means, of course, that she loses her job).  Zula is suspected of killing Ruthie Sue but her alibi is she was at a doctor’s appointment.  Who has a doctor’s appointment at 3 a.m.?  Is there something going on between Doc Clyde and Zula?




    I give A Ghostly Undertaking 4 out of 5 stars.  It is a humorous book with a good mystery and pleasing paranormal element.  The next book in the series, A Ghostly Grave will be out on March 31, 2015.




    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Goodreads First Reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    A Ghostly Undertaking was a delightful paranormal mystery that

    A Ghostly Undertaking was a delightful paranormal mystery that kept me guessing. Okay, so I'm not a super sleuth in the mystery genre, but still, I think I suspected everyone in this book at one time or another. It was fun figuring out "who done it".

    Set in the peaceful small town of Sleepy Hollow, Kentucky and filled with memorable and quirky characters we follow Emma Lee as she works in the family-owned funeral home and stumbles through a murder investigation. After a bump on the head, Emma Lee figures out that she can see the recently deceased. Her grandma looks like the prime suspect when her archenemy Ruthie is killed and Ruthie's ghost claims it was murder during her funeral. Emma Lee decides to help Ruthie find her murderer, and to try to keep her grandma out of jail, all while trying to seem as normal as possible when she is anything but.

    I really enjoyed all of the characters, and the ghost, Ruthie, was one of my favorites. She was funny and colorful. The author did a fantastic job of bringing all of the characters to life for me. Being from a small town myself (and across the river from Kentucky), I'd say the author hit dead on with the small town dynamics. All of the drama and busy-body neighbors were a lot of fun to watch unfold. We also get a little bit of a love interest in the sheriff, Jack Henry Ross, who is also trying to figure out who killed poor Ruthie.

    Overall, I really enjoyed A Ghostly Undertaking and I'm really looking forward to reading the next installment in this series, hopefully the next ghost that Emma Lee encounters will be just as fun to read about as Ruthie, and with a name like Chicken Teater it looks as if he will be. If you're looking for a fun, cozy mystery, with a touch of the paranormal I'm sure you'll enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 stars  I have found a new author to stalk¿I mean love! Tony

    4.5 stars 

    I have found a new author to stalk…I mean love! Tonya Kappes’s, A Ghostly Undertaking is a humorous, page turning, southern mystery that kept me guessing right to the end.

    The main character, Emma Lee Raines, is someone that you enjoy getting to know. She’s down to earth, funny, and full of southern charm and sass.  Prior to her run-in with the plastic Santa Claus; Emma’s life was normal. She helped her sister run the family business, Eternal Slumber Funeral Home. She lived a quiet and somewhat boring life. All that changes when a head injury awakens her ability to see the dearly departed that are having a little trouble reaching their “eternal slumber”.  Now she is teamed up with the recently deceased town gossip, Ruthie Sue Payne, as they try to solve the mystery of Ruthie’s death.

    A Ghostly Undertaking was a fun and fast read that I really enjoyed. The characters were great and had me laughing out loud.  The mystery has an interesting twist at the end that took me by surprise.  There is one thing that I am still wondering about. Why were Ruthie’s clothes changed? My guess is that Emma Lee’s grandmother changed her clothes because as we all know a Southern lady wouldn’t want to be found dead in hot pink pajamas, kitty cat slippers, and her hair tucked into a night cap. But that’s just my guess. Wink

    I’m looking forward to reading more books by Tonya Kappes and can’t wait to see what adventures await Emma Lee as she helps Chicken Teater find his way into the light in the next book in the Beyond the Grave Series…A Ghostly Grave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Good Read

    Good mystery. I would read another by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    A Fun Read

    This is another book I got for my mother to read and she liked it. She said it was a good story. I want to read it myself eventually but it may be awhile before I do, because I am still reading another book on my nook, which I near the end of.

    I wish I could say more about this book. I just know my mother enjoyed reading it. I am giving it four stars based on what she said about it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    funny

    Fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1