Customer Reviews for

A Killing in the Hills (Bell Elkins Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book

This book had everything.....a great plot, likeable characters, etc. It was a book that kept me interested from beginning to end. Loved it!

posted by ckmkak2 on August 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

This would have been a much better read had there not been so mu

This would have been a much better read had there not been so much foul language. I think a good novel can be written without swearing and cursing.

posted by tootsieWV on January 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    This would have been a much better read had there not been so mu

    This would have been a much better read had there not been so much foul language. I think a good novel can be written without swearing and cursing.

    20 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Excellent book

    This book had everything.....a great plot, likeable characters, etc. It was a book that kept me interested from beginning to end. Loved it!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    Highly Recommended!!

    As a native of the southern coalfields of West Virginia, I was drawn to the title and I was not disappointed. I could not stop reading. The descriptions of the mountains, culture, economics and the people were on target. The coal trucks, road conditions and coal dust added to the reality of the situation. I hope to read more in this series.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    WHAT I WANT TO KNOW IS WHY IN GODS NAME WHEN ITS SAYS CUSTOMER R

    WHAT I WANT TO KNOW IS WHY IN GODS NAME WHEN ITS SAYS CUSTOMER REVIEW PEOPLE LIKE DOLLYCAS (8-27-201) WHY 
    DO U HAVE TO WRITE A DAME BOOK ON IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  U TAKE UP THE ENTIRE PAGE FOR GODS SAKE/  SAY YES IT WAS GOOD
    OR NO I DIDN'T ENJOY THE OOK/ YES IT PISSES ME OFF THAT U WRITE AN ETIRE BOOK ON HOW YOU FEEL /  GET OVER IT GIRL

    10 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Dollycas

    Please bn. Cant something be done to plot spoilers like dollycas who give away every detail of the book? Why bother buying the book why rude posters like her reveal every detail? Please ban these hateful posters.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Bell Elkins grew up in Acker's Gap, West Virginia. After a tragi

    Bell Elkins grew up in Acker's Gap, West Virginia. After a tragic
    upbringing that includes a fire and the death of her father, she then
    goes from foster home to foster home. She goes away to college, gets
    married and has a child. She feels drawn to return to Acker's Gap to
    make a difference. Her marriage falls apart and she takes her daughter
    home to West Virginia. She runs and is elected prosecuting attorney for
    Raythune County. The county has a serious drug problem and Bell is
    determined to clean up the county. While Bell is working on another
    tragic case where a child was killed she learns that 3 elderly men have
    been gunned down in a local diner. The same diner where her now 17 year
    old daughter Carla was waiting for her Bell to her up. The eatery was
    full of witnesses but it happened so fast no one really saw the shooter.
    Why were Dean Streeter, Shorty McClurg, and Lee Rader targeted? Was it
    random? Drug related? Carla was shocked and horrified by what she saw,
    but after a few days, she begins to recover enough to believe that she
    might be able to help her mother do her job. Bell vows to find and bring
    the killer to justice not knowing her daughter may already know who he
    is or that Carla may be putting herself in danger to help her. A Great
    Debut to a new series!! Julie Keller has created some wonderfully
    flawed characters and set them loose in West Virginia. This first story
    has more than one mystery for readers to follow and she has woven them
    together seamlessly. We learn about Belfa's (yes, that her real name)
    past and her dysfunctional family that made her the woman she is today.
    A young boy is killed and Bell has to decide how to move forward
    charging a mentally challenged 28 year old. Three elderly residents are
    gunned down by an unknown assailant. Add to that Bell's teenage daughter
    going through normal growing pains and then she witnesses this terrible
    shooting. Bell has a true friend in the sheriff and he is there to walk
    with her through the mayhem and he does his best to protect her. I love
    the meetings over pieces of pie as they try to sort out the clues. Last
    one to arrive buys the pie! Bell has a lot on her plate besides her job
    a prosecuting attorney for the county. Her sister has just been paroled
    from prison and her daughter would rather be living with her dad. With
    this a foundation has been laid for the series moving forward. Bell is a
    strong woman with a noble agenda that will probably get her in lot of
    trouble. One of my favorite parts of this story was Bell driving in the
    mountains to question the mother of the mentally challenged suspect. The
    author's description of the winding roads, cliff drop offs, up and down
    the mountains, made me feel like I was right in the vehicle holding on
    for dear life. Extra tension was added when she was being followed. It
    was a white knuckle moment holding on to my kindle as I couldn't read
    the pages fast enough. I am looking forward to my return to this
    "shabby afterthought of a town". If you are a mystery lover
    you too will enjoy this story.

    9 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    Keller writes a beautiful novel complete with dimensional charac

    Keller writes a beautiful novel complete with dimensional characters and riveting scenes. I could fell the gentle strength of Belfa and the tenacious hold on Link Fogelsong. Why do people turn to crime is a question with many layers, and Keller addresses several of the reasons in her novel. The people of Acker's Gap are pitiful and wonderful in different degrees. A small community knows all the personal secrets, but individuals lack the gumption for involvement. The only concern rests with the electrician that comes to review his work. I see no relevance in this character other than a love interest in a later novel. I also feel that the emotions between Bell and Carla, and between Bell and her sister are too mellow. Where are the heat and the frustration?

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    Good mystery, lots of plot lines going on, but not so many as to

    Good mystery, lots of plot lines going on, but not so many as to be distracting.  Once I got into it, I couldn't put it down.  Hope to see more of the folks from Ackers Gap!  

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Dollycas ruined this book with review.

    Dollycas ruined this book with her plot spoiling review. If I wanted crib notes I would have bought them. She should be ashamed. I started to read this, but found she had given every iota of the book away. There is a lot of cursing and violence in this book. For adults.

    AD

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Could have been....

    This could have been a very good book. The writing was good, the story was good, but the author, a WV native really gave her native state a slap in the face. I'm a native West Virginian, too, and I see beauty in our state; and, healthy, intelligent people. This book depicts the state so stereotypically poor, ignorant, dirty, run down and hopeless with no redeeming qualities. That is lazy writing. I don't recommend this book.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Excellent story!

    Excellent book! I couldnt put it dowm!




    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Loved it!

    I really, really loved this book. I'm glad I chose to read the first one in the series before reading the newest one. This is a great look into amodern day way of dealing with a lot of small town issues.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    This book was great, kept you reading and not wanting to put the

    This book was great, kept you reading and not wanting to put the book down. I REALLY enjoyed it and glad she is making a series of it. This author is going to go real far, as she writes a book that keeps your interest and keeps you in suspense

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A really good book!! a page turner in the hills of West Virgini

    A really good book!! a page turner in the hills of West Virginia that has everything. The characters are unique and likable - the cultural climate is riviting - the cases are not typical whodunnits - the drug traffic theme seems realistic. I hope. Julia Keller will write more mysteries.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    One would like an honest review

    These including journal and blubs seem to be found of foul language unpleasant people and unpleasant situations as being "a good book" if they plan to buy not borrow and re read i am very sorry for them that they have had such little choice in books that this is good

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Recommend for easy reading

    For readers who enjoy small towns and mountains. It was interesting and I will read more by this author, if her characters continue to grow.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    A well written mystery novel set in Appalachia

    A nice tightly written mystery novel that does not reveal the mastermind of the events to the very end though Carla, Bell's daughter, is something of a stereo-type and I would have preferred that Tom,the mastermind, would have been required to stand trial.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    This was an engaging read. Not my usual fare, but I liked the w

    This was an engaging read. Not my usual fare, but I liked the writing style and the story was strong enough to keep me interested. I'd read another book by this author, definitely.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend. Hard to put down!

    Highly recommend. A good mystery. Hard to put down!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Awesome

    Very good was not disapointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3