Customer Reviews for

A Husband for Margaret

Average Rating 3.5
( 2609 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(622)

4 Star

(708)

3 Star

(678)

2 Star

(300)

1 Star

(301)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Very Sweet Story

Its over a 100 pages, which is nice for a free book. The story is about a women who puts an ad in the paper for a husband in the mid 1860s. But little does she one the man coming isn't the one who wrote her but his brother, and his four sons. The whole thing is just swe...
Its over a 100 pages, which is nice for a free book. The story is about a women who puts an ad in the paper for a husband in the mid 1860s. But little does she one the man coming isn't the one who wrote her but his brother, and his four sons. The whole thing is just sweet and cute.

posted by 2180395 on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

72 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

Glad it was free!

This was supposed to take place in 1869 and the author used language spoken today--terms like "Lighten up" and "Stop bugging me". Also, the boys had a soccer ball. The term "soccer" was created in the 1880s in England. She used the word "motel" which is a hotel designed...
This was supposed to take place in 1869 and the author used language spoken today--terms like "Lighten up" and "Stop bugging me". Also, the boys had a soccer ball. The term "soccer" was created in the 1880s in England. She used the word "motel" which is a hotel designed for motorists, usually offering parking. There were no motorists or motels in 1869 Nebraska. If the author didn't do her research, there should have been someone proofreading the story. After reading this book, I have decided I should become an author. I'm certain I could a better job.

posted by 166034 on September 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 708 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 36
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Fun story!

    This was a quick read for me...a sweet story of friends, small towns and a love story of course. Definitely recommend but make sure you read a wife for Tom first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    I really like it. Never thought it will be this funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    I really enjoyed this sweet story. Although, this one and the o

    I really enjoyed this sweet story. Although, this one and the one before, "A Bride for Tom," I would have thought had taken place in the early 1900's instead of 1869 like she said. Needless to say, I really enjoyed reading this and was pleasantly surprised that the only sex scene was a modest one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I loved the book. It was not quite what i was expecting. I love everything about this book. Loved the ending. I did wish that their was more. Just like the person ahead of me said. It does have some sexual activity for those young readers that are reading this. Although its not in great detail, it does have some. I loved how the book went on in their marriage and said how they ended up together as a family. I dont want to spoil anything, so i wont say anything else. Im just saying that it was an amazing book. Hope you enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Good read

    I actually enjoyed Margarets story more than i did Jessicas.
    This was a real cute and funny book. Glad i read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    I agree some terms were out of context but I liked the story and

    I agree some terms were out of context but I liked the story and building of the relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Fun, easy read

    There is some mature content in here BUT nothing your kids havent seen on TV. Very enjoyable and follows "a bride for Tom".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Sweet story

    A good quick read. Would read others from this author. Four boys can get into a lot of mischief...would be great to have read more of that between new mom w/the four boys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Good book

    2nd book in the series, cant wait to read the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Loved it!

    Really good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    For a free book-it was a good read!

    For a free book-it was a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Not bad

    Not bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Good book

    I really enjoyed the book. In my opinion it was good and I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    I enjoyed the book.

    I enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Sweet and light

    This is a swwet little story like the one before it. Maybe not completely historically accurate, but a quick enjoyable read and its free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Recommend it

    I really like this book. It was set back in pioneer days and was just a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    love it

    love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Good book for falling asleep

    Very predictable. If I had taken it from the library, I would not have bothered to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Cute story

    I liked it very much. Cute story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    great book

    I love a good love story,did not want to put it down. A woman who puts a mail order husband out and thinks she will get a man of her dreams but gets much more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 708 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 36