Customer Reviews for

A Hundred Summers

Average Rating 4.5
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I read the last 150 pages in just a  few hours.   I really just

I read the last 150 pages in just a  few hours.   I really just couldn't put this book down.  The first 2/3 of it is a book that I didn't want to finish because I was enjoying
 it so much and I didn't want the story to end.  But that last 1/3 is really fast paced.  I do...
I read the last 150 pages in just a  few hours.   I really just couldn't put this book down.  The first 2/3 of it is a book that I didn't want to finish because I was enjoying
 it so much and I didn't want the story to end.  But that last 1/3 is really fast paced.  I don't read much
historical fiction so I wasn't sure how I would like it.  I loved it.  I don't want to give any of it away.  It's a
great summer vacation book.  The story is gripping, the characters are vivid.  The story switches
seamlessly back and forth between two different time periods with each used to enrich the other.  It's
just a great story, well told and I loved the historical references.

posted by L875 on June 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A quick read!

A quick read to take to the beach.

posted by 4315464 on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    I read the last 150 pages in just a  few hours.   I really just

    I read the last 150 pages in just a  few hours.   I really just couldn't put this book down.  The first 2/3 of it is a book that I didn't want to finish because I was enjoying
     it so much and I didn't want the story to end.  But that last 1/3 is really fast paced.  I don't read much
    historical fiction so I wasn't sure how I would like it.  I loved it.  I don't want to give any of it away.  It's a
    great summer vacation book.  The story is gripping, the characters are vivid.  The story switches
    seamlessly back and forth between two different time periods with each used to enrich the other.  It's
    just a great story, well told and I loved the historical references.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In 1931, All the boys were crazy for Budgie Byrne. Budgie was th

    In 1931, All the boys were crazy for Budgie Byrne. Budgie was the life of the party and knew how to get what she wanted by just batting her eyelashes. Lily Dane was nothing like Budgie, but the two were the best of friends since forever. Lily was used to all the attention being on Budgie, until good looking Nick Greenwald had eyes only for Lily.




    Fast forward to the summer of 1938 in Seaview, RI. Lily is summering with her 6 year old sister, mother and aunt when Mr. and Mrs. Nick and Budgie Greenwald walk back into Lily's life. Budgie wants to pick up their friendship like she hadn't just married Lily's former fiance. Lily being her sweet self goes right back to being Budgie's faithful friend. Soon Budgie's old self returns with wild parties, but she is determined to help Lily find love, too. 




    As summer progresses, it's undeniable that the feelings between Nick and Lily are still very present. Before Lily can move on she needs to get to the truth behind what happened between the two of them years ago, unexpected truths emerge changing everything for the two! Just as the truth is revealed a cataclysmic hurricane falls on their beautiful summer town, bringing with it lifetime changes.




    This is a beach read you need to get your hands on! I loved how the story moves forward in 1931 in one chapter and in the next chapter 1938 moves forward, so you know something has happened but you don't know what or you think you kinda do. So good! I mean you fall in love with Nick and Lily in the 1931 storyline. You can't really imagine how things could pull them apart, but you need to know! And you don't know whose fault it was that they are no longer together. I don't want to say to much more about the story, because I don't want to ruin it at all. I wish I was part of a book club cause I would love to chat about A HUNDRED SUMMERS!




    I seriously loved this book! A HUNDRED SUMMERS has it all: sex, love, lies, betrayal, cover-up! If you are looking to buy a book for the beach this is the one! Highly recommend! 

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Those reviewers are so wrong. This book was one of the bestbooks

    Those reviewers are so wrong. This book was one of the bestbooks I have ever read. I wish it hadn't ended. Great book. Don't waste yor money on books like Gone Girl ( stupid and crazy). Invest in this one it is worth every dime.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Best ever Beach Read! This book is amazingly well written, draw

    Best ever Beach Read! This book is amazingly well written, drawing you in and taking you for a lush, sinful ride. It's like the best dessert you've ever had, only without the calories. I fell asleep with the book in my hands at 4:00 a.m. and was back up reading it at 7:00 a.m., dying to know what would happen next. I'm so disappointed now to be finished because I want to know what happens to the characters next. Make sure you don't start this book when you don't have the time to read it all the way through or you'll be tormenting yourself. Absolutely the best book I've read in ages. Now please excuse me while I go make a gin and tonic :o)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    Great read, I could not put it down. 

    Great read, I could not put it down. 

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    This was such a great book-I could barely put it down-even read

    This was such a great book-I could barely put it down-even read it while I was trying to cook dinner! The story flip flops back and forth btwn present and past. I loved the characters. Highly recommend

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Compelling Story

    I so enjoyed reading this book. It had quite a bit of history about a hurricane in the past. I found that very interesting because I live in a location where there are hurricanes and it is quite scary. So I could empathize with the characters reactions to the hurricane. The characters were very believable and the story was compelling. I did not want to put the book down so it did not take me anytime to read. Would and have highly recommended this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Heartwarming and delightful

    What a great story! I was hooked from the start and couldn't wait for Lily's happy ending. Well written and truly captivating, this book is a must read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Beautifully written, a truly enjoyable read filled with family s

    Beautifully written, a truly enjoyable read filled with family secrets and love and plenty of warm summer sand. Your heart is constantly 
    breaking, then filled, then overjoyed. You will be in love with Lily Dane, and you won't quite know what to think of the handsome
    Nick Greenwald as you learn about their past, and delve in to their present.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Gripping

    Couldn't put this book down; the twists and turns and the goodness of the main characters give new meaning to the word nobility. The historical setting also contributed to making this one of the best summer reads ever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Great book

    A wonderful read. Every time I thought I had it figured out, I was wrong, right until the last few chapters. Good story, good characters, although there were times I wanted to shake Lily and tell her not to be quite that nice.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it -- I couldn't put it down! A great summer, beach read!

    Loved it -- I couldn't put it down! A great summer, beach read! Fabulous characters, with an intriguing story line!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    An addicting page turner

    I really enjoyed this story and I didn't think I would. For one its predictable and the chapters jump years between 1932 and 1938 but that's what makes it so addicting. You already know what happens in 1938 but have no idea how or why. As the charachters develop you get glued into their stories and can't wait to see what happens next. Its a great easy read I would reccomend to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    I finished this book last night and I can't stop thinking about

    I finished this book last night and I can't stop thinking about it!  I read it in 3 days-it's a real page-turner.  I think I felt the same anger, devastation, and surprise that the characters did.  It is well-written and the past to future layout is awesome.  I would recommend to anyone and everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    LOVE this book ! Reading it is like going to a beach vacation

    I really enjoy stories from another era, with believable,
    Carismatic characters. I also love that the plot outcomes are not predictable. In fact after reading foor a time,the characters and surroundings are presented so well that you can almost visualize both people and places.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    I am enjpying this story ao much that I don't want it to end!

    The characters are so real. Love the author's voice and descriptions. Am recommending it to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Anonymous

    Wow I liked it so much that i read it twice. I have never done that before. I enjoyed it just as much the second time as the first. I was affraid I had maybe missed something the first time because i read it so fast. It was hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    This was a fantastic book - LOVED IT! I could not put it down a

    This was a fantastic book - LOVED IT! I could not put it down and it was great right down to the very last page. I have recommended this book to everyone that I know. Should definitely be on everyone's reading list !!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    What a read!

    Stayed up until 2am to finish - I was hooked! Romantic, compelling, historical and beautifully written. To Ms. Williams, THANK YOU!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Loved this book!!

    Loved this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4