Customer Reviews for

A Husband for Margaret

Average Rating 3.5
( 2609 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(622)

4 Star

(708)

3 Star

(678)

2 Star

(300)

1 Star

(301)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Very Sweet Story

Its over a 100 pages, which is nice for a free book. The story is about a women who puts an ad in the paper for a husband in the mid 1860s. But little does she one the man coming isn't the one who wrote her but his brother, and his four sons. The whole thing is just swe...
Its over a 100 pages, which is nice for a free book. The story is about a women who puts an ad in the paper for a husband in the mid 1860s. But little does she one the man coming isn't the one who wrote her but his brother, and his four sons. The whole thing is just sweet and cute.

posted by 2180395 on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

72 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

Glad it was free!

This was supposed to take place in 1869 and the author used language spoken today--terms like "Lighten up" and "Stop bugging me". Also, the boys had a soccer ball. The term "soccer" was created in the 1880s in England. She used the word "motel" which is a hotel designed...
This was supposed to take place in 1869 and the author used language spoken today--terms like "Lighten up" and "Stop bugging me". Also, the boys had a soccer ball. The term "soccer" was created in the 1880s in England. She used the word "motel" which is a hotel designed for motorists, usually offering parking. There were no motorists or motels in 1869 Nebraska. If the author didn't do her research, there should have been someone proofreading the story. After reading this book, I have decided I should become an author. I'm certain I could a better job.

posted by 166034 on September 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 622 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Cute

    I think that this is a very short, sweet novella. I liked having something to read during my lunch hour that was not heavy and dramatic, but light and fun.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Awesomse

    Even though it a short story its very sweet how her life comes out to be and how lucky to find a great husband with kids that help her all the way

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Best. Book. Ever.

    This book was amazing i couldnt put it down once i started reading!!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Wellll

    Ok some ppl say this is not a good book and the ppl tht say tht are kinda wrong. I really enjoyed this book. It was very sweet and includes sex so young kuds should read unless mature. Im 12 and read this and just skiped over the sex scenes aand continued the story

    Ok but the didnt do research and she kinda acted imacure but other than tht great book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    I recommend to any christian who loves romances

    I really enjoyed this book . This author brings true love and faith into romance novels .All of her sex scenes are with in a marriage. Since reading this book i have purchased 13 more of her stories many of which go together . This was the first one of her stories I read but I suggest reading A Bride for Tom first it tells you where she got the idea of putting an ad in the paper for a husband. I promise Ruth Ann Nordin's books only continue to get better and i plan on reading them all.I feel this author has helped me renew some of my faith and made me feel closer to God without being preachy in any way.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Very good

    This was a very good book. Spunky characters. Had me laughing, and getting mad along with the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Great book

    Great book! Would read again & again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Nice easy read!

    I travel a lot, so my Nook Tablet gets a lot of use. This was great inflight reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Wonderful

    Another great book. I loved it. J.... :-@

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Venus lol

    I realy like ttthiiis book you rock lol:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Great

    I do not know much abt the 1800s but i dnt think they had motels like joseph mentioned...i mean i could be wrong. Otherwise its a really good book. A great follow up from "a bride for tom" definately consider reading these two books...really eady reads. I read the first one in two or three days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Recommend

    I really enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    amazin

    Really good books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Hilarious crazy short story!

    Romance comedy, what more do you want in a book! Fell in love with A Bride For Tom I was so happy Ruth didn't forget about Margaret! Loved this book highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Very good book must read

    A very good book once again I love reading them keep them coming Ruth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Good read...

    Loved this story......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    This iss awesome

    O my goodness this was one of the best book i have ever read.It was heartwarming and fun it was funny and there was a super good romance part in chapter 7loved it so much it is a must read and if you want it to make more sence than read the first book befor this a bride for tom and that is also a mind blower it is about a cowboy who is really really clubsey around wwoman and n when you see him on the ranch with his family and friends he is a very nice person this iis oneof the best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best book that i have ever read this is a must read book. READ IT They are both free
    1. A bride for tom
    2. A husband for margret
    Both free typ in those titles or just type in free books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    A story that holds your attention!

    I have enjoyed all of Ruth Ann Nordin's book's including this one. Well worth the time to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Cute story, but-----

    The lack of appropriate use of wording for this period in time was really missing in this book. I also do not, personally, appreciate the inclusion of such explicit sex in the books I read. Ms. Nordin seems to feel that it is a must in her books , therefore I do not think I will be reading any more of her works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    It is great.

    Have read other books by this author. Liked them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 622 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32