Customer Reviews for

"A" Is for Alibi (Kinsey Millhone Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 413 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(100)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great Ending/Page Turner

I am finishing this on the first day of 2011. This book was written in 1982 and it is nice to read something that is modern, but before the convenience of cellphones. I am planning to continue with the series and I am interested how Kinsey Millhone will age. Right now ...
I am finishing this on the first day of 2011. This book was written in 1982 and it is nice to read something that is modern, but before the convenience of cellphones. I am planning to continue with the series and I am interested how Kinsey Millhone will age. Right now she is in the era of answering services (Google it) and $19.99 hotels. You have to read the book as a period piece if you are young.
It is a really great mystery that had a lot of red herrings. I was fooled more than once. There's one suspect telling complete lies, a few not "telling the whole truth", and a witness not willing to tell what they saw. Kinsey has to sift though all that. I'm like a sponge believing all the half-truths and only thinking I knew the murderer by almost halfway through. I was way wrong. The fourth line of the book, Grafton tells you she shot someone and the rest of the book is what lead up to it. Make sure your sitting down when you read the ending.

posted by bravewarrior on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Exciting..at the end

It seemed like forever before the book became a "page turner". Also, too many characters to keep straight.

posted by Anonymous on November 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Exciting..at the end

    It seemed like forever before the book became a "page turner". Also, too many characters to keep straight.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    Happy I was able to delve into this series at "A"! Now, I'm up to and very happy with "D"!

    I plan to read the entire series. The "Lady Detective" hero is believable and interesting. Plenty of gum-shoe endeavor that helps me stay in step and kind of solve the mystery along with her. I admit to formerly having hang-ups with a "female" perspective. That's not evident at all with kinsey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Interesting, easy read, somewhat dated, simplistic story line

    It's just ok

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    OK

    Moves along okay - I am only about 80 pages in to it right now - don't get too much chance to read. Nook is very convenient to carry around though. Story line ok, though nothing spectacular.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Interesting

    A is For Alibi is the first book in the alphabet series. The writing is a bit manufactured but the characters are interesting. Don't give up and continue with the series in hopes that it improves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    This was better than some of the later ones, but every time I re

    This was better than some of the later ones, but every time I read one of these I think--what's so great?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Nice read for an afternoon.

    I wish the main PI character, Kinsey Milhone, wasn't quite the swear girl. I do like the way she does her investigations and you can try and puzzle the pieces right along with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Ok read/End was very rushed

    With all the hype with this series I decided to give it a try. It was an ok read, but didn't leave me wanting to pick up the next book in the series. The plot was predictable at times and the ending was out of nowhere. It's like the author got bored and just wanted to end the book. Although the book was entertaining it definitely isn't one of those books you recommend to friends as a must read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It wasn't bad

    A tough-talking former cop, private investigator Kinsey Millhone has set up a modest detective agency in a quiet corner of Santa Teresa, California. A twice-divorced loner with few personal possessions and fewer personal attachments, she’s got a soft spot for underdogs and lost causes.

    Eight years ago, Nikki Fife was convicted of killing her philandering husband. Now she’s out on parole and needs Kinsey’s help to find the real killer.

    If there's one thing that makes Kinsey feel alive, it's playing on the edge. When her investigation turns up a second corpse, more suspects, and a new reason to kill, Kinsey discovers that the edge is closer—and sharper—than she imagined.

    This wasn't too bad. It was interesting to read it since it takes place back in the 80's before cell phones, computers, and PDA's, but it wasn't bad. I wish we could get to know Kinsey a little better. I had a hard time getting a feel for who she was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    OK read

    Somewhat dated (mainly pointed out by the lack of technology) but still a pretty good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Its an ok read

    It seemed to be over detailed at times and quite confusing keeping all the charcters in place. Plus the ending was very abrupt and came out of no where. Felt very rushed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Ehh

    Ended up not hating it as much as I did in the beginning. Will not read anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Hmmm...

    Cant wait to read it! The only reason i didntrate i higher is cuz i have¿t r¿ad ¿t yet.
    Y

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Other Reviews says its better then what it Really Is.....

    I only give the book a no. 3 and some of her other books a no.2. Cause, as a reader, she the author does'nt have tact I don't think that she the author has to use so much fowl language in her books. She does good on the endings of her books. But the other stuff that is in between is not proper for me as a reader. The only mystery books I will normally read is Agathie Christie Mrs Marple and Poiret. I thought I would try a newer Author and I got disapointed I will keep on reading Agathie Christie over and over.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    Dolores ,15

    A is for Alibi is a great novel that is recommeneded to adults as well as teens. I was a little disappointed at who killed Mr. Fife, but excited in the ending chapters when I realized who the biggest murderer was. To me mystery novels are great because you get to make your own assumptions of who killed who and it turns out that my assumption was right on target. JUST READ THE BOOK!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2000

    'A' is for Average Read

    ''A' is for Alibi' by title leads the reader to imagine false alibis hidden amidst dark secrets. This book, however, does not live up to the expectations. Grafton attempts to distract the reader with subplots and false fronts, but these predictable tactics need little figuring out. Grafton does, however, shine in her development of main character Kinsey Millhone whom the reader will most certainly adore for her quick wit and sharp senses. This character may persuade me to make it through B and possibly C, but I won't be holding my breath as Grafton finishes up the rest of the alphabet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5