Customer Reviews for

A Hundred Summers

Average Rating 4.5
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I read the last 150 pages in just a  few hours.   I really just

I read the last 150 pages in just a  few hours.   I really just couldn't put this book down.  The first 2/3 of it is a book that I didn't want to finish because I was enjoying
 it so much and I didn't want the story to end.  But that last 1/3 is really fast paced.  I do...
I read the last 150 pages in just a  few hours.   I really just couldn't put this book down.  The first 2/3 of it is a book that I didn't want to finish because I was enjoying
 it so much and I didn't want the story to end.  But that last 1/3 is really fast paced.  I don't read much
historical fiction so I wasn't sure how I would like it.  I loved it.  I don't want to give any of it away.  It's a
great summer vacation book.  The story is gripping, the characters are vivid.  The story switches
seamlessly back and forth between two different time periods with each used to enrich the other.  It's
just a great story, well told and I loved the historical references.

posted by L875 on June 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A quick read!

A quick read to take to the beach.

posted by 4315464 on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    As much as I loved A Hundred Summers, I loved Overseas (that is

    As much as I loved A Hundred Summers, I loved Overseas (that is the most misleading title of a book until you get half-way through) even more. Beatriz Williams is able to give her male hero a truly amazing characterization of sex and warmth that I have read with few other authors; Diana Gabaldon comes to mind (Outlanders). Ms. William’s books are truly worth the reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    This book was incredible!  It was hard to put down...So much so

    This book was incredible!  It was hard to put down...So much so that I stayed up until 3am to read the final 1/3 of the book.  I would totally recommend this book to anyone who loves a good love story (with a lot of drama)!  
    I hope they make it into a movie because I would love to see who would play these amazing characters!!!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Page Turner

    A hurricane, secrets, and family lies make this a great read! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    Very Enjoyable

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    A Hundred Summers free goodreads giveaway by Beatriz Williams is

    A Hundred Summers free goodreads giveaway by Beatriz Williams is a heartwrenching, engrossing love story.
    Lily Dane returns with her mom, dad, Aunt Julie, and her sister six year old sister Kiki to their oceanfront home in Seaview, Rhode Island in 1938. Lily is surprised to hear that her former fiance, Nick, and his wife, Budgie, her former best friend, are also spending the summer in Seaview. She has not seen Nick or Budgie in seven years and is not looking forward to seeing them again. Budgie wants to be friends again, and Nick is spending more and more time with Kiki.
    Lily finds out that Budgie married Nick for his money and blackmail to not reveal a secret. As Nick and Lily's love contiues to grow for each other, Nick approaches Budgie about a divorce. After Nick brings Budgie home from the hospital after her attempted suicide, the horrendous hurricane of 1938 hits.
    Read the suspenseful, emotional rollarcoaster recommended read A Hundred Summers and discover if Nick and Lily find their happily ever after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent writing!  I really loved this book and the era in whic

    Excellent writing!  I really loved this book and the era in which it was set! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Great story....such an interesting, different format, which keeps you reading on and on....

    Loved this story and its throw back to an era gone by.....loved the switch in the time setting.... Great story that keeps you wondering why and how certain things happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Excellent!  This book captured my interest immediately.   The ch

    Excellent!  This book captured my interest immediately.   The characters are beautifully drawn.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    To kai um yeah

    Ella said shes lockdd out of here too but o go to result 8

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Phillip

    Stares at her bo.obs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Cyrus

    ((Gtgtb 12:30 here.))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    Good reading.

    A good beach book and love story, but I found it not too believable, with the exception of the storm in 1938. I think I would have enjoyed it more if it were told in sequence instead of hopping back and forth over a 6-year scan. But it kept me interested enough to keep reading until I found out what happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Great story, full of mystery, romance, love lost, and historical

    Great story, full of mystery, romance, love lost, and historical fiction, all the makings for a great beach read.  I thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Very good quick read!

    I couldn't put this book down. It was an easy and exciting read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Good read

    The story was very enjoyable. It was true to the 1930's era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    Fantastic book!!

    Ms. Williams gives us characters you root for, and does a great job of integrating history with fiction. "A Hundred Summers" has whetted my appetite for additional books by her. I have read about 50 books so far this year, and this is definitely one of the best . My only suggestion or complaint would be: It is my understanding that there were photos in the hard copy books, and I wonder why they didn't include them in the e-book, as some do?
    For example, "The Undaunted Women of Nanking" included photos, and they were very easy to see on my Nook. This has happened to me several times - disappointment in lacking pictures. Otherwise, no complaints. As usual, I quickly moved on to another book right away, but even so, this one stayed in heart and mind. I hope that the gifted Ms. Williams will write many more books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    A good read!

    I enjoyed this book, it was timely in spite of the pre-WWII setting and describes the beach community very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Fun Read

    Enjoyed a step back into time. This was a fun, enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Great story and characters. Excellent writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    good read--couldn't put it down.

    This book explored personalities, which to me, is always a good book. I thoroughly enjoyed delving into the lives and pyschic of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6