Customer Reviews for

A Girl and Her Pig: Recipes and Stories

Average Rating 2.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Seems to me that the only bad reviews are from people who have j

Seems to me that the only bad reviews are from people who have judged the book by it's cover or haven't written a review. I vote this book 5/5 for it's great recipes and information, not the cover or title of the book.

posted by PennyLane656 on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Creepy title, creepy cover photo.

Creepy title, creepy cover photo.

posted by 3724835 on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Seems to me that the only bad reviews are from people who have j

    Seems to me that the only bad reviews are from people who have judged the book by it's cover or haven't written a review. I vote this book 5/5 for it's great recipes and information, not the cover or title of the book.

    34 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Wait ... you mean meat comes from animals??? I thought it came

    Wait ... you mean meat comes from animals??? I thought it came in ultra processed nuggets from the frozen food section! The horror!

    I too reacted strongly to the image on the cover of this book, but my reaction was more along the lines of "That is a bold, honest statement, and evidently this woman knows how to butcher her own meat if she buys it whole like that. Cool!"

    I've been reading a lot lately about how industrialized the food has become in the United States and as a result have become much more aware of what I buy and where it comes from and how it was treated before it got to me. The recipes in this book are made with hearty, rustic ingredients, prepared with basic skills (which, sadly, so many people have never learned thanks to a ubiquitous availability of processed convenience food) and attention to detail. Even being mostly vegetarian, many of the meat recipes in this book make my mouth water. I don't know that I would be brave enough to prepare them myself, but I would certainly try them in the author's restaurant.

    Her enthusiasm for food and cooking and sharing meals comes through in every recipe and story. The specific foods she is passionate about are often different than those with which I am familiar, but that is what makes reading the book exciting and interesting. Dig in past the cover, and you will be richly rewarded.

    28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    April is brilliant and has turned New York and the rest of the c

    April is brilliant and has turned New York and the rest of the country on its head when it comes to gastropub food. Nice work and great picture that pig looks delicious. Anyone who wants to be a chef read this then give it a try its not as easy as it looks. blood sweat and tears.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    this is a beautiful cover but so are her recipes. i already made

    this is a beautiful cover but so are her recipes. i already made the roasted veggies (i was looking for something nice and easy to start with) and it was delicious. skirt steak next!

    22 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    Pork comes from pigs. If your sensibilities are too delicate to

    Pork comes from pigs. If your sensibilities are too delicate to handle that basic truth then don't buy this book. I think people who deny themselves the culinary wonders of meat should stick to writing reviews for vegan cookbooks. I have feelings, and I am much more offended by their judgemental vitriol than a picture of a pig.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great Book From an Awesome Chef

    This is a cookbook by a chef of a gastro pub, that obviously loves using pork, not a pamphlet for PETA. If you were to take a look at the book instead of judging the cover, you would see a chef that cooks seasonally and from the heart. The recipes are honest, and she utilizes every animal from nose to tail. People need to understand where their food comes from, and I think this chef does a good job stressing that in this book.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    A truly great book and very useful. Enjoyed it immensely. And t

    A truly great book and very useful. Enjoyed it immensely.

    And to all the people who are offended by the picture, you are so out of touch with reality it's not even funny.

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Excellent recipes (can't wait to try a few of them), beautiful i

    Excellent recipes (can't wait to try a few of them), beautiful illustrations and great writing. Everything you need in a cookbook!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    My new favorite cookbook

    I have tasted April Bloomfield's food on several occasions and have always found it to extraordinary. I am truly delighted to be able to try her recipes at home and hopefully bring some of that magic into my kitchen. The book and her recipes seem so easy to follow and her stories and recollections make it feel as if we are cooking together. I love the way this is written so that April’s English roots are so well conveyed.
    I am truly upset at Barnes and Noble for not policing these reviews to weed out “Cover Reviews” and other alternative agendas. I am for freedom of speech but when people use the venue of an item review to promote personal agendas without actually reading the book that makes me very upset. For those people that do not eat meat, please stick to reviewing vegetarian and vegan cookbooks and leave the reviews of the meat inclusive ones for those of us who eat meat. For those who eat meat but are upset by the picture of a dead animal, please consider converting to veganism. If you can’t deal with the reality of where meat comes from you dishonor the animal and its sacrifice to keep you alive. April seems to understand this as she seems to try to use every part of the animal and waste nothing. That is the ultimate respect.
    I think I shall discontinue shopping at Barnes and Noble if they continue to let those that never read a book review it for superficial means. I thought adults were taught not to judge a book by the cover. Not only has this book been judged, it has been executed as well.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    a delightful book

    ignore the cover Nazis, please.
    this is an excellent book, full of great recipes, lovely photos and wonderful narratives about the chefs early life in England and her take on the food she serves at her restaurants.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    All 1 star reviews on this book seem come from vegans preoccupie

    All 1 star reviews on this book seem come from vegans preoccupied with the cover photo - a book review on B&N is not the outlet you should be using to air your disdain for the meat eating world, please refer to PETA for help. A review is about content - let us all be reminded of the old addage in judging a book by its cover. April Bloomfield's is a brilliant chef who graciously shares with us her cullinary knowledge and insight through recipes, insight, and photos. The recipes are easy to execute, although some of the ingredients are challenging to find, and all in all a well written cook book. Thank you, April, for sharing your gift with us!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love the cover! I eat meat and am well aware of where it comes

    I love the cover! I eat meat and am well aware of where it comes from.  Some great recipes. A beautiful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1