BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Just Deception

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Loved it!!!!!!!

    I don't rate books too often, but I loved this one. The book kept me reading all day couldn't put it down. It will leave you crying, wanting to hit something, and laughing out loud.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Ms. Giordano has done it again! Caught my attention and held it into the wee hours of the night. Monk and Izzy are fully developed characters that jumped off the page and into my, heart. They both have "issues" and work through them with the genuine ups and downs that happen in real life relationships. Giordano has an amazing ability to write true-to-life male characters warm my heart. The Private Protector series has a permanent place on my bookshelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    Me

    A longer story , over 800 pages and a bit slower in places than the others. But still a pretty good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Peter is so sweet but can also kick butt!

    I have read this book twice (as I have with all Adrienne’s books). I have read a lot of other books since I initially read this book and realized how good these books are. Since rereading this book I have come to enjoy Peter and Izzy's relationship more than I did the first time. I tend to compare books to each other and since I liked Vic and Gina so much in Man Law, I didn't really give Peter and Izzy a fair shot. After rereading it I changed my mind. Peter and Izzy have a lot of depth to them and they complement each other well. They are very direct with each other and that is awesome! The subject matter in the book was a little unsettling (but realistic) and I felt this way because I have not experienced any of it directly. I feel for Izzy and what she has had to go through and hope I nor my family members ever have to go through it. Peter is wonderful in helping her get through her "issues." There are several great lines in this book as there are in all of Adrienne's books. Her books are humorous, sexy, yet real and heartwarming at the same time. She plays on all your emotions. I highly recommend this book and her others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A captivating read

    I really enjoyed this book; it is the second in the Private Protectors series. It is well written and keeps moving, it really held my attention. Peter and Isabelle are two emotionally damaged people that are thrown together, while trying to solve a murder and prove Isabelle innocent; they find love drawing them together. Peter is a former Navy Seal who now works for Taylor Security; he is suffering from PTSD after two of his friends and associates are killed on the job. Isabelle is a defense attorney at her uncle’s prestigious law firm. Her older cousin sexually abused her as a child and teenager. He was never prosecuted for the crime because her mother and uncle wanted to avoid the bad publicity that it would bring the family. The action really keeps your attention as the main characters struggle to find a way to trust each other and make a more normal life while also solving the mystery of her cousin’s murder and putting an end to a black market ring. This story ends with both parties helping each other to heal, solving the crime and finding their HEA. A captivating read, I will be waiting for the next in this series. Review copy from NetGalley/Carina Press

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Loved all three Private Protectors books!!

    I really enjoyed all three Private Protectors books. I read Man Law then just had to read A Just Deception and finally Risking Trust. Even though Risking Trust was more of Prequel to Man Law it didn't make much of a difference to the story line. I must say Man Law was my favorite of the three so far. Thanks to Ms. Giordano I am now addicted to Romance Suspense novels and I can't wait for her next book!! Happy reading!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet

    A Just Deception (Private Protectors, #2) is Peter (aka Monk) and Isabella’s story. We met Monk in Man Law. He works with and for Michael and Vic. Peter is suffering PTSD and is forced to go home for some R&R. Isabella is an old friend of Vic’s who is in need of protection and Monk is close by so he gets volunteered for the job. Sparks fly. This story was the sweetest of them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    very exciting. did not put it down.

    hope there are many more. will read every one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    series is getting better and better

    The characters seem so...real. I felt a connection to Isabelle right off, and was very happy to see her paired with Peter. A hard nosed ex SEAL that had a secret home life of his own. The cult setting was creepy and you felt an instant hatred for the leader. The secondary characters were great, of course we caught up with Vic a little, and meeting Courtney was a kick. A girl with a chip on shoulder and a wicked tongue. I hope this series continues, I can't wait to see what the author has in store for the Protectors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Excellent!

    This book is yet another great one from Adrienne Giordano! Once again, she has excellent characterization of spec ops soldiers. I felt like I was reading about many of the men I have a privilege to know! I look forward to more from this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Excellent!

    Altogether a great read...def worth the time..Gotta go DL the next one. Happy reading to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Really funny

    ## This book was marvelous. The best part of this book was the humor. Holy cow. I laughed out loud so many times. Do I wish the author had written the heroine a little less damaged in regards to sex? Hell yeah. But the most amazing hero made up for it. Boy he was hot. And the story was good albeit a tad long for my taste, but it was very rewarding. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    !,,,,,,,,,!

    Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    LOVED This Book!

    I LOVED this book. I love this author's voice. She writes realistic dialogue and characters. Izzy (a kick ass - literally) heroine and Monk were both damaged, and I rooted for them to get together. Monk is caring and supportive while maintaining his alphaness! And the suspence aspect of the story is believable, and heck, kept me up way too late last night because I had to know what happened! Can't wait for the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Wonderful Book!!!

    My Review:
    Okay, it is no secret that I loved the first book in this series, Man Law. In fact, I was a little worried when I picked up this book to read it, that my expectations would be too high and I would hate it. This so should not have been a worry with this book. OMG, it was so freaking good.

    In fact, as I was reading it, I kept having to put the book down and reflect on Adrienne's amazing skill as a writer. There are some really heavy emotional undertones to this story: hero, Peter, is on the verge of having a breakdown after two of his friends die on missions; heroine, Isabelle is dealing with scars from childhood sexual abuse. Both horrendous, horrible issues, but the book remained fun and funny ALL the way through even when they were dealing directly with these issues. And honestly, I still don't see how Adrienne did it, because she is dealing with these issues head on throughout the entire story...not making light of them, but the book never got sad and loaded down by that emotional upheaval. Like I said....just amazing writing in this book!!!

    Okay, back to the review. I am getting sidetracked. Peter/Monk...OMG, I love this guy, esp. as he keeps attacking his mother's potted tree. This is a guy who grew up in Jersey with TONS of money and in the society that involves. He NEVER fit in there, so he quit Yale and enlisted in the Navy at 19, much to his mother's horror. You would never guess that he grew up in society...he lives in cargo shorts and combat boots and usually has a do-rag on his head. He is home because Vic (hero from book #1, Man Law) has put him on a forced vacation to get his head back on straight after the death of two of his friends. Peter is on the verge of cracking and needs some downtime.

    Isabelle is a lawyer and a friend of Vic's. Her cousin is home and because of a sketchy past with him, she is feeling nervous so she calls Vic to help get her an alarm system installed in her house. He sends Peter to help her out since Peter is in the area. Isabelle is a tough, self-assured, independent lawyer. She had a wretched childhood, but has let that mold her into a seriously strong woman...both physically and mentally. She can kick ass in her own right and is religious about keeping herself prepped for anything. Because of her abuse, she has learned that sex is purely a physical act, and as a gorgeous woman and a lawyer, has learned to use that to her advantage. This is not a person who can be intimidated in any shape or form, unless maybe you want to form an emotional attachment, like Peter eventually does. That is a danger area for her and scares her to death.

    There is a LOT going on in this book. On top of everything else, there is a fantastic suspense story line. I had a pretty good idea where it was going, but it was still really good and I loved the addition of Billy (one of Monk's fellow operatives) when he joined the story. I cannot wait for his book. You get to see a bit of Vic again with his irreverent sense of humor...so funny! A surprising character that I really enjoyed was Peter's mom. She has some amazingly funny lines in this book.

    I feel like this review has been all over the place, but honestly, this is just one of those books that I truly loved. Adrienne writes AMAZING alpha heroes. But what I really love about them is that they are not bigger-than-life kind of guys. Yes, there is no doubt that they are alphas, but they are so real. They have a guy-next-door kind of feel to them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    I could not put it down

    It was good book, did not put it down till finshed. Too bad that their too many creeps out their in the world.
    Isabelle is a lawyer working in her uncle law firm, when her cousin Kendrick comes in snd traps her in copy room. he has been back for years. Isabelle calls her friend in chicago and asks him to put security system in her house.
    Peter is home in New Jersy on forced vacation when his boss calls and asks him to do a favore and see what system she needs. Peter is instantly attracted to Isabella and falls in love with her house. He sees she is weary and tells her to call if she needs anything.
    The next morning Isabelle wakes up with her cousin trying to rape her and she beats him up. She doesn't want to call cops so she calls Peter. He comes and they take him to his father and she warns her uncle to keep him away from her or she will kill him.
    Kendrick had sexualy abused her from the time she was little till 15 when her uncle walked in and got him. Her mom was talked into not calling cops and her parents divorced after that. Her father had a friend teach her self defense.
    Well Kendrick is found murdered she is a suspect and so is Peter but they have alabies. FBI convince her that to go visit the compound where her cousin lived because they had a missing girl thier and new they were breaking some laws and thought she could get into the compound and see if more children were in danger. Peter goes too.
    Isabelle has a lot of trouble trusting in guys. she turns off her emotions and has sex. Peter does not want her when she turns off and wants her when she can feel too.
    Peter has issues with two friends died in the past year from work. He his not coping and they took his guns away till he faced his loss and quilt.
    So Isabelle tries and finds out what her cousin was up too. plus trying to deal with her feelings. Peter is trying to protect her while falling in love and dealing with his past.
    Their are a lot of tough problems they are dealing with while figuring out what her cousin and Seth were up too.
    I was given this ebook in exchange for honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2