Customer Reviews for

A Hat Full of Sky: The Second Tiffany Aching Adventure (Discworld Series #32)

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Love all of terry pratchetts books

    I have bought some of his books and got them from the library so i have read the whole tiffany aching series and the whole discworld series so trust me you want this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Great fun for adults too!

    A very fun read. This second in the Tiffany Aching series is even better that the first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Terry Pratchet outdid himself.

    When my family goes on roadtrips, we always grab a book and I will read out loud for the duration of the trip. It's a great way to keep everyone entertained and my father awake to drive. We just finished the Tiffany Aching series. It was an instant favorite. There were several times when I worried for my life because my dad was laughing so hard! The characters are incredibly likeable, the plot is so easy to follow, and it's filled with little gems of wisdom (like, just because you have no teeth doesn't mean you're wise, it just means you've been stupid for a very long time). These are books that will have you coming back again and again, chuckling every time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    sharp fantasy satire

    Eleven-year-old Tiffany Aching leaves the Chalk and her friends, the six-inch Nac Mac Feegle, to apprentice as a witch in training to a professional. Saying goodbye to Granny Aching was hard and departing from her Wee Free Men pals (at least her buddies when the Nac Mac Feegle are not drunk) is not easy, but service at her advanced age is expected. So though her parents are fooled as to whom she will work for, Tiffany leaves with Miss Tick to begin her training. Unlike when she was young and immature, Tiffany as she enters adolescence has become aware of her looks. This attentiveness to her outer beauty makes her prone to attack from terrible beings. The hiver, a being that seeks out the potentially powerful by stealing control of the host¿s mind until the victim dies, sees Tiffany as a perfect lodging locale. The parasite begins the pre-occupation and occupation with only Nac Mac Feegle to try to rescue his young pal.<P> As he did with the way out THE WEE FREE MEN, Terry Pratchett does again with the sequel that is as sharp a satire as a reader will find. The story line makes it clear that to find one¿s full self, one must accept flaws, blemishes, and foibles; not an easy task in a youthful beauty is best society. Tiffany and Nac Mac are terrific characters though they be inane at times and the hiver is as vile a villain as there is. A HAT FULL OF SKY is amusing, but though nutty, the plot never loses sight of the key underlying message while entertaining the author¿s vast universe of fans.<P> Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Poppyclan moonpool

    Med cats come here every wednsday.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Very entertaining, with a realistic heroine

    I enjoy most of Terry Pratchett's novels, but especially like his Tiffany Aching series; she's a believable and practical 13 year old who just happens to be training as a witch. I presume this series is aimed at younger readers, but it's very entertaining for adults. I love his small blue men, the Nac McFeegles. Terry Pratchett's witches may use magic, but they're more about using psychology than waving wands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Amazing book

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Love

    Awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Hooray for Tiffany and the Wee Free Men!

    When young Tiffany Aching goes off to be apprenticed as a witch-in-training, at first no one but Miss Tick seems to expect much of her. Certainly becoming the Witch of the Chalk shouldn't prove to be so--so mundane!

    But no one is at yet aware of Tiffany's ability to step outside herself, a rare and powerful magic skill. And that ability draws after her an arcane being who seeks to fill itself up at the cost of all it has fastened upon. Now it is up to Tiffany and Granny Weatherwax, with the help of the Nac Mac Feegles, to contain this Hiver, as it is called, and to find a way to protect the Diskworld and its inhabitants from it for the future.

    Hilarious and thought-provoking, this is all we have come to expect from Terry Pratchett, a marvelous writer! An excellent introduction to the Diskworld for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Great

    Funny , kept me wanting to read more! Worth a read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Wierd

    This book is kinda wierd. I mean when I started it I didn't understand what it was about. But I still give a thumbs up! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Great book

    Hilariously written. Terry paratchett is and amazing writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Love!

    All of the Tiffany Aching / Wee Free Men books are wonderful!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Light-hearted read w/ standard Pratchet humor.

    Nothing too deep, this is simply enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    A hat full of sky.

    Tiffany, a young witch in training, has just started to get over her grandmothers passing when her mentor, ms. Tick, sends her to be trained with ms. Level... only ms. Tick forgot to tell Tiffany that no one has heard from ms. Level in a while, she lives in the middle of nowhere, and theres two of her.... after Tiffany has been with ms. Level for a while, and messed up on yet another shamble, she starts to doubt her power... but what she needs to realize is that she has alot of power, and thats not always good.... then one day she wakes up and dosen't feel like herself. in fact she can't even control herself! it will take the most powerful witch, ms. Witherwax, to get her back to normal. in this story there are great characters to lighten the mood. such as the Nac Mac Fleegle who made Tiffany their 'Kelda', there for, they have to protect her with their lives. Tiffany some times has problems with this only sometimes, but not so much after she made it so that they can't get into the bathroom.... there is also Oswald, who you never hear from, because he's an invisble house keeper for ms. Level. this story is eerie, suprising, halerious, and poetic. it is highly recomended in my book. Terry Pratchett has out done himself. Sophie Collins

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    FUUUUUUUNNNNNNYYYYYYY

    This book was possibly the funniest book ever. Nuff said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Better than Wee Free Men

    How Terry Pratchett can peek into the soul of an 11 year old girl and convey true thoughts, feelings, and fears is a Mystery. How he can make everything from the Nac Mac Feegle, to the actions of Tiffany, feel so real is a Miracle. I read it through in one night and want to read it again already. It is like the bite of a tasty apple; tart with just a bit of sweet and refreshing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6