Customer Reviews for

A Husband for Margaret

Average Rating 3.5
( 2611 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(623)

4 Star

(707)

3 Star

(679)

2 Star

(301)

1 Star

(301)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Very Sweet Story

Its over a 100 pages, which is nice for a free book. The story is about a women who puts an ad in the paper for a husband in the mid 1860s. But little does she one the man coming isn't the one who wrote her but his brother, and his four sons. The whole thing is just swe...
Its over a 100 pages, which is nice for a free book. The story is about a women who puts an ad in the paper for a husband in the mid 1860s. But little does she one the man coming isn't the one who wrote her but his brother, and his four sons. The whole thing is just sweet and cute.

posted by 2180395 on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

72 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

Glad it was free!

This was supposed to take place in 1869 and the author used language spoken today--terms like "Lighten up" and "Stop bugging me". Also, the boys had a soccer ball. The term "soccer" was created in the 1880s in England. She used the word "motel" which is a hotel designed...
This was supposed to take place in 1869 and the author used language spoken today--terms like "Lighten up" and "Stop bugging me". Also, the boys had a soccer ball. The term "soccer" was created in the 1880s in England. She used the word "motel" which is a hotel designed for motorists, usually offering parking. There were no motorists or motels in 1869 Nebraska. If the author didn't do her research, there should have been someone proofreading the story. After reading this book, I have decided I should become an author. I'm certain I could a better job.

posted by 166034 on September 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 301 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    Awful

    Not worth my time too short and not enough romance

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    A waste of time

    Nothing interesting happen...the whole story is just about a woman that married a guy who already have four kids..a waste of time..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    Skip it

    Silly story with silly characters. Margaret marries a man with 4 kids & is then hounded by a wench of a woman who feels shes entitled to be his bride. Written in such a simplistic manner to be almost insulting to the reader!
    Come on already...free shouldnt equate to stupid

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    even free, it was a waste

    This book was a mess. I don't think author bothered to physically describe her heroine, so you read the book without knowing what the poor thing looked like. The dialogue was stilted there were a TON of anachronisms (language, playing soccer in America in the 1800s) which made it a distracting read. The love story was just weird - sure the exchange of letters may lead to love, but the guy who showed up for the letter-writing lady was the letter-writing man's brother. Too much going on and too many distractions made the free price tag not even worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    Don't waste your time

    This was a really stupid story. The story line was so unbelievable that it was almost funny. Don't waste your time reading this book, even if it IS free.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    One star is too much. This is a waste of time. Good grief, if

    One star is too much. This is a waste of time. Good grief, if you are going to write,Ruth Ann Nordin, DO YOUR HOMEWORK.
    Re: where to stay when the man came to town. Motel = motor hotel. It is a type of hotel developed after there were cars. It was meant for a motorist to be able to pull right up to their door. A hotel has doors inside, facing interior hallways. There were no “Motels” in 1869. Give me a break!

    Re: playing in the park. Rubber balls were just being invented by 1869. Soccer was only just played in the USA for the first time in 1869, between Rutgers and Princeton. I seriously doubt that a girl in Omaha in 1869 would know what a soccer ball even was, much less that a 7 year old boy owned one!

    Boys might have played with marbles or tops. The older boy could have whittled whistles or small toys himself, because by age 7 a boy might have had a jack-knife. They could have made their own kite or played with a ball made of cloth. They might have played with a hoop. I couldn't take any more and gave up after the park episode

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Ugh

    Terrible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Disgusting!

    I give this book no stars. Started out well and turned into total filth! I would not recommend this book to anybody!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    R.

    Bby vv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    To "Shut Up"

    And if we do know best? This book was pretty good until the author had to go into sex stuff. It was ridiculus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    This book was awful!

    I did not enjoy this book at all, there was some missing points in this story. If this story took place in the 1800's then why would the author use modern words it is clear that the author did not know what she was doing when she was writing this story or at least get a better editor. I could have written a better story... just saying!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Don't bother

    Other than the sex thrown into the middle of the book, this seems to have been written on a level for a ten year old with a plot to match.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Lacking

    A sweet story, but completely unbelievable. So predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Sexual content not appropriate for this story

    While the idea for the story was cute and I was looking forward to reading this, I was quickly disappointed. While I might have been able to overlook the lack of research and knowledge of proper historical terminology of the era the author was attempting and attribute it to inexperience, I cannot overlook the completely inappropriate use of sexual content in a story like this. The author needs to decide what type of story she is writing. Historical fiction-romance fans are reading the story for the history and romance and NOT for explicit sex. If I wanted that I could pick up any one of a million slut books available on the market. Skip the details of their sex and you will find you can make it a whole lot more romantic! I deleted this book from my Nook, glad I didn't pay for it. I will only consider even free books by this author if I find from other reviewers she's cleaned up her stories. Choose what type of books you want to write and then work at it, I think the potential is there. Don't be just another person writing about sex-that takes no skill but writing to engage the reader and make them feel they are in the time the book is supposed to be about -that is a skill worth striving for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Was it 1868 or 2010??

    It's good that this was free. It could have been a good story if I wasn't distracted by references to things from the wrong century. It wasn't as bad in A Bride for Tom other than the names but this one was terrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    I would have given this no star! It started out okay, and then t

    I would have given this no star! It started out okay, and then the
    author threw in quite detailed sexuality! I read books to my daughter!
    Definitely NOT something I want to be reading to her!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Awful

    I thought this was goin to be a good book since i really enjoyed a bride for tom but this one had unappropriate stuff in here...not appropriate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    not worth an adult's time

    This book is not very good. It is written in a easy-to-read way just like A Bride for Tom, which is fine. The story line is simple. It feels like a junior high girl wrote this as a fairy tale/fantasy story. The sex section was just silly. My expectations were low already, as the book was free, but it was still disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    I agree with the person who said shut up!!!

    That is so stupid that people should say such mean things to other people. Can't there be any peace in this world???????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    It's hilarious! Not by intention, but simply because of the glar

    It's hilarious! Not by intention, but simply because of the glaring errors. Really? They had motels in 1869? That's as bad as the one where someone brought hamburgers and hotdogs to a small town picnic, maybe two years after the frankfurter was first introduced at the world's fair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 301 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 16