Customer Reviews for

A Hint of Frost

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Reading a blurb that leads you to believe the fantasy world hold

Reading a blurb that leads you to believe the fantasy world holds arachnid-like humanoids sounds interesting and unique, right? I thought so too…and I was not disappointed. I couldn’t put it down! The book opens up to Lourdes fleeing her would-be captors...
Reading a blurb that leads you to believe the fantasy world holds arachnid-like humanoids sounds interesting and unique, right? I thought so too…and I was not disappointed. I couldn’t put it down! The book opens up to Lourdes fleeing her would-be captors following the sudden demise of her ruling parents and seeking the help of her mother’s best friend, who happens to rule the most feared clan in the region, reputed to be cannibals. Despite the age-old friendship, her rescuer insists Lourdes unite the clans formally before even securing Lourdes’s home.

Finding herself in a situation with no better way out, she agrees. A man from a clan that is known to be poor and brutal marrying a woman from a clan that is known for its wealth and exquisitely spun silk, and this is expected to go smoothly? The rest of the story follows the aftermath of the siege and the journey of Lourdes and Rhys as they strive to grow comfortable with their arrangement. This creates a lot of delicious sexual tension. The book in its entirety is well written, with realistic intimacy that is detailed but fairly chaste, and enough violence to keep the conflict fresh without being graphic.

My only complaint is the names of some people and most of the places. Some are easy enough, but I was pretty tongue tied trying to pronounce some of the names people sported and of places traveled. Despite that, I thoroughly enjoyed this book!

posted by Mebuffy on April 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I don't know what to think

On the one hand, I like it because its a good story line but on the other hand I Dislike it Tremendously because of how much of a selfish coniving b**** Lori is. She doesn't Think about how what she does will effect others. I just want to wring her neck lol

posted by t0xic_angel on January 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Definitely Worth The Buy

    Started off great. Very interesting ideas on play here. the ending... anticlimactic. But still a great read, just needs a little refining.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2015

    Jeff

    Hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Every now and then I want a change from contemporary or historic

    Every now and then I want a change from contemporary or historical romance, and the buzz on this series was intriguing, so I bought the books for my own library.  
    Araneae Nation series by Hailey Edwards is a fantasy romance, which has a touch of everything you could hope for in that genre: action, compelling characters, humor and world-building that draws you in, being utterly unique but somehow familiar.   
    I’m so not a spider fan, but the arachnid-influenced features and some behaviors of the characters is well integrated and isn’t nearly as icky as it sounds.  Lourdes is instantly tasked with trials and tribulations with her parents’ poisoning and her ascension to the position of Maven.  Her clan, the Araneidae are a peaceful lot, but the world is not and with Lourdes as the Maven, she and her clan could fall prey to a more aggressive clan. 
    Rhys is the youngest son of another clan’s Maven, but his status and reputation are as Rhys the Cold, a mercenary for hire with a fierce demeanor and warrior’s reputation.  Maven is in need of his services to protect her clan, and a deal is struck: find and avenge her parents’ murder and marry, or remain and protect the clan, without a marriage. 
    Their relationship was intriguing, as the two start to rely on one another more frequently, the feelings and sexual tension amp up.  In the middle of everything, with Lourdes dealing with threats from everywhere and the possibility of more danger threatening her clan, her sister disappears and Rhys’ responsibilities and tasks have to adjust.  Gripping and intriguing, this story had me reading long after I expected to.  
    There were a few hiccups for me – while the characters were superbly developed, their particular ‘talents’ and clan associations were often difficult to fix in my mind, so many different and unique names, talents and associations that it took quite a while to get everything straight.  Edwards does a lovely job of introducing and explaining the differences, and it never feels like an info dump, but I did find myself a bit confused until all of the pieces fell into place.  While not a familiar genre for me, I am going to pick up the next in the series to see what happens.
    I purchased a copy of this title for my own library.  I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Terri N. Book provided by the author for review Revi

    Reviewed by Terri N.
    Book provided by the author for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    From the first paragraph of this book I was pulled into this story and I didn’t want to put it down.

    Lourdes, the oldest daughter of her clan heads, is thrust into leadership after finding her parents murdered. I loved her spunk and strong will. She could have lay down and taken what life gave her a few times but she kept fighting for herself and her people. I appreciated the fact that even though things were really not idea for her she never lost her true self.

    I was in love with Rhys and them as a couple from their first scene together. The circumstances of his life made him real. The chemistry between Rhys and Lourdes was some of the best I’ve read. The sexual tension was out of this world……. literally.

    Speaking of worlds, Ms. Edwards is a master world maker. The landscape only made up part of this wonderful world. Mavens rule their clans, spinners spun fine silk from their finger tips and being hand-fasted included being bitten. I’ve always loved Native American stories and to me this is a Native American story with a fanciful twist. Some of the tribe names and places were hard to pronounce but I didn’t let that stop me for enjoying this read.

    The secondary characters were well rounded but didn’t overwhelm the reader. The story remained about Rhys and Lourdes while still developing interest in the other characters. I’m especially interested in learning more about Rhys’ brother, Vaughn.

    This is one fantasy world I can’t wait to visit again and I’m not just saying that because Ms. Edwards is a fellow Alabamian!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    A little hard to follow

    I found the story a little hard to follow in the beginning. It would have been easier if more of a back story was given about this world and its people /customs. Otherwise, it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Very Good.

    I am usually not one to enjoy the first person narrative. All the Is and Mys tend to become repetative. That being said, this book pushes passed all of those worries, with it's seamless, almost prose like writing. I couldn't put it down. Read this one. It's unique, intelligent, and even with the romance it skips the smut. Beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    3.5 stars

    Enjoyed this and was grateful the spiders were more the spider man type than eight legged,many eyed type. Cute love story, quick 400+ page romance.
    BrynnS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Wosis StellaDarcy

    Really good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Coldpaw to petalfear

    Morning(gtgts bbl) [• Coldpaw •]

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Perywinklekit

    "Put me down! I am playing Hide and Seek with Flutterkit!!!" She escapes the grip and hides in a tree.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Rainkit

    Ran around

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Flutterkit

    *Flies in and sniffs around for Perywinklekit. She sniffs the moss pile and uncovers her. Wasnt expecting her to be there and hides behind a rock then cools down.* O-ok my turn t-to hide. *Flies back to the first res.*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Petalfear

    Sorry i was busly

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    HONEYBLOOD IS AN IMPOSTER I STILL LOVE YOU SNOWSTAR

    Do not beleive he she is deputy of Natureclan.Snowstar come to midnight result one for a night together.Redtail

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Apprentices den

    IceCls apprentices den.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Good

    I liked it for a short read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Peewee

    OPPA GANGNAM SHAKE!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    PLZ

    PPPPLLLZZ GO TO CATS RES1 AND CLICK ON HELP PPPLLLZZZ GO AND PPPLLLZZ SPREAD THE WORD

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Brightlight

    Can i oin.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Sunsetstar

    Yes you may join would you like to be deputy

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5