BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Girl and Her Pig (PagePerfect NOOK Book)

Average Rating 2.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Seems to me that the only bad reviews are from people who have j

Seems to me that the only bad reviews are from people who have judged the book by it's cover or haven't written a review. I vote this book 5/5 for it's great recipes and information, not the cover or title of the book.

posted by PennyLane656 on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Creepy title, creepy cover photo.

Creepy title, creepy cover photo.

posted by 3724835 on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Seems to me that the only bad reviews are from people who have j

    Seems to me that the only bad reviews are from people who have judged the book by it's cover or haven't written a review. I vote this book 5/5 for it's great recipes and information, not the cover or title of the book.

    34 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Wait ... you mean meat comes from animals??? I thought it came

    Wait ... you mean meat comes from animals??? I thought it came in ultra processed nuggets from the frozen food section! The horror!

    I too reacted strongly to the image on the cover of this book, but my reaction was more along the lines of "That is a bold, honest statement, and evidently this woman knows how to butcher her own meat if she buys it whole like that. Cool!"

    I've been reading a lot lately about how industrialized the food has become in the United States and as a result have become much more aware of what I buy and where it comes from and how it was treated before it got to me. The recipes in this book are made with hearty, rustic ingredients, prepared with basic skills (which, sadly, so many people have never learned thanks to a ubiquitous availability of processed convenience food) and attention to detail. Even being mostly vegetarian, many of the meat recipes in this book make my mouth water. I don't know that I would be brave enough to prepare them myself, but I would certainly try them in the author's restaurant.

    Her enthusiasm for food and cooking and sharing meals comes through in every recipe and story. The specific foods she is passionate about are often different than those with which I am familiar, but that is what makes reading the book exciting and interesting. Dig in past the cover, and you will be richly rewarded.

    28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    April is brilliant and has turned New York and the rest of the c

    April is brilliant and has turned New York and the rest of the country on its head when it comes to gastropub food. Nice work and great picture that pig looks delicious. Anyone who wants to be a chef read this then give it a try its not as easy as it looks. blood sweat and tears.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    this is a beautiful cover but so are her recipes. i already made

    this is a beautiful cover but so are her recipes. i already made the roasted veggies (i was looking for something nice and easy to start with) and it was delicious. skirt steak next!

    22 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    Pork comes from pigs. If your sensibilities are too delicate to

    Pork comes from pigs. If your sensibilities are too delicate to handle that basic truth then don't buy this book. I think people who deny themselves the culinary wonders of meat should stick to writing reviews for vegan cookbooks. I have feelings, and I am much more offended by their judgemental vitriol than a picture of a pig.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great Book From an Awesome Chef

    This is a cookbook by a chef of a gastro pub, that obviously loves using pork, not a pamphlet for PETA. If you were to take a look at the book instead of judging the cover, you would see a chef that cooks seasonally and from the heart. The recipes are honest, and she utilizes every animal from nose to tail. People need to understand where their food comes from, and I think this chef does a good job stressing that in this book.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    A truly great book and very useful. Enjoyed it immensely. And t

    A truly great book and very useful. Enjoyed it immensely.

    And to all the people who are offended by the picture, you are so out of touch with reality it's not even funny.

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Creepy title, creepy cover photo.

    Creepy title, creepy cover photo.

    20 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    The cover is revolting...

    The cover is revolting...

    16 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Love her food! Simple English food.....

    Love her food! Simple English food.....

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    gross, creepy,vile.

    gross, creepy,vile.

    15 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    The tile should be "Speciesism." And the subtitle: He

    The tile should be "Speciesism." And the subtitle: Here is another human being squandering our collective humanity for a photo op.

    15 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    I find it amusing that so many people found the cover revolting,

    I find it amusing that so many people found the cover revolting, yet don't bother to give the contents of the book a second thought. Which means it's somewhat doing it's job, creating buzz by showing a strong image that obviously is impacting people. Why aren't we reacting so strongly when we see a cookbook featuring an entire cooked fish, head and all on the cover? Or why aren't we up in arms when the Christmas Story scene happens with the deep fried duck at the end of the movie. The cook snaps off its head!
    Meat comes from animals. When prepared correctly it can be delicious. This cookbook features a talented chef who takes great pride in her abilities. Don't judge a book by it's cover too quickly. And if it's too offensive remove the dust jacket or put a sticky note over the cover and carry on.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    I agree, the cover is tasteless! Recipes may be great, but I do

    I agree, the cover is tasteless! Recipes may be great, but I don't care. Booksellers should care what readers think about the books they advertise -- covers as well as content. I would strongly recommend a new cover.

    14 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Really?

    If just one person stops eating meat after seeing this nauseating image it will be worth something. Not to mention the title, which implies that the pig was her pet and she killed it with her bare hands... very cute.

    On the other hand, if you are offended by this cover photo but you have no objection to eating meat, I would hope this makes you start to think about where your food comes from - every single time you eat and every time you shop at the grocery store.

    13 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    I can't wait to try the roasted chicken recipe!

    I can't wait to try the roasted chicken recipe!

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Excellent recipes (can't wait to try a few of them), beautiful i

    Excellent recipes (can't wait to try a few of them), beautiful illustrations and great writing. Everything you need in a cookbook!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Like many others, I find the cover and the title tacky in the ex

    Like many others, I find the cover and the title tacky in the extreme. That being said, maybe if more people were slapped in the face with the fact that their "food" comes at the cost of the life of an animal, maybe they'd think twice about eating meat. Honestly I can't imagine a publisher letting this cover happen; it's like a funeral home advertising by propping up a dead body out front that's halfway through the embalming process. Not a big customer draw...

    12 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Sick picture

    I think this picture is horrible. There is a saying that the greatness of a nation and its values can be judeged by the way it's animals are treated. The meat industry is cruel and inhumane.

    11 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    i just opened an email from Barnes & Noble and the first boo

    i just opened an email from Barnes & Noble and the first book cover i saw was this one which truly disgusts me. yes, people eat meat but that is no reason to be so tasteless about it. i will not buy this book and they really should consider making a new cover.

    9 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3