Customer Reviews for

A Hundred Summers

Average Rating 4.5
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I read the last 150 pages in just a  few hours.   I really just

I read the last 150 pages in just a  few hours.   I really just couldn't put this book down.  The first 2/3 of it is a book that I didn't want to finish because I was enjoying
 it so much and I didn't want the story to end.  But that last 1/3 is really fast paced.  I do...
I read the last 150 pages in just a  few hours.   I really just couldn't put this book down.  The first 2/3 of it is a book that I didn't want to finish because I was enjoying
 it so much and I didn't want the story to end.  But that last 1/3 is really fast paced.  I don't read much
historical fiction so I wasn't sure how I would like it.  I loved it.  I don't want to give any of it away.  It's a
great summer vacation book.  The story is gripping, the characters are vivid.  The story switches
seamlessly back and forth between two different time periods with each used to enrich the other.  It's
just a great story, well told and I loved the historical references.

posted by L875 on June 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A quick read!

A quick read to take to the beach.

posted by 4315464 on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    I absolutely loved this book! Just finished and I want to start

    I absolutely loved this book! Just finished and I want to start all over again. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Loved it!

    Great romantic story. I liked that it was from a different era - 1930's. This is the first time I've read anything from that time period and now I want to read more. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    A keeper

    Very interesting book. Characters that I cared about. Definitely will read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Anonymous

    Really enjoyed most of this book - the development of the main characters and great feel for the different eras. Spoiler alert --- I was disappointed in the latter part of the book - more family secrets thrown in than necessary I feel to still have a great story. Most of the family background/scandal involved a character who was hardly in the book , the mother of the main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Summer Reader

    I really wasn't sure if this book was going to do anything for me, but I ended up really enjoying it, great summer book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Enjoyed!!!!

    A real page turner!!! I really cared about the characters!! Highly recommended. Not a deep story but it just gets to the reader's heart. Another wonderful book is The Partisan by William Jarvis. Both books deserve A+++++++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Historical fict

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    Historical fiction with mystery, intrigue and quite a few twists around a few corners!  There are two story lines going on, with 7 years in between and it was different and I loved it!  Reading the story of how these friends met and got to know each other while at the same time reading them reunite and confront things from the past was so unique.

    The reader knows from the beginning that there is drama and just can't wait to get all the pieces to put the puzzle together.  Although there were a few characters that I didn't love, that didn't keep me from loving the book, it was nice to read characters that were despicable and still love the story.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Enjoyable read.

    Engrossing story line and a fun read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Enjoyable

    Enjoyable read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Thrilling

    Passionate, sexy and elegant. The characters kept of the page and filled the reader with raw emotion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    READ

    All young scientists go to "science" res one.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    Very Enjoyable

    Great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    A Hundred Summers free goodreads giveaway by Beatriz Williams is

    A Hundred Summers free goodreads giveaway by Beatriz Williams is a heartwrenching, engrossing love story.
    Lily Dane returns with her mom, dad, Aunt Julie, and her sister six year old sister Kiki to their oceanfront home in Seaview, Rhode Island in 1938. Lily is surprised to hear that her former fiance, Nick, and his wife, Budgie, her former best friend, are also spending the summer in Seaview. She has not seen Nick or Budgie in seven years and is not looking forward to seeing them again. Budgie wants to be friends again, and Nick is spending more and more time with Kiki.
    Lily finds out that Budgie married Nick for his money and blackmail to not reveal a secret. As Nick and Lily's love contiues to grow for each other, Nick approaches Budgie about a divorce. After Nick brings Budgie home from the hospital after her attempted suicide, the horrendous hurricane of 1938 hits.
    Read the suspenseful, emotional rollarcoaster recommended read A Hundred Summers and discover if Nick and Lily find their happily ever after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent writing!  I really loved this book and the era in whic

    Excellent writing!  I really loved this book and the era in which it was set! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Excellent!  This book captured my interest immediately.   The ch

    Excellent!  This book captured my interest immediately.   The characters are beautifully drawn.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    To kai um yeah

    Ella said shes lockdd out of here too but o go to result 8

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Phillip

    Stares at her bo.obs

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Cyrus

    ((Gtgtb 12:30 here.))

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    Good reading.

    A good beach book and love story, but I found it not too believable, with the exception of the storm in 1938. I think I would have enjoyed it more if it were told in sequence instead of hopping back and forth over a 6-year scan. But it kept me interested enough to keep reading until I found out what happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Very good quick read!

    I couldn't put this book down. It was an easy and exciting read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 8