Customer Reviews for

A Husband for Margaret

Average Rating 3.5
( 2625 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(630)

4 Star

(711)

3 Star

(681)

2 Star

(301)

1 Star

(302)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Very Sweet Story

Its over a 100 pages, which is nice for a free book. The story is about a women who puts an ad in the paper for a husband in the mid 1860s. But little does she one the man coming isn't the one who wrote her but his brother, and his four sons. The whole thing is just swe...
Its over a 100 pages, which is nice for a free book. The story is about a women who puts an ad in the paper for a husband in the mid 1860s. But little does she one the man coming isn't the one who wrote her but his brother, and his four sons. The whole thing is just sweet and cute.

posted by 2180395 on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

73 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

Glad it was free!

This was supposed to take place in 1869 and the author used language spoken today--terms like "Lighten up" and "Stop bugging me". Also, the boys had a soccer ball. The term "soccer" was created in the 1880s in England. She used the word "motel" which is a hotel designed...
This was supposed to take place in 1869 and the author used language spoken today--terms like "Lighten up" and "Stop bugging me". Also, the boys had a soccer ball. The term "soccer" was created in the 1880s in England. She used the word "motel" which is a hotel designed for motorists, usually offering parking. There were no motorists or motels in 1869 Nebraska. If the author didn't do her research, there should have been someone proofreading the story. After reading this book, I have decided I should become an author. I'm certain I could a better job.

posted by 166034 on September 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2633 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 132
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Two in a row!

    Reading one horribly written book by an author is okay. But, when I read two horrible books, written at a junior high level with page after page of errors, I know another is a waste of time! If she cannot do research, she should stick to current times! I am no expert of the 1800s, but I feel like I know more than this lady! If you are going to take 15 pages to explain something, at least set the scene! This and the previous book fills page after page with sensless juvenile chatter that adds nothing to the story!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    One of the Worst...

    This is one of the worst books I've ever read. It was written in a very juvenile style. I'm surprised it has as higher than two stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    Cute follow-up to A Bride for Tom. Has one mild sex act, I don'

    Cute follow-up to A Bride for Tom. Has one mild sex act, I don't think it deserves the "R" rating. Enjoyed the build up for Margaret, Joseph and the adorable 4 boys. Loved the ending too - alittle sappy, but cute. (ljb)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Very good

    This was a very good book. Spunky characters. Had me laughing, and getting mad along with the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Nice read

    I really liked this book. Was not interested in this period before, but now wish the author wrote more stories about these characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Great book

    Great book! Would read again & again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Fun

    I am only 13 and i loved this book! Im not a chick flick kind of girl but i really enjoyec this book! I read the 1st one and couldnt stop! The second one was okat compaired to the 1st one but i stull loved it yes there was some errors but dont let those airs ruin the book, i highly recommend this book to those who likes older time books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Nice easy read!

    I travel a lot, so my Nook Tablet gets a lot of use. This was great inflight reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Bad

    Hate itcould not even read 1 chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    awful

    Bad story line and shallow ridiculous characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Not for me.

    Neither the plot nor the characters held my interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Ok

    Most high school English papers are written better. Cute premise could have been much more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Dumb

    Kept hoping it would get bettrer. Author needs to research ear ir was written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Not worth it

    Even though it's free, don't recommend it. Terrible plot, terrible writing, as so many others have written. Even short stories can have character development

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Easy read

    But crappy writing. Do not expect to be impressed. Several times as I was reading I was disgusted by how trite it was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Not worth reading

    Very little character development...no real sense of time or place. No violence or offensive language....one explicit sex scene.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Research needed

    Motel, soccer ball, and buggies? Hmmm

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Husband for Margaret

    Poorly written! I doubt any child would use the conversation she selected during that time frame or take care of Debra in that manner. Almost unbelievable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Uninteresting

    Poorlly written aand dullll

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    Awful

    Not worth my time too short and not enough romance

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2633 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 132