BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Hundred Summers

Average Rating 4.5
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

In 1931, All the boys were crazy for Budgie Byrne. Budgie was th

In 1931, All the boys were crazy for Budgie Byrne. Budgie was the life of the party and knew how to get what she wanted by just batting her eyelashes. Lily Dane was nothing like Budgie, but the two were the best of friends since forever. Lily was used to all the attenti...
In 1931, All the boys were crazy for Budgie Byrne. Budgie was the life of the party and knew how to get what she wanted by just batting her eyelashes. Lily Dane was nothing like Budgie, but the two were the best of friends since forever. Lily was used to all the attention being on Budgie, until good looking Nick Greenwald had eyes only for Lily.




Fast forward to the summer of 1938 in Seaview, RI. Lily is summering with her 6 year old sister, mother and aunt when Mr. and Mrs. Nick and Budgie Greenwald walk back into Lily's life. Budgie wants to pick up their friendship like she hadn't just married Lily's former fiance. Lily being her sweet self goes right back to being Budgie's faithful friend. Soon Budgie's old self returns with wild parties, but she is determined to help Lily find love, too. 




As summer progresses, it's undeniable that the feelings between Nick and Lily are still very present. Before Lily can move on she needs to get to the truth behind what happened between the two of them years ago, unexpected truths emerge changing everything for the two! Just as the truth is revealed a cataclysmic hurricane falls on their beautiful summer town, bringing with it lifetime changes.




This is a beach read you need to get your hands on! I loved how the story moves forward in 1931 in one chapter and in the next chapter 1938 moves forward, so you know something has happened but you don't know what or you think you kinda do. So good! I mean you fall in love with Nick and Lily in the 1931 storyline. You can't really imagine how things could pull them apart, but you need to know! And you don't know whose fault it was that they are no longer together. I don't want to say to much more about the story, because I don't want to ruin it at all. I wish I was part of a book club cause I would love to chat about A HUNDRED SUMMERS!




I seriously loved this book! A HUNDRED SUMMERS has it all: sex, love, lies, betrayal, cover-up! If you are looking to buy a book for the beach this is the one! Highly recommend! 

posted by anovelreview_blogspot_com on May 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A quick read!

A quick read to take to the beach.

posted by 4315464 on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Good read

    The story was very enjoyable. It was true to the 1930's era.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    A good read!

    I enjoyed this book, it was timely in spite of the pre-WWII setting and describes the beach community very well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    I enjoyed this book.

    This story was pretty predictable, but I still enjoyed it. I like the way the author tells the story - it swaps back and forth forth between when Budgie and Lily were in college and 1938 when they meet up again. A good beach read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    It starts off slow and the fast forward and back throws me off a

    It starts off slow and the fast forward and back throws me off a bit but it was definitely a good summer read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    I finished this book last night and I can't stop thinking about

    I finished this book last night and I can't stop thinking about it!  I read it in 3 days-it's a real page-turner.  I think I felt the same anger, devastation, and surprise that the characters did.  It is well-written and the past to future layout is awesome.  I would recommend to anyone and everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    LOVE this book ! Reading it is like going to a beach vacation

    I really enjoy stories from another era, with believable,
    Carismatic characters. I also love that the plot outcomes are not predictable. In fact after reading foor a time,the characters and surroundings are presented so well that you can almost visualize both people and places.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    I am enjpying this story ao much that I don't want it to end!

    The characters are so real. Love the author's voice and descriptions. Am recommending it to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    A quick read!

    A quick read to take to the beach.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Anonymous

    Wow I liked it so much that i read it twice. I have never done that before. I enjoyed it just as much the second time as the first. I was affraid I had maybe missed something the first time because i read it so fast. It was hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    This was a fantastic book - LOVED IT! I could not put it down a

    This was a fantastic book - LOVED IT! I could not put it down and it was great right down to the very last page. I have recommended this book to everyone that I know. Should definitely be on everyone's reading list !!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    What a read!

    Stayed up until 2am to finish - I was hooked! Romantic, compelling, historical and beautifully written. To Ms. Williams, THANK YOU!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Waste of time.

    I read this for my book club and wish I'd just skipped it. Usually we read well-written books, but this was just silly. The characters were shallow and the ending was so predictable. I wish I hadn't purchased it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Loved this book!!

    Loved this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    As much as I loved A Hundred Summers, I loved Overseas (that is

    As much as I loved A Hundred Summers, I loved Overseas (that is the most misleading title of a book until you get half-way through) even more. Beatriz Williams is able to give her male hero a truly amazing characterization of sex and warmth that I have read with few other authors; Diana Gabaldon comes to mind (Outlanders). Ms. William’s books are truly worth the reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    This book was incredible!  It was hard to put down...So much so

    This book was incredible!  It was hard to put down...So much so that I stayed up until 3am to read the final 1/3 of the book.  I would totally recommend this book to anyone who loves a good love story (with a lot of drama)!  
    I hope they make it into a movie because I would love to see who would play these amazing characters!!!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What Happened One Summer Night in 1938? Thank you to Putnam Boo

    What Happened One Summer Night in 1938?

    Thank you to Putnam Books and Beatriz Williams for sending A Hundred Summers. This is her second novel. I am delighted to share it with you.
    Meet Budgie who is known for getting what she wants whenever she wants it. Her gal pal Lily always accompanies but steps aside for her friend. The women travel in the fall of 1931 to see Nick Greenwald and his friend Graham Pendleton at a football game. Lily immediately falls for Nick while Budgie cautions her. On New Years Lily and Nick make a decision that could affect their future. What will happen to the both of them? How will things have changed in 1938?
    My Thoughts:
    I couldn’t say no to another Beatriz Williams novel. The story is told in two different time periods 1931 from fall forward and then the summer of 1938. The writer leaves you with enough questions to continue forward in the novel in both time periods. I thought the novel was a little slow in the beginning. It picked up pace about halfway through. The one character who stands out is Nick. I loved the way the writer crafted the character of Budgie. I found myself asking questions such as how did Nick and Budgie end up together? What is real truth in their marriage?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Brain candy

    This is the perfect light summer read. It has engrossing characters and the pacing is different, alternating between 1931 and 1937. Four stars only because it is not likely to be a classic taught in English classes, but appreciate it for the entertainment it gives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars Did I enjoy this book: I did. It is a good summer

    3.5 stars




    Did I enjoy this book: I did. It is a good summer read.




    I like these types of books–historical fiction that doesn’t beat you over the head with history. A Hundred Summers took me to the 1930s, to the beach in Rhode Island, to New York City. I experienced that age with Lily and Budgie. It was a wonderful experience.




    I felt bad for Lily. For part of the book, I thought she brought it on herself. She is a bit naive. But she has a good heart. I didn’t like Budgie from the beginning. Even in the end, after finding out more about her, I still couldn’t feel bad for her. Nick was a good guy from the beginning. I really liked him. I even liked Graham. He fit his character. He was exactly as I expected.




    A Hundred Summers is a bit of a slow read. The beginning dragged a bit for me. At one point, I didn’t think I would finish it. However, once I got about 50 pages in, I was invested and wanted to see how the story ended. With that said, I was able to set the book down for a while and come back to it and finish it. Even though I wanted to see how it ended, I didn’t have to find out right away. And that it why I am giving it 3.5 stars instead of 4.




    Would I recommend it: Yes, especially if you like historical fiction. Be sure to check out our Book Club Recap about this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    I absolutely loved this book! Just finished and I want to start

    I absolutely loved this book! Just finished and I want to start all over again. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Loved it!

    Great romantic story. I liked that it was from a different era - 1930's. This is the first time I've read anything from that time period and now I want to read more. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7