Customer Reviews for

A Goodbye to Yesterday

Average Rating 3
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

You can always count on Wanda Brunstetter for a good book!  I fo

You can always count on Wanda Brunstetter for a good book!  I found this story to be very true to life especially with the challenges in today’s economy.  Newlyweds Luke and Meredith Stoltzfus find themselves with financial problems.  Luke is unemployed and as a good Am...
You can always count on Wanda Brunstetter for a good book!  I found this story to be very true to life especially with the challenges in today’s economy.  Newlyweds Luke and Meredith Stoltzfus find themselves with financial problems.  Luke is unemployed and as a good Amish husband he refuses to let his wife work.  The burden of being jobless has caused a strain on their relationship as money problems so often do. 
His prayers seem to be answered when his uncle in another state offers to sell him his business, equipment and prepare him for a new career.  The catch is he must go there and be trained.  Without enough money for two bus tickets, he must leave Meredith behind.  
From the beginning, she has had a bad feeling about the trip and worries about Luke’s safety.  Plus, she has some very important news to share with him. News that will greatly affect their future together.  The story really leaves you hanging and wanting to read more. 
 There will be 6 books in this series, and I would truly like to read them all.  They will all be short like this one, only 121 pages.  I felt this was too short and would have liked it if it had been twice as long at least.  I would have preferred there be 3 books in the series instead of 6, but that’s just my opinion.  
Otherwise it looks like it will be another very entertaining series by Ms. Brunstetter! 
I received this book free from Handlebar Publishing.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

posted by Moonpie72 on February 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I as quite disappointed that I prchased this part 1 which as onl

I as quite disappointed that I prchased this part 1 which as only 63 pages. I will be very expensive by the time I get done. I feel it could have been better if it was 1 book.

posted by 3525890 on February 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    This is a great book, but I was disappointed that I have to wait

    This is a great book, but I was disappointed that I have to wait for the next section. If this goes on for more than 2 sections it could be very expensive. I really does want you to come back for more. I would give it 3 out of 5 starts because of the cost for each installments.


    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Good Story

    Like all of Wanda Brunstetter books the story keeps your attention. But I would rather have the complete story in one book, not a book a month.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    Wanda E. Brunstetter's latest book in the Amish genre, Goodbye t

    Wanda E. Brunstetter's latest book in the Amish genre, Goodbye to Yesterday, is a quick read. Just as you get a feel for where the story may be going you are left hanging. Yes, this book is a cliffhanger. I hope the next one in the series comes out quickly so the suspense is short lived. Anyways, the story revolves around young newlyweds Luke and Meredith who are experiencing a crisis. Luke has lost his job but there is hope if he comes to Indiana to learn a new trade. But Meredith has a feeling that something bad is going to happen on the trip due to inclement weather. Is she right? Read the book to find out!
    I received this book to read and review free from Handlebar Publishing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2014

    Highly recommended.

    I was wishing I come help the family, but I w3as just reading and enjoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Thanks

    Thanks for letting us know its only 60 pgs. Thats what I was looking for...crazy. ive read other seroes like this, but sold for 1.99 a release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    This story line fines you wanting more but 80 pages for $5.90 is

    This story line fines you wanting more but 80 pages for $5.90 is a bit much and have to wait for a month is too much.  at this rate this book will cost $35.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    From the Publisher: Join Meredith and Luke Stoltzfus, an Amish c

    From the Publisher: Join Meredith and Luke Stoltzfus, an Amish couple who are faced with the greatest challenge of their young lives.
    Financial struggles. Arguments. A suspected pregnancy. A last-minute trip to Middlebury, Indiana.
    A deadly encounter at a Philadelphia bus station. Will their love and faith be enough to bring them back together again, against all odds?  
    Book 1 of the 6-part serial novel--The Discovery-A Lancaster County Saga. 

    My Thoughts: Years ago I used to love Wanda Brunstetter books.  Unfortunately the keyword was "used."  
    I haven't read anything by her in years. However, I didn't hate the book either.  It was fine.  But it was slow going for me.

    I had trouble with the characterization in the book.  Meredith and Luke frustrated me in the beginning of the story,
    there were aspects of their relationship that seemed off to me (and I know it's not because this is an Amish story,
    I've read many of those and my family ancestry has roots in the Amish/Hutterite community).

    I also struggle when I don't know what happens next.  To read part 1 of 6 was REALLY hard.  
    Would I Recommend This Book?  The plot was one I hadn't read before, which was good.  It made it easier to read.  
    This isn't one I would recommend to my friends.  However, if you are a  current Wanda Brunstetter fan, you would probably enjoy it.

    I would rate the book as okay.  So I'm giving it 3/5 stars.

    (I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Luke Stoltzfus has lost his job, with no offers of another o





    Luke Stoltzfus has lost his job, with no offers of another on the horizon in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania.  He has become depressed, distant and on more than one occasion a little snappy at his wife Meredith.  What will they do they do not want to ask their parents for assistance. Their parents need what money they have coming in to support there families. Then when things look hopeless Luke gets an offer from his uncle  to learn a new trade and take over his uncle's business. But that means leaving his wife and going to Indiana for a few weeks.  Meredith does not feel comfortable about him leaving because there is a bad winter storm moving in and she does not want him traveling by bus until the storm passes.  Luke makes the final decision to make the trip anyway.  Meredith will have to pray and put her faith and trust in God to protect Luke.




    This is a good story but I felt it was written for middle grade rather than adult.  If that were the case it would then be a good read for that age level.  I do not like that is only 128 pages and part one of six.  In my opinion if it had been in one book not six it would have meet with better reviews and an older readers.  Like I said before the story seemed to be a good read but was very frustrating to get to a climax in the book and then you have to wait for the next book and the next.  Sorry this was a bad idea splitting it in parts!  




    Buying each of the six parts make an expensive book to read.  I don't see to many people unless they are just die hard fans spending that kind of money. 




    This was difficult for me to give my honest opinion because I very rarely give negative reviews.  Put it all in one book then I will more that likely to have a good review.




    I do not recommend this book the way it is presented in parts 1-6.




    With a heavy heart I rated this book a 3 out of 5.




    Disclosure:  I received a free copy of this book from Barbour Publishers/Handlebar Central for review.  This is my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    Goodbye to Yesterday by Wanda E. Brunstetter is the first of six

    Goodbye to Yesterday by Wanda E. Brunstetter is the first of six in the Discovery series.


    Join Meredith and Luke Stoltzfus, an Amish couple who are faced with the greatest challenge of their young lives. Financial struggles. Arguments. A suspected pregnancy. A last-minute trip to Middlebury, Indiana. A drug addict on the run. A deadly encounter at a Philadelphia bus station. Will their love and faith be enough to bring them back together again, against all odds? (Goodreads Description)


    I have read many of Wanda's books and I like the idea of spliting up this story into six books. When I received the book in the mail I was a tad confused simply because I hadn't done my research on this series. This book is tiny, about half the size of a normal book, and only has eight chapters.You could easily read this book in an hour. I like where the story is going but Brunstetter wrote it to keep the reader interested in the next book. The end of chapter eight leaves you hanging and I now have to read the rest of the books that follow. Starting in February there will be a book from this series released each month.


    I reccomend this book to read because the story is good so far, but I wouldn't buy it yet. I would wait until all of the books come out.





    "I received this book for free from Handlebar in exchange for an honest review."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Goodbye To Yesterday, part 1 of 6 in the Lancaster County Saga

    Goodbye To Yesterday, part 1 of 6 in the Lancaster County Saga by Wanda Brunstetter looks to be
    an good series. If your do not like for each of the separate books to leave you hanging on and needing the next one right away, this one is not for you. They do appear to be coming out one per month at Amazon. Part #1 is packed with story lines in just 63 short pages. I give this one a 3 out of 5 stars only because I felt that this should have at least wrapped up on of the story lines for the reader.


    I received this ebook from Net Galley and Barbour Publishing, Inc. for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Luke and Meredith Stoltzfus¿ are newlyweds in a small Amish co

    Luke and Meredith Stoltzfus’ are newlyweds in a small Amish community in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. As many couples today they are faced with the challenge Luke losing his job at the local furniture factory due to the local economy. They are getting by on their own, but Luke is concerned about his long-term prospects for employment. Meredith tries hard to not to take his increased depression and shortness with her personally, she knows that he is worried for their future. Luke is given the opportunity to learn a new trade and opportunity he jumps at as he feels it is the best decision for him and Meredith’s future. However he must travel away from Lancaster County for training and Meredith can not shake an uneasy feeling about Luke making this trip.
    This book is the first in six monthly installments. The story started quick with very little background into the Amish way of life. Luke and Meredith’s characters are well developed and I feel a connection with them. We were introduced to many characters that I can forsee to be intregal to the story – Luke’s parents, Meredith’s parents and their best friends. A great start to a new story – a great “cliff hanger” at the end that makes you wait impatiently for book 2!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    I received a copy of GOODBYE TO YESTERDAY by Wanda E. Brunstette

    I received a copy of GOODBYE TO YESTERDAY by Wanda E. Brunstetter from Barbour Publishing via Handlebar. It is the first novel (part one of six) in the Discovery series. I was extra thrilled to receive this book because my mother is obsessed with the Amish lifestyle, so I will get to share this story with her. In the past, we’ve both read others by Wanda E. Brunstetter in the Daughters of Lancaster County series. This is another story that takes place in Lancaster County, in particular Bird-in-Hand, which is a vacation destination for my family. We visit there every summer.

    GOODBYE TO YESTERDAY involves newlyweds Luke and Meredith. Luke has lost his job, so the family lives off savings and what few pieces of furniture he manages to sell. They struggle to get by, which causes tensions. Meanwhile, Meredith hopes – and worries – that she’s pregnant. Luke receives a phone call from his Uncle Amos in Indiana offering him to chance to learn the gravestone engraving business. Even though Meredith doesn’t want Luke to go, he decides to journey by bus to Indiana to buy the business. Look for book two to find out what happens next!

    I recommend this to Amish fans. The novel is fast-paced; I was able to read it in a little over an hour. I would have preferred more descriptions, though, of the setting, characters, and Amish lifestyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1