BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Killer Collection: A Collectible Mystery

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    Charming mystery!

    I just finished this book and loved the mystery, the characters, and the details about NC potteries. Confession, I've lived in NC and have written my own book about NC potters, so it's a subject I enjoy and of which I have some knowledge. The author sucked me right into the heroine's world and I could practically see those characters!

    The formatting of the book has apparently been repaired, although I would never downgrade a book for technical details.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    Interesting and Entertaining

    Not often do you read a book on a subject that one is not well versed in (pottery), and find the book both entertaining and educational. By weaving interesting facts and characters centered around North Carolina folk pottery into a murder mystery theme, J B Stanley creates an enjoyable and educational novel that is a pleasure to recommend. I find it hard to believe this is her first work, for the dialogue between the characters is easy and fluid, and the characters themselves feel quite genuine, something often missing in similar novels. I look forward with great anticipation to the next book in this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong cozy

    Collector¿s Weekly magazine journalist Molly Appleby is writing an article about southern kiln s pottery sales hosted by the potter who created them. Molly and her mother wake up early one morning to attend the kiln opening of C.C., but to their surprise there are a lot of people up early to get a good position on line so they have first crack at getting what they want. Molly meets collector George-Bradley Staunton, a fanatical collector who cuts in line, grabs objects out of other collector¿s hands and is all around pushy. During the sale George goes to a secluded area and Molly follows him. She sees him rubbing his stomach with blood on his shirt. She thinks he was murdered but the coroner says he died of an overdose of insulin. The police think he accidentally injected himself twice. Molly believes otherwise ands sets out to prove it. This is the first collectible mystery and if future cozies are like this one, J.B. Stanley will have a captivating series that will win her many fans. Molly is a likeable tenacious character especially when she believes she is right and is very comfortable with her size fourteen body. She sets out to prove the victim was murdered. With no blood or gore, Ms. Stanley writes a fabulous who done it that will have readers guessing who the killer is. Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    OK, except for bad editing

    I read almost exclusively on my e-reader these days, as I travel and it is much easier to "pack" a lot of books for my trips. One thing I have noticed is that it seems there is little to no effort given to proofreading e-books. Personally, I find it very annoying. How can a publisher allow such sloppy products on the market?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    Entertaining Murder Mystery

    I was skeptical about picking up a book that dealt with pottery, but I was more than pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. The pottery theme is just the background for an intelligently written murder mystery. The author was able to keep this reader guessing 'who done it' until the end. I definitely look forward to reading her next book and will be recommending this one to family and friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    So-So

    The information on the pottery was interesting, but the characters weren't very well developed an the story jumped around oddly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2006

    The Perfect Mystery for Collectors

    This is the perfect mystery for those in the antiques and collectibles world as Stanley has managed to capture the feelings and emotions of both buyers and sellers. The characters are extremely genuine and flawed. This makes them more likeable than the high-heeled, trim goddesses I read about in other books. The pottery descriptions are captivating and I found parts of this book highly educational. I learned a great deal about pottery without feeling as though I were being taught. I could not put this book down and can't wait for the second installment in this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Boring

    The worst purchase I've ever brought.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    GOOD STORY BUT..........

    I would never pay money to try and read this book. The layout of the entire book was very poor. The Hope Street Mysteries were good.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1