Customer Reviews for

A Gift from Tiffany's

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    A fun holiday read!!

    Loved it! What a fun book with an unexpected ending! I love reading holiday books this time of the year, and I was so glad that I chose this book to snuggle up with. It was a quick read, and there was never a dull moment. Lots of twists and turns. I thought I was going to be able to predict the ending, but I was delightfully suprised.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    A Gift From Tiffany's

    Overall a good book and easy read. At times I could have screamed......just get the ring back already!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by JoAnne Book provided by the publisher for review Rev

    Reviewed by JoAnne
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book


    I like stories set at Christmas and felt I could relate to this one since most of it took place in New York where I grew up. There was romance, love, family, lots of deception and discourse by all, a child that got dragged into every adult situation, and storylines set in England and Ireland as well as New York . The description of all the locations made me feel I was there since I could visualize the snow, the landmarks in New York, the streets in London and the Irish countryside and the cafe, Stromboli’s, in particular.

    I found the book very choppy at times bouncing around from character to character none of whom were really totally developed. There was a connection between most of them by the end of the book but I didn’t find closure. I liked the epilogue but that only tied up one storyline with a very unexpected happily ever after since I thought I was reading about a different couple at the time until I got to the last few lines. Another potential happily ever after was alluded to but I would have liked the author’s take on whether it came to pass or not.

    I did like how Jane, Ethan’s deceased wife and Daisy’s mom was quoted throughout. Although some of what she “said” was whimsical a lot of it seemed like practical advice for her husband and daughter to live their lives by.

    I haven’t read books by this author before but would give others of hers a try to see if there were better developed characters and closure and also less choppiness.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    THIS BOOK IS PHENOMENOL - I LOVED IT- AND YOU WON'T BE DISAPPO

    THIS BOOK IS PHENOMENOL


    - I LOVED IT- AND YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED. TO DIE FOR.
    THIS WAS MY FIRST READ BY MELISSA HILL AND I LOVD IT- I WILL BE CHECKING OUT THIS AUTHOR OTHERS BOOKS AS WELL. ---- LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT. COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN - OHHHH LOVED IT -- I GIVE IT A 5 OUT OF 5 STARS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Good Christmas Time Read

    I like reading Christmas themed novels during the holiday season and this one did not disappoint. Two couples, New York City at Christmas, lots of confusion and mix-ups keep things interesting. The cast of characters are diverse and there is also international travel, since both couples involved actually live in England and Ireland. While I did enjoy the book, there were times when I almost put it down due to a couple of the characters having frustrating personalities. Once or twice I thought to myself "Oh come on, it is time to do "such & such"! Enough already!", but yet I continued on reading because I did want to see how it all turned out. Throw in a cute and level headed little girl, and it all made it worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Great holiday book to read! I am a very picky reader and if I am

    Great holiday book to read! I am a very picky reader and if I am not into it by the end of the first chapter I usually tend to quit reading. But this book on the other hand had captured my attention from the very first page. Its a great read and definitely one of those books you've got to read! I couldn't stop and finished it within days of purchasing it. Good plot and well written. This will be a holiday classic for me to re-read every year!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    It took me longer than usual to read this book. I'm not saying I

    It took me longer than usual to read this book. I'm not saying I didn't like it; I think the story is really good, as well as the way it's written. The story line is interesting, and the characters are, in my opinion, well developed, and that was why I kept reading it. The book is very girly and a little bit predictable in some points.
    I think that the plot is a little bit loose. Too many pages for a story that, I think, could be written in less. Maybe that's just me, but sometimes I was looking at the pages but I wasn't reading what was written anymore, because there was no action and all the twists only started at the very end... and from the moment the twists start everything is too fast and ends up soon. The author sure knows how to spin the story, which a very good thing about this book.
    Nevertheless, and even if it's not the most original story and the best book of this genre, I think it's a very romantic story. I don't know why but I think I was expecting more. I was almost sure there was something else behind the story, and I think that this beautiful story could have been written focusing other aspects that for me were more important.
    And a big positive point about this book for me is that even with all the characters involved, when I finished reading it I felt I knew all of them; and maybe the number of pages and the lack of action can justify this fact: we get to know the characters by what they say, what they think, what other characters think about them.
    My favorite character was Daisy, Ethan's daughter, who gives a little bit fantasy and magic to this story.
    In general I liked it. It was a fun reading most of the time, and I loved the ending. It is a good winter reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    My local Barnes and Noble has a beautiful table full of "Ch

    My local Barnes and Noble has a beautiful table full of "Christmas" books. And this time of year I buy several new titles. This year among the ones I got was A Gift from Tiffany's. Sad to say most of the other Christmas books were disappointing- but not so with A Gift from Tiffany's- From the first chapter I thought I had it all figured out but boy was I wrong. What a great ride this read is. Lots of twists and turns- surprises and real joy. I could not put it down. The character are so well written I loved the good guys and hated the bad guys. The original U.K. title was Something from Tifany's and I do wish they had of kept that title. But either was give yourself or another book lover the gift of this book.And had a Merry Christmas read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It¿s Christmas Eve in New York city, visiting from London profes

    It’s Christmas Eve in New York city, visiting from London professor Ethan Greene along with his young daughter Daisy has one special purchase to pick up before his holiday is complete. Unfortunately while being a good Samaritan his package is mixed up, when his girlfriend, Vanessa opens the gift on Christmas morning he’s at a loss, instead of a brilliant Tiffany’s Marquise engagement ring inside the iconic blue box is a simple charm bracelet.
    Dubliner Gary Knowles has almost finished his Christmas shopping and with a last thought that he should get his girlfriend, Rachel something because after all she did gift him with this trip to the big apple for Christmas, he stops at Tiffany’s to get her a little something special. Unfortunately before they can celebrate he’s struck by a New York taxi and ends up in the hospital. When they do finally get to exchange presents he’s astounded to find that instead of a charm bracelet his girlfriend removes a beautiful and expensive diamond engagement ring from the little blue box.
    What happens next is a comedy and tragedy of errors, mistakes, lies and betrayals and perhaps a little fateful magic all brought about by a little blue box.
    Melissa Hill’s beautifully penned Christmas novel is rich with scenes from both sides of the pond. With characters that are both naughty and nice who play their roles to perfection and one little girl who believes in magic. Her plot takes twists and turns so sharp you might think you’re clinging to the side of a cliff and just when you think there’s a straight-a-way ahead it’s only a mirage as you plunge down another steep dip in the story. It’s rife with humor and heartache, with both comedy and tragedy and it reminds us that fate is indeed a force to be reckoned with.
    If you’re looking for a holiday tale to get the spirit started, a perfect gift for a friend or maybe, just maybe that perfect accompaniment to a certain special gift in a little blue box.
    Melissa, thank you for a novel I will cherish for years to come and that will definitely come off the shelf to be re-read every Christmas season. I can’t wait to see where you take me on our next journey together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    I loved this book! I read it in one night because I just couldn'

    I loved this book! I read it in one night because I just couldn't put it down. I HAD to see what was going to happen! Great read for the holidays. Predictable, but that's not always bad when you're wanting a feel-good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1