Customer Reviews for

A Girl Named Summer

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A normal teen who loves a good book!

This book absolutely blew me away. Its so easy for teens to relate to. Summer is such a realistic, down to earth person, and that was just the beginning. I loved the way she went to family and friends to fix the problem she knew she started. David was amazing. He seemed...
This book absolutely blew me away. Its so easy for teens to relate to. Summer is such a realistic, down to earth person, and that was just the beginning. I loved the way she went to family and friends to fix the problem she knew she started. David was amazing. He seemed like a classic guy and definetly made this book what it is. I reccomend this to any teen, anywhere, at any time.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A great love story

I loved this story. It tells a relationship that is very realistic. It has all problems a teenage relationship truely has. It is nice and easy to understand. I would recomend it for any age. I wish there were more books like this. This is one of Julie Garwoods best!

posted by Anonymous on November 28, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    A normal teen who loves a good book!

    This book absolutely blew me away. Its so easy for teens to relate to. Summer is such a realistic, down to earth person, and that was just the beginning. I loved the way she went to family and friends to fix the problem she knew she started. David was amazing. He seemed like a classic guy and definetly made this book what it is. I reccomend this to any teen, anywhere, at any time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    This book was the best book I've ever read!

    I loved this book so much I read it in 2 days!( because I stopped reading for little bits at a time) I really want Julie Garwood to write another story about Summer and David. If she did it would be the first book I would read of the Summer or winter or whatever. I am so glad that I actually got to read this book. If I hadn't I would have missed out on the best book of my life! I am so thankful that Julie Garwood wrote this book! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    Great Book

    This book was terrific, but I have read better. This book had a great storyline and it was very realistic. This book is great for yong readers, and I have enjoyed reading this book in my spare tome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2002

    a wonderful book

    this was one of the best books i have ever read. i recommend it for teenagers becuase most teenagers are going through what she went through. well written!!!!! definaly 5 stars!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2001

    A great love story

    I loved this story. It tells a relationship that is very realistic. It has all problems a teenage relationship truely has. It is nice and easy to understand. I would recomend it for any age. I wish there were more books like this. This is one of Julie Garwoods best!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2001

    Great Book

    I did like this book a lot, but I have read a lot better. I would suggest it to a lot of people! It is truly a god book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Taryn

    Okay. Im a girl too. Dark brown hair and hazel eyes.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Slasher

    Growls

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    loved it!!!

    loved it so much i am getting it for my grandaughters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    I'm still not sure if I liked this book

    Being an adult, this was a sweet story, but I'm just not sure if this would hold a tween's attention. It has a great moral that is taught about lying and consequences as well as jumping to conclusions and self-image, but I hope it will conquer and help young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    The Best Report!

    ¿A Girl Named Summer¿ Book Review Did you know that every time you read a book or an article your vocabulary increases by 4 percent. Well, in my spare time I have been reading a book called, ¿A Girl Named Summer¿. I enjoyed reading it very much. Overall, I would say that the book was adventurous, thrilling, amusing, and just plain out entertaining. The content of the book was a job well done by the author. The book was obviously written to teach young teenagers about some life lessons to help them when they are in uncomfortable situations. I feel that the author wrote this story to inform young readers that it is okay to be yourself around people you really like. For example, if you want someone to like you and accept you in their life, you shouldn¿t act like someone that you¿re not in front of them. Then that person will assume that you are just like them. Which can¿t be very good in the future when it turns out that this person is absolutely obsessed with you! Now, I would like to talk about the style of the book. This book was arranged in its own unique way. I feel that the book was perfect by the scenery and the person¿s content in the story. For example, each character in the story was imagined well by the author. Each character seems life-like to me and does not seem to be made up by the writer or fake from the lack of not actually knowing the person. The scenery in the story is described very well. I pictured everything that was spoken of in the story. It is described as a real town. The protagonist¿s house has descriptive features about it that I feel you can only see in real life. The language of the book was awesome! You seem like you are really there in the book. It is set in present time. The language is used with slang in the text. Instead of using philosophical speech or old English patterns the author used recent language terms to write the story. The tone of the story is supposed to be a romantic novel. It sticks with the romanticism throughout the entire book. I felt impacted in certain parts in the story, which had to do with passionate feelings between two people. Overall, I loved the book I read called, ¿A Girl Named Summer¿. It was, perhaps, the best book I have ever read in my entire lifetime. The story was great to me because of many ways that the book was written by the author. In summary, I feel this way because of the content in the book. The style that the book was written, the language that supported the story, and the tone that the author set for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1