Customer Reviews for

A January Bride

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    I really liked the premise of A January Bride. I thought it was

    I really liked the premise of A January Bride. I thought it was cute and sweet, and it was a good read. A January Bride, as well as the other books I've read in the series, are very innocent, and all about the romance. I like that about this series, because it nice to read a nice and light series. I like the tone the books in this series have. I thought both of the main characters were great, and they were cute together. One thing I would have liked a bit better was a bit more development with their relationship. I really like this series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    In this book I thought it was really sweet how the characters m

    In this book I thought it was really sweet how the characters met. And being able to watch as their relationship grows from just a friendship to something more, was done extremely well.
    This was another great regular old fashion sweet romance. Art and Maddie spent the time to get to know each other. Even after all the “tricks” were played upon them. They still took the time to get to know each other before they moved forward with any type of relationship.
    I do think Art was confusing as heck during this story and I do understand completely why Maddie was confused! The back and forth that he was going through was just instance. While I do understand with his past, of course he was going back and forth. But I still felt sorry for the poor girl!!
    But I am glad that he was able to screw his head on straight and was able to move past his past and head to the future.
    The one character that I completely enjoyed was Jenny. Even though she wasn’t actually brought into the story a lot, but when she was, you could tell that she was a little old lady with that “glint” in her eye. I think she did really well at playing the matchmaker. I think that the author adding her to the story was a really good move.
    Overall this is another great gentle romance that if you’re looking for something sweet is sure to check it out!
    Reviewed by Crystal Marie for Crystal's Many Reviewers
    *Copy provided for honest review*

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A JANUARY WEDDING by Deborah Raney was a sweet, lighthearted rom

    A JANUARY WEDDING by Deborah Raney was a sweet, lighthearted romantic story about two people who have given up on love finding each other despite themselves. In a comedy of timing, assumptions, and a meddling friend, Madeleine and Arthur fall in love with each other before they realize it, AND before they actually know each other.

    Maddie is a bestselling author who even though she writes romance novels has never had luck with men and has given up on the whole idea to focus on her work and has uprooted herself from her New York loft to move to the small town in Kansas where her sister and brother-in-law have lived so that she can be near her very ill mother. Art is a young widower who lost his beloved wife to cancer two years prior and can't imagine he'll ever find a love match so perfect again. He spends his weekdays teaching English at a nearby university and lets the Bed and Breakfast he ran with his wife, Annie, sit mostly unused.

    Both are friends of the spry octogenarian, Ginny Ross, and when Maddie's house is taken over by the remodeling contractors her sister hired she needs a quiet place to write or she will miss her deadline. Ginny suggests Art's Inn since it is rarely used for it's purpose since Annie died. She sets this up with her two friends fully knowing each believe the other is near her age and allows them to continue thinking so. This arrangement goes on for weeks without them actually meeting but they communicate daily with sweet notes to one another, each feeling safe because the other is elderly like Ginny. They find a lot in common through their daily writings, an appreciation for the other's humor and kindness, and bond with each other in a way that slowly emerges into a deep fondness for one another. Also during this time, they occasionally bump into each other (as their young selves) while out running errands and both feel a strong physical attraction without realizing who the other one is. The near misses and their assumptions are hilarious, especially Maddie's.

    By the time Maddie and Art finally do "meet" they are both very emotionally tied to the other which probably wouldn't have happened if they had met at the start, since both were so closed to the idea. This way they were already so attached it was impossible to deny or avoid the attraction.

    This was a very sweet romantic story with a somewhat old-fashioned (albeit unplanned) courtship and a HEA for two very deserving people that I enjoyed reading very much. I found myself smiling both from their near misses and for the love they obviously felt for one another even when they were still trying to struggle against it.

    *I received this eBook for free on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    This was a really creative love story! For much of the book, Mad

    This was a really creative love story! For much of the book, Madeleine Houser and Arthur Tyler had not even met in person! It is quite a cute concept and the author did a very good job with this sweet novella.

    Maddie is an author in need of a quiet place to work. Arthur is a widowed professor who has a bed and breakfast that he used to run with his deceased wife. When a mutual friend tells him of Maddie’s dilemma, he agrees to let Maddie do her writing there at the inn during the day while he is gone. What ensues is a fun mix up involving little notes left between Art and Maddie. Each thinks the other is much older and bares more of themselves in the notes than they would have if they knew to whom they were really writing.

    The author did a nice job of creating likeable characters. Arthur had quite a bit of baggage to let go of, creating some good, heartfelt conflict. This is a charming love story that I would recommend to those who love reading romance. This novella is another good example of writing that can tell a full story and not seemed rushed, even if it is not a full length novel.

    I received a complimentary copy of this novella from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    This was such a fun story! I loved the characters and the little

    This was such a fun story! I loved the characters and the little notes they left for one another. The description of the Inn made me want to visit. The emotions of the characters was well developed, for a novella.

    The characters were tangible. I could relate to their situations and their character development was well-timed. The romance between Maddie and Art seemed a little bit rushed, but other than that it was well-written.

    Overall, I enjoyed this sweet story! Sometimes, it's hard to get a feel for the characters and the story line in a novella. This is not one of those novellas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    104pgs

    Cute, short story with a little religion in the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2014

    A January Bride by Deborah Raney is the second novella in the Ye

    A January Bride by Deborah Raney is the second novella in the Year of the Weddings novella collection.  This is a sweet Christian romance that is full of misunderstandings and assumptions that create the basic storyline.

    Madeleine Houser is an author that is on a tight deadline.  While writing her novel, she decides to move to Clayburn, Kansas, to be closer to her mom that is in a nursing home suffering from Alzheimer’s.  She moves into her sister’s house that she is having refurbished to sell after her husband gets transferred to Ohio.  Thinking she can write anywhere, Maddie takes her sister up on her offer; however, she soon finds out it is impossible to write when there is so much commotion and chaos going on around her.  Her elderly neighbor, Ginny, suggests she write at her friend’s inn, whose wife had died several years ago and doesn’t have many people at the inn anymore.  Maddie finds that she loves the inn and her writing flourishes there, as well as the daily notes that she writes back and forth with the inn’s owner, Arthur, who she has never met.  They both enjoy writing these little notes to each other, thinking that the other person is “safe” because they are older, so they won’t get hurt.  Little do they realize that they are both young adults in their thirties, even though they think the other is the same elderly age as Ginny.  What will happen when they finally do come face-to-face after so many weeks of letter writing?

    I love this novella collection so far, even though I wish each one was longer, because they do seem very rushed and they could use more detail.  With that being said though I can’t wait to read A February Bride.  I would rate this novella a 4 out of 5 stars, and would recommend this to anyone that likes a short quick romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Maddie is an author in need of a quiet place to write. Her frien

    Maddie is an author in need of a quiet place to write. Her friend, Ginny, suggests that she use Art's Bed and Breakfast to do so.

    The way their relationship unfolded was predictable, yet gradual and sweet--just perfect. I thoroughly enjoyed it! I could see how the misunderstanding came to be--who takes the time to actually write letters nowadays? I loved the surprise each face when they realized who each other was.

    Content: Very mild Christian elements; no language or violence; sweet, clean romance (mild kissing).

    **I received a copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Check this out

    I'm not good at deciding what information to include in describing a book, so I'll just say I enjoy Deborah's writing and think most will agree this is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It's that time of the year where the sweet romantic reads are re

    It's that time of the year where the sweet romantic reads are readily available for the forever romantic. I love novellas, not only are they short and sweet, you can read while waiting in the dentist office or on your patio during a lazy Saturday.

    Raney crafted a very interesting romance. The love story develops through notes that the hero and heroine send back and forth between them. They both imagine the other by some incorrect assumptions of each other and it becomes comical when they finally meet.

    Raney creates a sweet charming story with a delightful twist. A wonderful quick read that reminds us that love can be found when we least expect it. I recommend this happily ever after story I am sure you will love A January Bride.

    I received copy of EBook from Thomas Nelson Publishing in their Booksneeze Blogger program for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Wonderful quick read that reminds us that love can be found when

    Wonderful quick read that reminds us that love can be found when we least expect it! I'm loving this Bride series and recommend them to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    Maddie was such a wonderful woman, she chose to move states just

    Maddie was such a wonderful woman, she chose to move states just to be closer to her mother and help her sister. She’s truly a great woman and her life is all about creating fantasy worlds. She’s an author, a very succesful one and decided to move because her sister asked her. It’s not that simple to create a story and she has a deadline, but the house she was in made things extremely difficult. We can see her having a difficult time to concentrate with strange noises. But her friend and neighbor helped a lot with the offer to find her a place to work.




    The inn was perfect and we can see that in the end everything would turn okay for her characters, but the best part for me was Maddie falling in love with the inn’s owner. Art was a man suffering, after losing his wife we can clearly see that nothing is keeping him alive and after those letters from Maddie each day demonstrated such a change. Loved Ginny and Maddie. Art was a difficult guy to love, but a good guy too. Super sweet romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    A creative and sweet love story. Deborah Raney has written a cut

    A creative and sweet love story.
    Deborah Raney has written a cute love story about 2 people who correspond with daily notes and begin to fall in love.
    Madeline Hauser is a published author who has moved to Kansas to be near her mother who has Alzheimers. She is house sitting for her sister, who had to relocate because of her husband's job, while the house is being renovated to sell. Maddie isn't getting much writing done with the renovation chaos going on daily.
    Arthur Tyler is a widowed professor who lives in a bed and breakfast that he and his wife used to run when she was alive.
    Maddie's neighbor, Ginny, is a friend of Art's and tells him about Maddie's difficulties in writing. Art offers Maddie the use of the inn during the day while he is teaching. The notes begin with Maddie's first day at the inn. The notes are the only connection between Art and Maddie have through the first half of the story.
    Maddie, Art and Ginny were well developed characters and I liked them a lot. They are the type of people that I wish I knew in real life. The misconceptions that Art and Maddie had about each were funny; and the reveal, when they finally met, was funny and heart warming. This was time well spent for me and I would definitely look for more of Deborah Raney's books.
    I received a copy of this novella from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1