Customer Reviews for

A Hidden Fire: Elemental Mysteries Book 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Top 10 of 2011

A Hidden Fire is saturated with mystery, intrigue, and romance. To be quite honest.this book will make my paranormal romance top ten list of 2011. The characters are enigmatic and brimming with charisma. Every character has a specific purpose in the story, they are impo...
A Hidden Fire is saturated with mystery, intrigue, and romance. To be quite honest.this book will make my paranormal romance top ten list of 2011. The characters are enigmatic and brimming with charisma. Every character has a specific purpose in the story, they are important and multidimensional. The romance is slow and builds with a burning intensity throughout the book. And the mystery.well, it just keeps going and going and going.and then at the end, it continues. The sequel cannot come out soon enough for me. A Hidden Fire is to say the very least.intense.

Let's say hello to the characters, shall we?

Giovanni Vecchio is an Italian god; at least he looks like one. Rich, sexy, and mysterious is a completely accurate description of Gio. His weekly trips to the Special Collections reading room at the Houston University library unearth a long lost collection of letters and poetry. This collection will complicate every part of Gio's life.as well as others.

Beatrice De Novo is beautiful and intelligent. She is snippy, sarcastic, and made me laugh so hard. Her job at the library entwines her fate with Gio's. B, as she prefers to be called, has had a difficult life. Her father died when she was young and she is left the haunting feeling that he is still around. She is a strong heroin and will bring feeling to Gio's heart.

Casper appears to be Gio's butler; however, the more you learn about Gio, the more you realize that Casper is family. Casper cares deeply about Gio's well-being and attempts to help him find the life he has always deserved. I loved Casper because he tells it like it is. He doesn't let Gio pull anything over on him and forces Gio to answer for his actions.

Stephen De Novo found something he shouldn't of. He paid with his life.in one form or another.

Carwyn, a great friend to Gio, is probably my favorite character. He is a Welsh Priest who has lived a long time. Funny and flirtatious, he is able to give Beatrice some of the answers she is looking for. He believes that each person should tell their own story. He and Beatrice are great as friends.he can read her like a book and knows exactly what to say.

Isadora De Novo is Beatrice's only living family member. She and Beatrice have become very close since her grandfather's passing. Isadora has been keeping a huge secret that may bring much unwanted strife to Beatrice's life.

Tenzin remains a mystery to me. She is very old and powerful. A very close friend of Gio and Carwyn. She fights by their side to obtain something extremely important to Gio. Tenzin is an odd one, but I loved her.

Lorenzo is the pain in Gio's ass. He seeks power and seizes any opportunity to cause Gio discord.

Elizabeth combined the lore of elementals with the lore of vampires and created an out-of-this-world world. I was extremely interested in the creation of these immortal creatures. Being from Texas, I appreciated the location of the story and became more interested as she took her characters from Houston to Greece to Chili ending in California. The author did a great job of pulling local culture into each of these locations.

The romance that is portrayed is not immediate and overwhelming. It simmers slowly until it engulfs you in its entirety and leaves you a tad bit disappointed, not in the story or the romance, but in the situation. I wanted what Beatrice wanted.I wanted Gio to fight for her. I suspect he has his reasons for his actio

posted by kristinja73 on October 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

badly needed editing

Wish I had kept track of the number of times a character "smirked" or "chuckled." Also, the heroine was poorly developed. The author produced no reason for an urbane, sophisticated man to be interested in her. Her manner of speech was trite and juvenile to the extre...
Wish I had kept track of the number of times a character "smirked" or "chuckled." Also, the heroine was poorly developed. The author produced no reason for an urbane, sophisticated man to be interested in her. Her manner of speech was trite and juvenile to the extreme. There is some good plotting, and I would expect improvements in the future from this author if she works on editing and style.

posted by 2112839 on March 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Top 10 of 2011

    A Hidden Fire is saturated with mystery, intrigue, and romance. To be quite honest.this book will make my paranormal romance top ten list of 2011. The characters are enigmatic and brimming with charisma. Every character has a specific purpose in the story, they are important and multidimensional. The romance is slow and builds with a burning intensity throughout the book. And the mystery.well, it just keeps going and going and going.and then at the end, it continues. The sequel cannot come out soon enough for me. A Hidden Fire is to say the very least.intense.

    Let's say hello to the characters, shall we?

    Giovanni Vecchio is an Italian god; at least he looks like one. Rich, sexy, and mysterious is a completely accurate description of Gio. His weekly trips to the Special Collections reading room at the Houston University library unearth a long lost collection of letters and poetry. This collection will complicate every part of Gio's life.as well as others.

    Beatrice De Novo is beautiful and intelligent. She is snippy, sarcastic, and made me laugh so hard. Her job at the library entwines her fate with Gio's. B, as she prefers to be called, has had a difficult life. Her father died when she was young and she is left the haunting feeling that he is still around. She is a strong heroin and will bring feeling to Gio's heart.

    Casper appears to be Gio's butler; however, the more you learn about Gio, the more you realize that Casper is family. Casper cares deeply about Gio's well-being and attempts to help him find the life he has always deserved. I loved Casper because he tells it like it is. He doesn't let Gio pull anything over on him and forces Gio to answer for his actions.

    Stephen De Novo found something he shouldn't of. He paid with his life.in one form or another.

    Carwyn, a great friend to Gio, is probably my favorite character. He is a Welsh Priest who has lived a long time. Funny and flirtatious, he is able to give Beatrice some of the answers she is looking for. He believes that each person should tell their own story. He and Beatrice are great as friends.he can read her like a book and knows exactly what to say.

    Isadora De Novo is Beatrice's only living family member. She and Beatrice have become very close since her grandfather's passing. Isadora has been keeping a huge secret that may bring much unwanted strife to Beatrice's life.

    Tenzin remains a mystery to me. She is very old and powerful. A very close friend of Gio and Carwyn. She fights by their side to obtain something extremely important to Gio. Tenzin is an odd one, but I loved her.

    Lorenzo is the pain in Gio's ass. He seeks power and seizes any opportunity to cause Gio discord.

    Elizabeth combined the lore of elementals with the lore of vampires and created an out-of-this-world world. I was extremely interested in the creation of these immortal creatures. Being from Texas, I appreciated the location of the story and became more interested as she took her characters from Houston to Greece to Chili ending in California. The author did a great job of pulling local culture into each of these locations.

    The romance that is portrayed is not immediate and overwhelming. It simmers slowly until it engulfs you in its entirety and leaves you a tad bit disappointed, not in the story or the romance, but in the situation. I wanted what Beatrice wanted.I wanted Gio to fight for her. I suspect he has his reasons for his actio

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    badly needed editing

    Wish I had kept track of the number of times a character "smirked" or "chuckled." Also, the heroine was poorly developed. The author produced no reason for an urbane, sophisticated man to be interested in her. Her manner of speech was trite and juvenile to the extreme. There is some good plotting, and I would expect improvements in the future from this author if she works on editing and style.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended Book! You will not be disappointed!

    Blurb: "No secret stays hidden forever ..."
    A phone call from an old friend sets Dr. Giovanni Vecchio back on the path of a mystery he'd abandoned years before. He never expected a young librarian could hold the key to the search, nor could he have expected the danger she would attract. Now he and Beatrice de Novo will follow a twisted maze that leads them from the archives of a university library, through the fires of Renaissance Florence, and toward a confrontation they never could have predicted.
    A Hidden Fire is a paranormal mystery/romance for adult readers. It is the first book in the Elemental Mysteries Series.
    Warning: This book is CALIENTE! Fire HOT. HOT.HOT.
    My Rating: 10 The best book I have read in a while!
    My Cover Thoughts: I absolutely love the cover. It is a picture of a library on fire. I love libraries and I love to read. If you have not gone to an old library you must find one and visit it. Old libraries hold so much mystery and intrigue you will be inspired to sit and read or sit and enjoy the priceless history you are looking at.
    My Thoughts/Review: OH MY GOD!!!!!!!!!! This story had me on the edge of my bed all weekend. Once I started reading it I could not put it down. It starts off in a library which I totally loved. It took me on a ride that started with laughter to tears to wonderment to outright anger. The emotional roller coaster was the best thing about this story because you were routeing for "B" and Gio and then you were like what the heck?
    This story held me captivated because Elizabeth did such an awesome job of weaving something new into her story. Yes it is about vampires but the new spin she placed was that all vampires have an affinity to them. They could be earth, water, fire or air. With the new take the vampire could use the affinity it was blessed with to fight for good or evil.
    In this story the main character "B" had to decide who to trust. She had been betrayed but a lot of people she loved and trusted and in the end she just did not know who she could trust. It was hard for her because she wanted to love and be open but she guarded her heart and never let her true feelings show through until she knew that person felt the same for her.
    There is mystery and intrigue in this story and a romance that will be put to the test. Is some love worth fighting for? Is some love worth letting go? You decide!
    If you like books that have some history in it you will love love this story. This is a story that will have you guessing who "B" is going to be with? Will she ever get the man of her dreams? Will her heart be broken? What happens to her family and friends?
    Take a wild ride with "B", Gio, Carwyn, Casper, Isadora, Tenzin, and Lorenzo. You will not be disappointed! I know I was not and the second book comes out in December 2011.
    Memorable Quotes: Page 214/215 Carwyn talking to Gio There was a long pause on the line before Carwyn continued in a soft voice.
    "Did you trade those damn books for her like Gav said?"
    He cursed in a dozen languages before he answered. "He was experimenting like the sick
    little bastard that he is. He was going to take her, but I'd tipped my hand before. He was trying
    to determine if it was Beatrice or the books I was reacting to. It's better ..." He cleared his throat
    before he continued. "It's better for her if he thinks I'm not attached to her."
    He gripped the doorjamb, cracking the oak paneling and sending plaster dust crumbling to
    the floor

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    A HIDDEN FIRE, book one in the Elemental Mysteries series, is th

    A HIDDEN FIRE, book one in the Elemental Mysteries series, is the story of Beatrice, or "B", and the shift her world undergoes when Dr. Giovanni Vecchio enters her world. After B becomes Gio's assistant, she learns more about the supernatural world, and her past, than may be safe. She also learns that no one's past truly stays behind them.

    A HIDDEN FIRE, simply based on the blurb and cover, seems like a mystery, maybe like the Da Vinci Code. And it is. But the story is more than the mystery of stolen and lost archives and documents. It's the story of a young woman with a sad past; a mysterious man with a turbulent past; and what happens when they cross paths a forge a partnership, and a tenuous relationship.

    The mystery of A HIDDEN FIRE is very creative and intriguing. Anyone who is a fan or simply interested in Renaissance Italy would love this book. The historical aspect is interwoven in a beautiful way, the backstory neatly dispersed throughout the book.

    My favorite aspect was the characters. B was smart, fun, and, for all of us book lovers, a librarian! She manages to show respect for Gio and his past and his work, but she is never anyone's fool or lackey. She can dish out a snarky comeback when the situations warrants it. I also enjoyed Gio. Although, B calls him "icy", that's only a front. Gio is a man of intense emotions, namely passion and protectiveness where B is concerned. Gio and B have a slow-building relationship. Trust must be earned on both ends. But when they are finally pushed to the edge? All bets are off. Love it.

    If I had any teensy qualms about A HIDDEN FIRE, it would be that sometimes, the storyline regarding Gio's past became a little bit confusing. There were several names from the past and their roles in the mystery, and sometimes a had a hard time keeping the characters straight. The other thing is, the reveal of Gio's true nature to B seemed a little bit close to a similar reveal in a book some of us know and love. Having said that, I still highly recommend this one.

    A HIDDEN FIRE is a book filled with the best of all worlds. There is romance, friendship, continuous revelations, danger, betrayal, and yes, heartbreak. A friend of mine has continued the series and professes that each book gets better and better. I am definitely going to continue with The Elemental Mysteries series.


    Favorite Quote:

    (My actual favorite is too spoilery. Sadface.)

    "She gasped when she heard the door slam. Giovanni spun her around, pulling her into his arms before his mouth crashed down and his arm encircled her waist." (pg. 175)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Great

    Top 10 read of 2011. The sneak peak of book two was excellant and I am super excited for the series to continue.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Wonderful character development. Riveting twists and turns. Co

    Wonderful character development. Riveting twists and turns. Couldn't put it down. Can't wait to tear into book 2!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Enjoyed it

    Kept my interest and enjoyed it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Very good

    Very good book. I will be continuing on with the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Enjoyable read!

    This was a great book that had some of the best characters. It had humor, romance, and suspense. I really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    This is a great book! I loved the characters and the story line!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I you like vampires, romance, and mystery....this book is a must! Elizabeth Hunter has become one of my favorite authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One word: GIO!

    Giovanni is in the rare book business, and his clients pay him nicely for the work he does. He has been working at the library in Houston for the past several months researching an old manuscript. He keeps to himself, working at night in the small room on the 5th floor. Man of mystery and good looks, he is the talk of all the ladies in the library.

    Beatrice, otherwise known as B, just started working nights at the library and enjoys watching Giovanni work. Soon, after weeks of working side by side, B and Gio strike up a friendship. One night B learns what Gio is, a vampire with an affinity for fire. From there Beatrice is off on a journey in a world she never knew existed.
    To say I was thoroughly surprised at this book is an understatement.

    Not really in the reading mood, I started the book only to become immersed in the story. Hunter¿s imagination has created an amazing world of vampires with special affinities to water, earth, air and the rare fire. Her characters are amazing and fun and yummy. ooooh so yummy! Even with his hot and cold emotions, you will just adore Giovanni. Hunter keeps you guessing what will transpire between Gio and Beatrice the entire time. The ending was well done leading into the next book of the series, This Same Earth.

    A Hidden Fire is one of those books that won¿t let go once you¿re done with it. I just finished the book and already I want to read it again. So full of mystery, romance and witty batman references you are sure to love every word Hunter has written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Loved every minute of this book!

    What I Liked: 1) The details. I am not an artist, in fact my stick figure drawing are laughable. But if I could draw, the details in A Hidden Fire make me want to draw the characters. Their faces and forms with long smooth lines, sharp angles and lots of shading. 2) The relationships. Such beautifully created relationships between all of the characters - some good and some bad! But they were all there, and all were strong, understandable, and personable. I love this in a book, because often it gives me, or a reader, something to appreciate, to understand or even to desire. 3) The love story. In so many books where romance is at play, we find that thing that readers tend to fear - the insta-love. I am pleased to say that the romance between Gio and B is one that grows and develops over time, and it's very sweet and endearing to be able to watch it develop. I found myself falling for Gio. 4) The inclusion of the elemental magic. Of course I knew that was coming from the title itself, but I really liked the way it was handled, and the way it was explained. 5) The humor. I found myself several times. Some of the lines that I noted were simply because I was laughing at them so much. I even repeated a few of them to my sister, and one became a catchphrase for an entire day! ---> "I am, in fact, Batman." HA HA HA! We said it all day long! 6) Carwyn. Carwyn was probably my favorite character. I hope that he plays a role in the next book (and the next ones after that), because I just loved him. His personality was great, and envisioning him with his bright hair and Hawaiian shirts along with his profession just made him so much fun. I tried changing Sophie's name to Carwyn, but she didn't go for it. 7) The ending. A lot of people probably have love/hate relationships with cliffhangers. I know I do. Love running off of really good ones, and hate them all the same. The ending of A Hidden Fire left me immediately ready for the next book, This Same Earth.

    What I Didn't Like: Nothing!

    Overall thoughts: Add this book to your TBR list immediately, and add it somewhere near the top! The characters, the storyline, the magic and romance all draw you in from the very beginning and the ending just leaves you hungry for more. I absolutely recommend this book to any fans of romance, mystery, or paranormals - it will leave you charmed and mystified. Additionally, the second book in the series, This Same Earth was just recently released as an e-book and I know I'll be reading it in the near future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    A Grreat Paranormal, Romantic Suspense Read!

    Giovanni Vecchio is the proverbial mysterious, tall, dark and handsome stranger. He is reportedly doing research on an ancient document found in the university's library. Beatrice de Novo is studying Library Sciences and works part-time in the evenings at the university's library. Giovanni and Beatrice don't have much in common other than a love in books, or so it appears in A Hidden Fire by Elizabeth Hunter.
    Giovanni may look the quintessential professional but he is so much more. Giovanni Vecchio happens to be more than 500 years old and is searching for books from his old library. He happens to be a vampire with a special gift, an affinity for fire. Due to this elemental affinity he can light candles, kindling to start fires and unfortunately short out most electronic equipment including cell phones, appliances, and cars. Currently residing in Houston, Texas, Giovanni lives a quiet life assisted by his friend/butler/chauffeur, Caspar. Caspar takes care of the tedious parts of Giovanni's life. He also maintains contact with other vampires around the world, including two of Giovanni's oldest friends: Carwyn, a 1000 year-old Welsh priest, and Tenzin, a 4000+ year old Asian woman. Carwyn is an earth vampire and can manipulate soil and rock, and Tenzin is an air vampire and can manipulate the wind and fly. These are not your run-of-the-mill vampires.
    Beatrice, or "B,¿ is a hard-working student. She's in her senior year and wants to graduate and continue her studies with a graduate degree. She is currently residing with her only known relative, her paternal grandmother. Her father disappeared and was presumed dead more than 10 years ago. Her grandfather died just a few years ago and her mother hasn't been in her life since her birth. One would presume that these hard knocks would cause B to feel sorry for herself or worse, but she is a rather level-headed young woman. Or at least she thought she was until confronted with the reality that Giovanni is a vampire. If that wasn't hard enough to swallow, she must also accept that she wasn't crazy during her teen years and that she had seen her father - a newly turned vampire.
    Giovanni feels that B's father may try to contact her and wants to be readily available. To say that B has a lot to deal with is a massive understatement. It doesn't help that she is attracted to Giovanni and that he seems to share her feelings. Weeks pass and it seems that things aren't as bad as feared but then B is abducted by the man she and Giovanni feared. Lorenzo was turned by Giovanni and is the one that turned B's father. He is ruthless, amoral and completely without feeling. Will Giovanni be able to save B before she can be harmed or turned? Will Giovanni and B ever be able to have a relationship other than friendship?
    There's a lot more going on in this story than the subtle male-female attraction between B and Giovanni; there's also the completely dysfunctional father-son relationship between Giovanni and Lorenzo, Giovanni's familial relationship with Caspar and even Carwyn, B's love-hate relationship with her father, and the budding romance between Caspar and Isadora de Novo, B's grandmother. A Hidden Fire is a fast paranormal-romantic suspense read and a surprisingly good read at that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    GREAT READ!!!

    Loved this book! Well written. I especially was impressed with the tie into the Cabala Giovanni of the 14'th century. Cannot wait for the second Elemental Mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    I found Gio and B by accident kind of the way they found each ot

    I found Gio and B by accident kind of the way they found each other. Don't miss out on an exciting couple

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I absolutely loved this book ;-) It made me tense and my heart r

    I absolutely loved this book ;-) It made me tense and my heart race. It was a steady start and you fell in love with the characters easily ;-) LOVED LOVED LOVED this book. I never read books twice and this one I was able to read a dozen times over ;-))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Amazing!!

    This book series was truly amazing!!
    I loved it. It was so wonderful I had a very hard time putting it down!
    This is definitely a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Better Than Twilight Series

    This series in much better then the Twilight Series (I would have never thought that would be possible). This Elemental Mysteries is a paranormal book for adults. Teens will like it too, but finally a book where thousand year old Vampires have the wisdom of a thousand years and are not influence by the whims of 20-something year old girls. I loved, loved, loved these 4 books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    A definite yes!

    Keeps you running back to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4