Customer Reviews for

A Hidden Fire: Elemental Mysteries Book One

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Top 10 of 2011

A Hidden Fire is saturated with mystery, intrigue, and romance. To be quite honest.this book will make my paranormal romance top ten list of 2011. The characters are enigmatic and brimming with charisma. Every character has a specific purpose in the story, they are impo...
A Hidden Fire is saturated with mystery, intrigue, and romance. To be quite honest.this book will make my paranormal romance top ten list of 2011. The characters are enigmatic and brimming with charisma. Every character has a specific purpose in the story, they are important and multidimensional. The romance is slow and builds with a burning intensity throughout the book. And the mystery.well, it just keeps going and going and going.and then at the end, it continues. The sequel cannot come out soon enough for me. A Hidden Fire is to say the very least.intense.

Let's say hello to the characters, shall we?

Giovanni Vecchio is an Italian god; at least he looks like one. Rich, sexy, and mysterious is a completely accurate description of Gio. His weekly trips to the Special Collections reading room at the Houston University library unearth a long lost collection of letters and poetry. This collection will complicate every part of Gio's life.as well as others.

Beatrice De Novo is beautiful and intelligent. She is snippy, sarcastic, and made me laugh so hard. Her job at the library entwines her fate with Gio's. B, as she prefers to be called, has had a difficult life. Her father died when she was young and she is left the haunting feeling that he is still around. She is a strong heroin and will bring feeling to Gio's heart.

Casper appears to be Gio's butler; however, the more you learn about Gio, the more you realize that Casper is family. Casper cares deeply about Gio's well-being and attempts to help him find the life he has always deserved. I loved Casper because he tells it like it is. He doesn't let Gio pull anything over on him and forces Gio to answer for his actions.

Stephen De Novo found something he shouldn't of. He paid with his life.in one form or another.

Carwyn, a great friend to Gio, is probably my favorite character. He is a Welsh Priest who has lived a long time. Funny and flirtatious, he is able to give Beatrice some of the answers she is looking for. He believes that each person should tell their own story. He and Beatrice are great as friends.he can read her like a book and knows exactly what to say.

Isadora De Novo is Beatrice's only living family member. She and Beatrice have become very close since her grandfather's passing. Isadora has been keeping a huge secret that may bring much unwanted strife to Beatrice's life.

Tenzin remains a mystery to me. She is very old and powerful. A very close friend of Gio and Carwyn. She fights by their side to obtain something extremely important to Gio. Tenzin is an odd one, but I loved her.

Lorenzo is the pain in Gio's ass. He seeks power and seizes any opportunity to cause Gio discord.

Elizabeth combined the lore of elementals with the lore of vampires and created an out-of-this-world world. I was extremely interested in the creation of these immortal creatures. Being from Texas, I appreciated the location of the story and became more interested as she took her characters from Houston to Greece to Chili ending in California. The author did a great job of pulling local culture into each of these locations.

The romance that is portrayed is not immediate and overwhelming. It simmers slowly until it engulfs you in its entirety and leaves you a tad bit disappointed, not in the story or the romance, but in the situation. I wanted what Beatrice wanted.I wanted Gio to fight for her. I suspect he has his reasons for his actio

posted by kristinja73 on October 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

badly needed editing

Wish I had kept track of the number of times a character "smirked" or "chuckled." Also, the heroine was poorly developed. The author produced no reason for an urbane, sophisticated man to be interested in her. Her manner of speech was trite and juvenile to the extre...
Wish I had kept track of the number of times a character "smirked" or "chuckled." Also, the heroine was poorly developed. The author produced no reason for an urbane, sophisticated man to be interested in her. Her manner of speech was trite and juvenile to the extreme. There is some good plotting, and I would expect improvements in the future from this author if she works on editing and style.

posted by 2112839 on March 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    A definite yes!

    Keeps you running back to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    LOVE

    This Series is great. Funny, Romantic and total ass kicking! A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Don't like vampire fiction?? This book will change your mind.

    I ws hesitant to try this bloody kool-aid... :-)... But I'm hooked, can't wait to see how Beatrice's and Gio's story plays out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Great adult "Twilight"

    Excellent fantasy series. Like the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    Loved this paranormal mystery, looking forward to the next book

    Loved this paranormal mystery, looking forward to the next book in the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend!

    I loved the elemental series! It was addicting! I was sad to end the series but am anxious to see what else Elizabeth Hunter has in stores for those of us who enjoyed the elemental series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    THIS IS A MUST READ! I couldn't put the book down. I have fini

    THIS IS A MUST READ! I couldn't put the book down. I have finished all the books in this series and am hopeful Ms. Hunter will continue with series about the other major characters. WONDERFUL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Anonoymous

    Excellent read over 1100 pages! What a book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Really great series! loved all the books couldnt put them down!!

    Really great series! loved all the books couldnt put them down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    I got this first book in he series on my kindle app because it w

    I got this first book in he series on my kindle app because it was free, and have really enjoyed reading this series so far. I love the characters, they feel very real to me, and ver believable. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Highly recommend

    This series was one of the best i have ever read. I read all four of the element series in about a week. I could not put them down. I was sad to finish them, it made me feel like i was loosing friends. Once you start you will not beable to put them down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Loved It!

    Well written. It's a romance-adventure for smart people looking for a fun escape!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    One of the best books I've read this year!!!

    I stumbled across this book on Amazon, because I was searching for an in-between free read. What I found was 'A Hidden Fire' by Elizabeth Hunter, and I discovered a book that I completely LOVE. Without a doubt - LOVE. I will definitely be following this story, because I have to read more!
    Dr. Giovanni Vecchio (otherwise known as 'Gio') is the talk of the campus -- youthful, intelligent, and with the face and body of an Adonis. He visits the campus library every Wednesday evening to do research and to transcribe an old text for a friend. Always polite, but still very aloof to all he comes into contact with. Mysterious.
    Beatrice De Novo (otherwise known as 'B') is a student who works in the campus library. She is quirky and a little sad, but her wit and sense of humor is enough to have Gio completely entranced. She feels that he wants something from her, but she isn't sure what it may be.
    All of a sudden, B discovers that her dad is a part of something BIG, something dangerous....and he's been dead for 10 years -- or has he? Now a crazed psychopath with ties to Gio is tracking her, all in order to get to her supposedly dead father -- but something isn't quite right. Gio is not what he appears to be (the term vampire comes to mind) and now B is caught up in a world she finds hard to believe and impossible to resist.
    I think that my favorite part of the storyline was the tie to the elements that each of the immortals had -- I have never seen that twist in a vampire tale! I felt that the story was very well written, and feel that Ms. Hunter truly has a mastery of the written word. She painted the story and made it come alive, and I devoured this book like it was the last drop of water!
    There are definitely some steamy parts in this book -- maybe PG-13ish -- but I recommend this novel to ANYONE who enjoys the paranormal, an exciting romance, and just a good, well-written story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Great Way To Start A Series

    Yes, it is about vampires. But I still loved it. It was interesting to see the difference between the Elemental vampires and the Twilight vampires. It was also nice to not have werewolves. I have already read this entire series and I don't want to give anything away. Just, if it seems to start slow, keep going. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Recommend

    Great read so far. The only problem I have is that you cannot change the font size, it is very irritating

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    A brilliantly woven tale!

    Elizabeth Hunter is one of those rare gems of an author you stumble upon every now and again. Her ability to suck you in with each word is incredible. This whole series surpassed my expectations. This one, perhaps, even more than the others. Not because it was the best in the series, or because the others were a let down. Just because I never expected to fall in love with characters the way that I have fallen in love with these. As the reader, I found myself devoted to the characters. When they were frustrated or sad, I found myself just longing to move them forward to a happier place. The emotions that Elizabeth Hunter is able to convey with her characters are far from superficial She is able to make these people seem real. Their problems are real problems, their fights have real consequences, and the reader is not left feeling like they have been tossed another story of cliches. Even though one of the main characters is a vampire, I found myself more intrigued by the man than the fact that he was a vampire. Any author that is able to do that, in my humble opinion, is genius. I think my friend every day for introducing me to this amazing author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Really interesting book!

    New twist in this story. Very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    One of the most erotic things I have read in a long time is when

    One of the most erotic things I have read in a long time is when Giovanni is teaching Beatrice how to drink whiskey. Absolutely love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Good

    This boook was very captivating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4