Customer Reviews for

A Girl and Her Pig: Recipes and Stories

Average Rating 2.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Seems to me that the only bad reviews are from people who have j

Seems to me that the only bad reviews are from people who have judged the book by it's cover or haven't written a review. I vote this book 5/5 for it's great recipes and information, not the cover or title of the book.

posted by PennyLane656 on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Creepy title, creepy cover photo.

Creepy title, creepy cover photo.

posted by 3724835 on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Creepy title, creepy cover photo.

    Creepy title, creepy cover photo.

    20 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    The cover is revolting...

    The cover is revolting...

    16 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    gross, creepy,vile.

    gross, creepy,vile.

    15 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    The tile should be "Speciesism." And the subtitle: He

    The tile should be "Speciesism." And the subtitle: Here is another human being squandering our collective humanity for a photo op.

    15 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    I agree, the cover is tasteless! Recipes may be great, but I do

    I agree, the cover is tasteless! Recipes may be great, but I don't care. Booksellers should care what readers think about the books they advertise -- covers as well as content. I would strongly recommend a new cover.

    14 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Really?

    If just one person stops eating meat after seeing this nauseating image it will be worth something. Not to mention the title, which implies that the pig was her pet and she killed it with her bare hands... very cute.

    On the other hand, if you are offended by this cover photo but you have no objection to eating meat, I would hope this makes you start to think about where your food comes from - every single time you eat and every time you shop at the grocery store.

    13 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Like many others, I find the cover and the title tacky in the ex

    Like many others, I find the cover and the title tacky in the extreme. That being said, maybe if more people were slapped in the face with the fact that their "food" comes at the cost of the life of an animal, maybe they'd think twice about eating meat. Honestly I can't imagine a publisher letting this cover happen; it's like a funeral home advertising by propping up a dead body out front that's halfway through the embalming process. Not a big customer draw...

    12 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Sick picture

    I think this picture is horrible. There is a saying that the greatness of a nation and its values can be judeged by the way it's animals are treated. The meat industry is cruel and inhumane.

    11 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    i just opened an email from Barnes & Noble and the first boo

    i just opened an email from Barnes & Noble and the first book cover i saw was this one which truly disgusts me. yes, people eat meat but that is no reason to be so tasteless about it. i will not buy this book and they really should consider making a new cover.

    9 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    I hope April Bloomfield doesn't get trichinosis. Oh wait...

    I hope April Bloomfield doesn't get trichinosis. Oh wait...

    6 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    All the more reason to be Vegan. This is the reality of eating

    All the more reason to be Vegan. This is the reality of eating meat. The blatant honesty of the author demonstrates what all who consume meat should face every day. An intelligent friendly creature is killed whan a healthy diet can be obtained in a manner that is humane. uses far less water to produce, produces more protein per acre, and is much safer for the world and environment. This is what it means to be Vegan.

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Repulsive cover--what was this author thinking?

    Repulsive cover--what was this author thinking?

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    two pigs on a cover one killed for food and eaten by the other o

    two pigs on a cover one killed for food and eaten by the other one

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Yes, meat comes from animals, dead animals, tortured dead animal

    Yes, meat comes from animals, dead animals, tortured dead animals... Awful cover.

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    The recipes might be great but I'll never buy the book. The cov

    The recipes might be great but I'll never buy the book. The cover is disgusting. After seeing a local news report about the way a local pork producer treats the pigs--they are fattened to the point that they don't even have room to change positions in the cage; they are so distressed their mouths are bloody from chewing at the bars--I vowed never to eat pork again.

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    poor taste

    poor taste

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    I wouldn't buy this book if someone paid me to do it. The offen

    I wouldn't buy this book if someone paid me to do it. The offensive cover tells me all I care to know about Ms. Bloomfield. The image of the poor dead farm animal, draped across Ms. Bloomfield's ample shoulders, is one I wish I'd not seen. She is pathetic and vile to have thought this image had something to offfer. I will tell everyone I know to boycott anything April Bloomfield produces.

    2 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    The cover to this book is disgusting. Yes, I am a vegetarian, bu

    The cover to this book is disgusting. Yes, I am a vegetarian, but nonetheless, the title brings to mind life in days past and charm. When I looked to see what this book offered and saw it was a cookbook and the "girl" has a dead pig draped around her neck I truly found it revolting. I can't say anything about the book as I haven't read it. I just felt compelled to share my thoughts on the deceiving (to me - I realize this may be a personal issue) title and jacket.

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    This is no American Heart Association cookbook! Way too much fa

    This is no American Heart Association cookbook! Way too much fat and the author is a bit pretentious. Recipes are mediocre at best. And that cover! What was she thinking??Yes, meat comes from animals, but WHY would anyone think throwing a dead baby pig around your neck and using that for the cover of your book is anything but disgusting? Offensive on aesthetics alone. Yes, as one reviewer suggested, I'd have to rip that awful cover off or better yet, buy a healthier cookbook without a carcass on the cover.

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Flaunting a tortured, dead animal as if it's a prize is just wro

    Flaunting a tortured, dead animal as if it's a prize is just wrong and disturbing! To display it as if it's a prize is just grotesque. But for those who insist in cooking up her recipes, or eating meat for that matter, you are a heart attack waiting to happen. And yes, I for one do live in a real world and know exactly where over 95% of our meat comes from & how it is raised and slaughtered! When you educate yourself you have more choices... and this book, recipes in it and the cover itself is definitely not one of quality, health, or compassion. What a total disappointment!

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2