Customer Reviews for

A Husband for Margaret

Average Rating 3.5
( 2623 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(629)

4 Star

(712)

3 Star

(680)

2 Star

(300)

1 Star

(302)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Very Sweet Story

Its over a 100 pages, which is nice for a free book. The story is about a women who puts an ad in the paper for a husband in the mid 1860s. But little does she one the man coming isn't the one who wrote her but his brother, and his four sons. The whole thing is just swe...
Its over a 100 pages, which is nice for a free book. The story is about a women who puts an ad in the paper for a husband in the mid 1860s. But little does she one the man coming isn't the one who wrote her but his brother, and his four sons. The whole thing is just sweet and cute.

posted by 2180395 on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

73 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

Glad it was free!

This was supposed to take place in 1869 and the author used language spoken today--terms like "Lighten up" and "Stop bugging me". Also, the boys had a soccer ball. The term "soccer" was created in the 1880s in England. She used the word "motel" which is a hotel designed...
This was supposed to take place in 1869 and the author used language spoken today--terms like "Lighten up" and "Stop bugging me". Also, the boys had a soccer ball. The term "soccer" was created in the 1880s in England. She used the word "motel" which is a hotel designed for motorists, usually offering parking. There were no motorists or motels in 1869 Nebraska. If the author didn't do her research, there should have been someone proofreading the story. After reading this book, I have decided I should become an author. I'm certain I could a better job.

posted by 166034 on September 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    Too many directions, and not enough research.

    This is billed as a romance novel. However, it ends up being 'Whiny turned Plucky Margaret saves her family.' Is it a romance? Is it women's fiction? Is it the tale of a woman thrust into multiple motherhood and how she survives? Is it the tale of how to bless your enemies? Well, yes and no to all of these. The author tried hard, but had too many plotlines for one novella, so nothing was logically and satisfactorily tied up, but nothing was really left hanging either. The whole story was just about an inch deep. There were several areas where the story could really have become terrific, but then another plot twist was thrown at me, and the first one was left, not dangling, but not satisfactorily resolved, either. Just kind of, "well, it turned out okay, but this is now more important..."

    Also, a couple of glaring anachronisms were in there. I don't believe that a poor 1869 farm family would have heard of soccer, much less owned a soccer ball. I don't believe that 'pep talks' were referred to as such in that time and place. Plus, weekly shopping at the 'mercantile'? Why didn't she just say 'grocery store', and move the setting to the 50s?

    All in all, it was a reasonable read. I hope it was a first effort. Otherwise, don't let this author quit her day job.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute, okay for quick light read

    This book was an easy read. Great for killing time. Okay.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    Not Impressed

    Overall a horrible read. Ridiculous plot line, no depth of characters...It read like it had been written by a child, with no vivid desciptions and only the most superficial insights about character's personalities. The only good things about it are that it was free and not too trashy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    out of date

    this book was sometimes amusing, hence the reason i read the whole thing, but it portrays a period of time when marriage was more like a business, and i was thrown off too much to take it seriously. in the end, it's a short little story about about a young woman's experience marrying, and that's about it. nothing adventurous whatsoever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Little boring...but,

    Nice story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Very well written but boring

    The female lead rambled a lot, and we never got to know the characters. It however was a cute story.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    It is cute

    I enjoyed this short story. It was cute and funny. Yes it was not accurate in some of the language used, however it was a nice read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Boring read

    The storyline was bland and could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    EH

    This book was just ok to me. I feel like the title was a bit misleading. I expected the story to focus on the two main characters falling in love. Instead its about how to get rid of the wife wannabe. It wasnt terrible...but i wont reread it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    A Husband For Margaret

    Very predictable. Could not tell if author was in the 19th or 21st century. An easy read, although not a particularly good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Sex scene

    It was way to much for this book. Its is suppost to be an easy clean book but i fell that the author pushed to hard for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Good read, 274 pages

    Good, not great. Story moves along in fits & starts, and WAY too much current-day phraseology for a story set in the late 1800's. Someone previously mentioned the kids in the story played soccer, at a time when soccer simply didn't exist, at least, not in America. Good point, but that hardly bothered me near as much as the wording issues. Seriously, all she had to do was read Tom Sawyer & Huck Finn to get an idea of how people actually talked back then.

    That being said, it is still a good story. Definitely better than the old magazines in any doctor's waiting room.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Not bad

    Cute story and a bit fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    An OK Read

    I'm not sure if this was Ms. Nordin's first book, but the story appeared to be from a novice writer. Occasionally, the story felt disjointed or as if some small thing was missing. I found some things to be slightly unbelievable which may be what left me with the impression of the book being a bit immature. Overall, the premise was a good one and I always like a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Ok

    Husband for Margrat was overall an ok book. It was an easy read, an the storyline was mediocre at best. Now for the bad, Margrat is a woman who has to post an ad for a husband because she is of ripe marital age and no man in her town has popped the question. My biggest problem with her is that for a good quarter of the begininng of the book is spent with her complaining and lack of self confidence. I could understand that her being unable to marry anyone in her town has slowly destroyed her self confidence but to read about for the first 50 pages takes the fun out of reading the rest of the story. My second critic, which isn't as bad as the first, is that for the setting to be taken place in 1869 the dilect is slightly modern. I've plenty of books where the setting of the story is in the mid 19th centrury, and they pull the setting and the conversations between characters off very well. Just one nit pickey thought to go along woth the thought is that in the book the eldest son Doug has a soccer ball, to remind you it is 1869 and soccer wasn't invinted until 1889. To rap this up, overall this book was ok it was slow picking up but it did have its funny moments toward the end. My suggestion, if you're just looking for a quick read and a partially annoying but quarky protaganist this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Poorly Written

    I see the potential in the stories but it is poorly written, not engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    OK

    It was OK but nothing special

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    recommend

    This was a cute story but far and away too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    not as good as the first.

    I liked the idea of the story but it was not well put together. I think it is rather disjointed. I don't think soccer was an American sport in this time period. Seems like she got to the point of her story in 3 chapters then had to add filler just to make it a whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Could've been better

    Lots of potential, but it fell flat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15