Customer Reviews for

"A" Is for Alibi (Kinsey Millhone Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 409 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great Ending/Page Turner

I am finishing this on the first day of 2011. This book was written in 1982 and it is nice to read something that is modern, but before the convenience of cellphones. I am planning to continue with the series and I am interested how Kinsey Millhone will age. Right now ...
I am finishing this on the first day of 2011. This book was written in 1982 and it is nice to read something that is modern, but before the convenience of cellphones. I am planning to continue with the series and I am interested how Kinsey Millhone will age. Right now she is in the era of answering services (Google it) and $19.99 hotels. You have to read the book as a period piece if you are young.
It is a really great mystery that had a lot of red herrings. I was fooled more than once. There's one suspect telling complete lies, a few not "telling the whole truth", and a witness not willing to tell what they saw. Kinsey has to sift though all that. I'm like a sponge believing all the half-truths and only thinking I knew the murderer by almost halfway through. I was way wrong. The fourth line of the book, Grafton tells you she shot someone and the rest of the book is what lead up to it. Make sure your sitting down when you read the ending.

posted by bravewarrior on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Exciting..at the end

It seemed like forever before the book became a "page turner". Also, too many characters to keep straight.

posted by Anonymous on November 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Well worth the read!

    I purchased this book on a whim. I didn't have a lot of expectations, just wanted a quick read for the airport. Needless to say I devoured this book and quickly started on the next. Before I was halfway through the next I had already purchased C, D, E and F. I am not always fond of female lead characters, maybe because they are not always portrayed in a favorable light. But Kinsey could be me or one of my sisters or friends. I am definitely glad that I followed that whim because it lead me to a great character and some great reading.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A is for astounding!!!

    "My name is Kinsey Millhone. I'm a private investigator, licensed by the state of California, I'm thirty-two years old, twice divorced, no kids. I don't have pets, I don't have houseplants I spent a lot of time on the road and I don't like leaving things behind. Aside from the dangers of my profession my life has always been ordinary, uneventful and good. I meet most people in the course of my work, and if I can't get emotionally involved there, then where else can I go? P.I. is my whole life, most of the time I'm alone, but why not? I'm not unhappy and I'm not discontented" K. Millhone.
    A is for Alibi, A is for astounding!
    In the first installation of the Millhone franchise, Grafton sets the tone at its highest for what is to be one of the few mystery series that has aged well for almost three decades.
    In A is for Alibi, P.I. Kinsey Millhone's character takes a life of her own, and connects with the readers in the first paragraph. Grafton does a brilliant job developing Kinsey as a main character of this story, and in the process she manages to create all the secondary characters: Libby Glass, Charlie Scorsoni, Gwen Fife, Sharon Napier, Lyle Abernathy and Marcia Threadgill among others that give this novel the esense to make it original and likable.

    In the first installment, Grafton's first attempt to captivate readers is a triumph, the plot is simple, Nikki Fife was convicted of killing her husband eight years ago, now on parole she hires P.I. Kinsey Millhone to find the real killer. And as Kinsey brainstorms to find the killer it becomes more difficult than she tough it was " From the first, this has been a case where motive and alibi where oddidly overlapped. Alibi: An account of the suspect's whereabouts at the time a crime has been committed and is offered up as a proof of innocence. But here it didn't matter where anyone was, it only matter if someone had a REASON to have someone else dead, access to the victim and intent to kill" A is for Alibi is a journey that takes Kinsey to cross path with a genuine cast of characters and showcases Grafton's magnificent writing style and originality for her novels.

    Having taken place in the early eighties and introducing Kinsey, investigating a cold case murder, overlapped with an insurance fraud claim makes her job more difficult, but Graftons is at ease in her efortless writing. As a result, Kinsey shines throughout the whole story.
    A is for Alibi is great because it just doesn't introduce a great character, Kinsey Millhone, but also welcomes Grafton's series of novels as a writer. In the Millhone's series opening act- Grafton- "looks at society, murderers, and those who commit minor crimes whose motivation is less, but all beyond greed. The new standards of morality and how we judge people based on them, and most important, the notion of justice that justifies the need for revenge and payment of old debts."
    A is for Albi is written in a simple tone, yet Grafton takes nothing for granted, a page turner. Great story, well written plot with twists, turns and an exceptional and shocking ending.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    really liked this book. this was my first book by Sue Grafton. It was different than the other books I've read before, but great nonetheless

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    Read this years ago and enjoyed it just as much this time. A gr

    Read this years ago and enjoyed it just as much this time. A great mystery with an ending that took me by surprise. Set in the 1980's. Refreshing look at a time before cell phones or other high-tech devices. Great character development. As with all mysteries, she tends to refer to characters by either just their first or last name. This can get a bit confusing unless you pay close attention to the full name of each character as it is introduced. Sue Grafton incorporates a bit of humor into her stories which helps keep a balance between the light and dark aspects of the story. I've read every book in Kinsey Milhone series and it's definitely worth the read. Many of the characters are in the follow-up stories as well. When you begin reading each subsequent book in this series, you feel as if you're visiting old friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    fine book

    1st I've read in the series. Liked it can't wait to get to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Good Read!

    This was a most entertaining story with enough twists and turns to keep you guessing as to who committed a murder. It was a real bonus to have it done with quite a sense of humor. I always looked forward to my time of day to sit down and find out "whodunit"!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Great book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    I love it.

    I have only read the sample but its got that feel like thatvof an old dectective movie. I like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    I read a much older addition of A is for Alibi by Sue Grafton an

    I read a much older addition of A is for Alibi by Sue Grafton and enjoyed it tremendously. Stuffed full of suspense, action, and physical attraction. I was nearly finished before I figured out the final plot line. It was also fun to read a suspense novel written in the 80's. We take so much for granted now. Kinsey, a private investigator, needed to solve these mysteries without the advantages of current technologies. And I really enjoyed her techniques.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Totally enjoyed this novel Sue you did it again. You are one of my favorite novelist.

    A must read will hold your attention until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Begin the journey with Kinsey

    It will surprise me to find someone who hasn't read the Sue Grafton books, but if you haven't, this is the first in the series, introducing you to Kinsey Millhone and her circle of friends. She is a former police officer who is now a PI. She is one of my favorite characters and I wait for each new book. My favorite is G is for Gumshoe but begin with this one and keep going, you'll be glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Sue Grafton

    This is the 1st book I have read from her and so far reading it, I can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    I Like It.

    I like this book alot,the character I like alot.The good and the bad.The book was fast moving and made you want to know what's next for Kinsey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Recommend reading

    Great mistery and reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    The first of many great reads

    Fast and fasinating in one book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Great Book!!

    This is the first book I havr read of Sue's. It had me from the start. Im nift yet finished but i cant putnit down. I have trouble knowing which characters are which at time but i just have to stop and think for a moment. They are easy to remember if you just take a moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Kinsey is the best heroine of the recent past

    Loved it. Kinseys funny, grumpy, lonely, indecisive, brave, loner, classic private eye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Thoroughly enjoyed. Quick read and held attention all the way through. It was fun going back to the 1st of the Kinsey Millhone series and find it still a relavant and enjoyable read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Great Read

    Enjoyed this book, particularly the main character. I love mysteries and plan to continue through the "alphabet".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Love love her!

    Favorite author of all time..have read every single book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6