Customer Reviews for

A Hundred Summers

Average Rating 4.5
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I read the last 150 pages in just a  few hours.   I really just

I read the last 150 pages in just a  few hours.   I really just couldn't put this book down.  The first 2/3 of it is a book that I didn't want to finish because I was enjoying
 it so much and I didn't want the story to end.  But that last 1/3 is really fast paced.  I do...
I read the last 150 pages in just a  few hours.   I really just couldn't put this book down.  The first 2/3 of it is a book that I didn't want to finish because I was enjoying
 it so much and I didn't want the story to end.  But that last 1/3 is really fast paced.  I don't read much
historical fiction so I wasn't sure how I would like it.  I loved it.  I don't want to give any of it away.  It's a
great summer vacation book.  The story is gripping, the characters are vivid.  The story switches
seamlessly back and forth between two different time periods with each used to enrich the other.  It's
just a great story, well told and I loved the historical references.

posted by L875 on June 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A quick read!

A quick read to take to the beach.

posted by 4315464 on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Good read

    The story was very enjoyable. It was true to the 1930's era.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    A good read!

    I enjoyed this book, it was timely in spite of the pre-WWII setting and describes the beach community very well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    I enjoyed this book.

    This story was pretty predictable, but I still enjoyed it. I like the way the author tells the story - it swaps back and forth forth between when Budgie and Lily were in college and 1938 when they meet up again. A good beach read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    It starts off slow and the fast forward and back throws me off a

    It starts off slow and the fast forward and back throws me off a bit but it was definitely a good summer read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    I finished this book last night and I can't stop thinking about

    I finished this book last night and I can't stop thinking about it!  I read it in 3 days-it's a real page-turner.  I think I felt the same anger, devastation, and surprise that the characters did.  It is well-written and the past to future layout is awesome.  I would recommend to anyone and everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    LOVE this book ! Reading it is like going to a beach vacation

    I really enjoy stories from another era, with believable,
    Carismatic characters. I also love that the plot outcomes are not predictable. In fact after reading foor a time,the characters and surroundings are presented so well that you can almost visualize both people and places.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    I am enjpying this story ao much that I don't want it to end!

    The characters are so real. Love the author's voice and descriptions. Am recommending it to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    A quick read!

    A quick read to take to the beach.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Anonymous

    Wow I liked it so much that i read it twice. I have never done that before. I enjoyed it just as much the second time as the first. I was affraid I had maybe missed something the first time because i read it so fast. It was hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    This was a fantastic book - LOVED IT! I could not put it down a

    This was a fantastic book - LOVED IT! I could not put it down and it was great right down to the very last page. I have recommended this book to everyone that I know. Should definitely be on everyone's reading list !!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    What a read!

    Stayed up until 2am to finish - I was hooked! Romantic, compelling, historical and beautifully written. To Ms. Williams, THANK YOU!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Waste of time.

    I read this for my book club and wish I'd just skipped it. Usually we read well-written books, but this was just silly. The characters were shallow and the ending was so predictable. I wish I hadn't purchased it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Loved this book!!

    Loved this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    As much as I loved A Hundred Summers, I loved Overseas (that is

    As much as I loved A Hundred Summers, I loved Overseas (that is the most misleading title of a book until you get half-way through) even more. Beatriz Williams is able to give her male hero a truly amazing characterization of sex and warmth that I have read with few other authors; Diana Gabaldon comes to mind (Outlanders). Ms. William’s books are truly worth the reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    This book was incredible!  It was hard to put down...So much so

    This book was incredible!  It was hard to put down...So much so that I stayed up until 3am to read the final 1/3 of the book.  I would totally recommend this book to anyone who loves a good love story (with a lot of drama)!  
    I hope they make it into a movie because I would love to see who would play these amazing characters!!!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What Happened One Summer Night in 1938? Thank you to Putnam Boo

    What Happened One Summer Night in 1938?

    Thank you to Putnam Books and Beatriz Williams for sending A Hundred Summers. This is her second novel. I am delighted to share it with you.
    Meet Budgie who is known for getting what she wants whenever she wants it. Her gal pal Lily always accompanies but steps aside for her friend. The women travel in the fall of 1931 to see Nick Greenwald and his friend Graham Pendleton at a football game. Lily immediately falls for Nick while Budgie cautions her. On New Years Lily and Nick make a decision that could affect their future. What will happen to the both of them? How will things have changed in 1938?
    My Thoughts:
    I couldn’t say no to another Beatriz Williams novel. The story is told in two different time periods 1931 from fall forward and then the summer of 1938. The writer leaves you with enough questions to continue forward in the novel in both time periods. I thought the novel was a little slow in the beginning. It picked up pace about halfway through. The one character who stands out is Nick. I loved the way the writer crafted the character of Budgie. I found myself asking questions such as how did Nick and Budgie end up together? What is real truth in their marriage?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Brain candy

    This is the perfect light summer read. It has engrossing characters and the pacing is different, alternating between 1931 and 1937. Four stars only because it is not likely to be a classic taught in English classes, but appreciate it for the entertainment it gives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    A keeper

    Very interesting book. Characters that I cared about. Definitely will read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Anonymous

    Really enjoyed most of this book - the development of the main characters and great feel for the different eras. Spoiler alert --- I was disappointed in the latter part of the book - more family secrets thrown in than necessary I feel to still have a great story. Most of the family background/scandal involved a character who was hardly in the book , the mother of the main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Summer Reader

    I really wasn't sure if this book was going to do anything for me, but I ended up really enjoying it, great summer book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7