BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Home in Drayton Valley

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A HOME IN DRAYTON VALLEY by Kim Vogel Sawyer is a wonderful Hist

    A HOME IN DRAYTON VALLEY by Kim Vogel Sawyer is a wonderful Historical Fiction set in 1880 Kansas. A heart wrenching tale of tragedy,faith,and love. Tarsie Raines,her friends,Joss and Mary Brubacher and their two young children dream of a better life than the slums of New York City in Drayton Valley, Kansas. On the wagon train,tragedy strikes on the trail,a partnership is formed between Joss and Tarsie. Money is low,but Tarsie's faith will carry her through hardship,and struggles.But she also starts to question her future. The unexpected happens, Tarsie finds love with a man she never dreamed to, Joss. Fast paced and filled with adventure,tragedy,love,faith,life on a wagon train through the rough prairie lands and life in early America. Ms. Sawyer has done it again with "A Home in Drayton Valley" with her engaging characters,and intriguing plots. I would recommend this title if you enjoy American history,historical fiction,early American life and a great story than "A Home in Drayton Valley" is the story for you, you will not be disappointed. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
    RATING: 4
    HEAT RATING: SWEET
    REVIEWED BY: My Book Addiction Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    I really loved A Home In Drayton Valley by Kim Vogel Sawyer. Set

    I really loved A Home In Drayton Valley by Kim Vogel Sawyer. Set in 1880, this book takes the reader from New York City to a beautiful valley in Kansas. Tarsie Raines was a women of high morals and plenty of love to share. Joss was a man who was influenced by his own non-Christian upbringing and has to learn what it means to be a real father to his children. It was good to watch
    God use Simon a man of color to influenced him in so many ways. Tarsie was a wonderful example of Christian love to her friends as well as to Mary's children. The friendship between Ruth and Tarise was one of my favorite parts of the book. I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars.


    I received this book from Bethany House for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    I will admit it took me a while to get into this book. It took


    I will admit it took me a while to get into this book. It took me a while to get past the first few chapters. Likely, it was because I tried to start reading it at swimming lessons. There were enough distractions, that I found myself reading the same paragraph over and over and therefore just couldn't get into the story.

    Once I finally found a period of time to sit down and actually get started in the book, I quickly got caught up in the story and found myself sneaking any few minutes that I could string together to read the book. It was a good story.

    I enjoyed following the story as the family of four and their friend traveled together with the wagon train west from the dirt and grime of New York City to the promised benefits of Drayton Valley, in Kansas. Unfortunately for the group, the journey was fraught with challenges and things didn't get easier once they were in Kansas.

    The story addressed not only the challenges of the family, but also addressed the issues of racism - in both directions. Through the course of the story, new, and unexpected bonds were formed. Friendships were formed and love found, as the group completed their journey. We found those without faith come to find God through the examples set by others.

    I am generally a fan of period literature. I find something so fascinating about the simpler times, and enjoy learning new perspectives on the challenges faced by those that lived in those times. This book, being set in the 1880s, certainly fit into that category.

    This book is an enjoyable story of journeys - physically, emotionally and spiritually.

    I received a copy if this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    I am not one for lengthy reviews that summarize the story so sim

    I am not one for lengthy reviews that summarize the story so simply said, A Home In Drayton Valley will not disappoint anyone who enjoys historical fiction with Christian undertones. This is the first book I've read by Kim Vogel Sawyer (who was recommended by a friend) and it won't be the last. Through her ability of storytelling and development of characters she takes the reader along on the journey and we are able to care about Tarsie, Joss, and "their" children. I look forward to reading more from Mrs. Sawyer.
    I received a copy if this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "For we are saved by hope: but hope that is seen is not hop

    "For we are saved by hope: but hope that is seen is not hope: for what a man seeth, why doth he yet hope for? But if we hope for that we see not, then do we with patience wait for it." Romans 8:24

    Joss and Mary Brubacher, their two children, and Mary's friend Tarsie Raines are determined to leave the destitution and oppression of 1880 New York behind and head for the "promised land" of Drayton Valley, Kansas. When tragedy strikes their little group, Tarsie makes a promise to care for Joss and the children and Joss sets up a "marriage" as Mary wished. Can Tarsie show Joss the love that Mary so wished for him to know? Can she love him the way God loves all of His children? Can Joss put aside his past and accept the love that Tarsie, his children, and ultimately God want for him to share?

    A Home in Drayton Valley by Kim Vogel Sawyer is a story that touches my heart deeply. I can relate to it in a extremely personal way. The characters are well-developed and you can relate to them. Tarsie, from the beginning of the book, is a spit fire who stands up for what she believes in no matter the cost. Joss is hard-hearted, yet tender enough that you don't hate him, and his struggles are very human. The story is a message of learning to trust God and believe in his promises. It's a story about how God allows things to happen in our lives that we don't understand, but we have to learn to trust that God knows what he's doing. Tarsie, already being a Christian, understands this concept and we see her struggle to maintain her faith in the face of adversity. Joss, not yet accepting Christ and his love, doesn't fully understand this concept, and we see him struggle to overcome his past prejudices and finally accept what God has been trying to tell him all along through the witness of several characters in the book.

    Overall, this is not an action packed, comedic story. It is a soft story of God's love and acceptance that will leave your heart full and your spirit light. I would definitely recommend it.**I received this copy free from Bethany House Publishers.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    A Home in Drayton Valley is a sweet pioneer story and I read it

    A Home in Drayton Valley is a sweet pioneer story and I read it at the time my students were studying pioneer travel. What impressed me most was the historical detail in the story. I used much of her thoroughly researched information during class discussions.

    The central plot revolves around Tarsie Raines. A young woman from Ireland and stuck in poverty in New York City, Tarsie dreams of a better life for herself and her best friend, Mary and Mary's family. The dream is fraught of conflicts including Mary's debilitating disease, Mary's alcoholic gambler of a husband and two young children (whom the husband doesn't want).

    Tarsie convinces Mary to travel to Drayton Valley. When Mary approaches her husband, he scoffs at the idea until he needs to go out of necessity three days later (don't want to spoil the plot). Tarsie pays for the tickets and most of the supplies and they begin their journey first by train and then by wagon.

    The travelers have all of the conflicts of a pioneering group and then some. Tarsie, who is a devout Christian, does her best to help lift up the family, ease Mary's sickness and care the children. As one situation leads to another, a promise is made and the plot takes an interesting turn.

    A Home in Drayton Valley is written beautifully and an ease to read. It is a story filled with hardship and happiness with a few surprises along the way.

    (Thank you to Bethany House Publishers for allowing me to request a free copy, I truly enjoyed it.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1