Customer Reviews for

"A" Is for Alibi (Kinsey Millhone Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 408 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great Ending/Page Turner

I am finishing this on the first day of 2011. This book was written in 1982 and it is nice to read something that is modern, but before the convenience of cellphones. I am planning to continue with the series and I am interested how Kinsey Millhone will age. Right now ...
I am finishing this on the first day of 2011. This book was written in 1982 and it is nice to read something that is modern, but before the convenience of cellphones. I am planning to continue with the series and I am interested how Kinsey Millhone will age. Right now she is in the era of answering services (Google it) and $19.99 hotels. You have to read the book as a period piece if you are young.
It is a really great mystery that had a lot of red herrings. I was fooled more than once. There's one suspect telling complete lies, a few not "telling the whole truth", and a witness not willing to tell what they saw. Kinsey has to sift though all that. I'm like a sponge believing all the half-truths and only thinking I knew the murderer by almost halfway through. I was way wrong. The fourth line of the book, Grafton tells you she shot someone and the rest of the book is what lead up to it. Make sure your sitting down when you read the ending.

posted by bravewarrior on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Exciting..at the end

It seemed like forever before the book became a "page turner". Also, too many characters to keep straight.

posted by Anonymous on November 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 410 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Ending/Page Turner

    I am finishing this on the first day of 2011. This book was written in 1982 and it is nice to read something that is modern, but before the convenience of cellphones. I am planning to continue with the series and I am interested how Kinsey Millhone will age. Right now she is in the era of answering services (Google it) and $19.99 hotels. You have to read the book as a period piece if you are young.
    It is a really great mystery that had a lot of red herrings. I was fooled more than once. There's one suspect telling complete lies, a few not "telling the whole truth", and a witness not willing to tell what they saw. Kinsey has to sift though all that. I'm like a sponge believing all the half-truths and only thinking I knew the murderer by almost halfway through. I was way wrong. The fourth line of the book, Grafton tells you she shot someone and the rest of the book is what lead up to it. Make sure your sitting down when you read the ending.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Well worth the read!

    I purchased this book on a whim. I didn't have a lot of expectations, just wanted a quick read for the airport. Needless to say I devoured this book and quickly started on the next. Before I was halfway through the next I had already purchased C, D, E and F. I am not always fond of female lead characters, maybe because they are not always portrayed in a favorable light. But Kinsey could be me or one of my sisters or friends. I am definitely glad that I followed that whim because it lead me to a great character and some great reading.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A is for astounding!!!

    "My name is Kinsey Millhone. I'm a private investigator, licensed by the state of California, I'm thirty-two years old, twice divorced, no kids. I don't have pets, I don't have houseplants I spent a lot of time on the road and I don't like leaving things behind. Aside from the dangers of my profession my life has always been ordinary, uneventful and good. I meet most people in the course of my work, and if I can't get emotionally involved there, then where else can I go? P.I. is my whole life, most of the time I'm alone, but why not? I'm not unhappy and I'm not discontented" K. Millhone.
    A is for Alibi, A is for astounding!
    In the first installation of the Millhone franchise, Grafton sets the tone at its highest for what is to be one of the few mystery series that has aged well for almost three decades.
    In A is for Alibi, P.I. Kinsey Millhone's character takes a life of her own, and connects with the readers in the first paragraph. Grafton does a brilliant job developing Kinsey as a main character of this story, and in the process she manages to create all the secondary characters: Libby Glass, Charlie Scorsoni, Gwen Fife, Sharon Napier, Lyle Abernathy and Marcia Threadgill among others that give this novel the esense to make it original and likable.

    In the first installment, Grafton's first attempt to captivate readers is a triumph, the plot is simple, Nikki Fife was convicted of killing her husband eight years ago, now on parole she hires P.I. Kinsey Millhone to find the real killer. And as Kinsey brainstorms to find the killer it becomes more difficult than she tough it was " From the first, this has been a case where motive and alibi where oddidly overlapped. Alibi: An account of the suspect's whereabouts at the time a crime has been committed and is offered up as a proof of innocence. But here it didn't matter where anyone was, it only matter if someone had a REASON to have someone else dead, access to the victim and intent to kill" A is for Alibi is a journey that takes Kinsey to cross path with a genuine cast of characters and showcases Grafton's magnificent writing style and originality for her novels.

    Having taken place in the early eighties and introducing Kinsey, investigating a cold case murder, overlapped with an insurance fraud claim makes her job more difficult, but Graftons is at ease in her efortless writing. As a result, Kinsey shines throughout the whole story.
    A is for Alibi is great because it just doesn't introduce a great character, Kinsey Millhone, but also welcomes Grafton's series of novels as a writer. In the Millhone's series opening act- Grafton- "looks at society, murderers, and those who commit minor crimes whose motivation is less, but all beyond greed. The new standards of morality and how we judge people based on them, and most important, the notion of justice that justifies the need for revenge and payment of old debts."
    A is for Albi is written in a simple tone, yet Grafton takes nothing for granted, a page turner. Great story, well written plot with twists, turns and an exceptional and shocking ending.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    really liked this book. this was my first book by Sue Grafton. It was different than the other books I've read before, but great nonetheless

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    New to the mystery book series

    And Sue Grafton's series as well as a few other authors were recommended as good reads for getting started. I agree with the positive folks on here in saying that her detail to the detective work is well done and if some of the reporting is unrealistic well it is fiction. Another book is more on the financial side of mysterious but it's a book called Deadly Portfolio: A Killing in Hedge Funds by Jon J. Hohn. Just like Grafton the pages turn and the stories behind the people and blending of families is fabulous. So far I'm enjoying this genre.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Very good book

    I can't believe I have never read any of Sue Grafton's books. Kept you guessing until the end. I will be reading more of her books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Exciting..at the end

    It seemed like forever before the book became a "page turner". Also, too many characters to keep straight.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Enjoyable Book

    The first quarter of the book was a bit boring in my opinion. I felt the author spent too much time and space describing little unimportant things. After that it picked up and was very interesting. I suspected every character was the murderer and had no idea who it really was until the end, which I loved by the way. I even started enjoying the way she described everything. I was very anxious at the end. Also I started comparing the main character to myself. The characters were well depicted, though I have to admit I had a little trouble remembering who certain characters were, but I think that was just because there were a lot of characters. In the end, I very much enjoyed it and I would recommend it to anyone who likes the genre. I look forward to reading the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    Read this years ago and enjoyed it just as much this time. A gr

    Read this years ago and enjoyed it just as much this time. A great mystery with an ending that took me by surprise. Set in the 1980's. Refreshing look at a time before cell phones or other high-tech devices. Great character development. As with all mysteries, she tends to refer to characters by either just their first or last name. This can get a bit confusing unless you pay close attention to the full name of each character as it is introduced. Sue Grafton incorporates a bit of humor into her stories which helps keep a balance between the light and dark aspects of the story. I've read every book in Kinsey Milhone series and it's definitely worth the read. Many of the characters are in the follow-up stories as well. When you begin reading each subsequent book in this series, you feel as if you're visiting old friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    Happy I was able to delve into this series at "A"! Now, I'm up to and very happy with "D"!

    I plan to read the entire series. The "Lady Detective" hero is believable and interesting. Plenty of gum-shoe endeavor that helps me stay in step and kind of solve the mystery along with her. I admit to formerly having hang-ups with a "female" perspective. That's not evident at all with kinsey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Interesting, easy read, somewhat dated, simplistic story line

    It's just ok

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    Sue grafton

    This is great book. Sue Grafton is great at puttiing in great details to keep story flowing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    fine book

    1st I've read in the series. Liked it can't wait to get to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Good book

    Inspired me to keep reading the next letter book. Just about ready to finish the D book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Good Read!

    This was a most entertaining story with enough twists and turns to keep you guessing as to who committed a murder. It was a real bonus to have it done with quite a sense of humor. I always looked forward to my time of day to sit down and find out "whodunit"!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    I finally diod it.

    Sue Grafton. I have been seeing her books since the beginning but somehow never picked one up...always curious to see whether they were THAT good or not. I guess i was determined to start with the first one...but i always saw the next in the series over the years. I am a bit of an invalid, so there is that too. BUT, thanks to my NOOK! I found this book and now I've read it and am completely satisfied. It was fun to read and I liked Kinsey pretty well, altho i dont completely understand her yet. Onto "B is for..."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    A is for Alibi

    I've enjoyed Sue Grafton books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Great book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    OK

    Moves along okay - I am only about 80 pages in to it right now - don't get too much chance to read. Nook is very convenient to carry around though. Story line ok, though nothing spectacular.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    I am a pretty fast reader so when I find a book I enjoy, I usual

    I am a pretty fast reader so when I find a book I enjoy, I usually read several books by the author. The Kinsey Millhone mysteries are no exception and with a whole alpahbet to read through, I have plenty to look forward to. Can't wait to find out what Kinsey gets into next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 410 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21