Customer Reviews for

A King's Quest

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A surprisingly refreshing and different approach to the Fantasy genre.

    Tired of the endless Tolkien clones and marginally inspired Dungeons and Dragons offerings currently out there? Expecting more of the same from Mr. Wedhorn? I am going to be upfront: when I first picked up a King's Quest my first assumption was "oh boy, here we go. Yet another medieval based fantasy with elves and wizards and dragons, probably even orcs.Because nowadays, what self-respecting author doesn't have orcs?" Fortunately, there is a very good reason why the saying aptly goes "Do NOT judge a book by its cover!" From the opening line of the Prologue to the very end, a King's Quest is a fast paced Fantasy rollercoaster ride of original plot threads that weave in an out of each other. Mr.Wedhorn has a vivid imagination when it comes to employing inventive battle spells and forging all sorts of fascinating magical artifacts. One must assume that as an author, he must be someone with real-life experience in hand to hand combat as well as having traveled and studied medieval architecture, because it certainly shows in his work, particularly the graphic bone-crunching melee scenes. The characters are well-developed, each with interesting vivid personal backgrounds. But what truly makes the read worth it is that if you are the skeptical type like me who yawns thinking he's seen, heard and read it all in the Fantasy genre then somewhere in the back of your mind you'll be nervously WAITING for A King's Quest to crash and fall off into the usual conventions of the genre. And even when you think "hmm, where have I read this before?" it turns out you haven't. Mr. Wedhorn mercifully deprives us of that satisfaction. In conclusion, a definite must-read if you're tired of "the usual" and would like to experience something different. Enjoy your journey to Kallamar but be forewarned: not only is an inter-species civil war brewing but much worse, the taxes there are bloody high!
    Reviewer's note: I would like to point out that I previously posted this same review for the paperback version of the book. The only difference I noticed was in the cover. I personally liked this one better: it leaves more to the imagination. That being said, i was actually a bit disappointed at the lack of Bonus Material in the e-book edition. No pictures, deleted scenes feature, no choose-your-own-adventure style alternate ending option, not even an annoying author's commentary that I would not have read anyways. I hope Mr Wedhorn as well as Helm Publishing will give me a little more for my 99 cents' worth next time. Otherwise still an excellent read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent fantasy Book

    Excellent fantasy Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Very entertaining

    I really enjoyed this book. Yes, there were a few typos here and there - but who cares? it was a great story with good development. Looking forward to more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    A Must Read!!!

    I bought this book online based on the "teaser" that Amazon posts on their page. As some other reviewers noted, there are some errors that occurred with the publishing. I contacted the author and he told me well before I received the book that those errors existed due to a manuscript mistake. That aside, this is an EXCELLENT read, I can't stress this enough! The prologue starts out with an attention grabbing murder of a royal family and then flash forwards to a young man growing into his own in a life that is but a shadow of his future. Here, it slows down for several chapters as the author builds the background of his primary characters, but all the time it is gaining momentum. By about the seventh or eigth chapter I was completely hooked. It seemed to me that the story just began to fall off the pages on its own at this time and I couldn't put the book down! I was very impressed with the author's ability to paint a picture of landscape and surroundings as well as providing interesting background story on his characters. The book ends suddenly which leaves you miffed but wanting more! I highly recommend this book and look forward to the next installment in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A surprisingly refreshing and different approach to the Fantasy genre.

    Tired of the endless Tolkien clones and marginally inspired Dungeons and Dragons offerings currently out there? Expecting more of the same from Mr. Wedhorn? I am going to be upfront: when I first picked up a King's Quest my first assumption was "oh boy, here we go. Yet another medieval based fantasy with elves and wizards and dragons, probably even orcs.Because nowadays, what self-respecting author doesn't have orcs?" Fortunately, there is a very good reason why the saying aptly goes "Do NOT judge a book by its cover!" From the opening line of the Prologue to the very end, a King's Quest is a fast paced Fantasy rollercoaster ride of original plot threads that weave in an out of each other. Mr.Wedhorn has a vivid imagination when it comes to employing inventive battle spells and forging all sorts of fascinating magical artifacts. One must assume that as an author, he must be someone with real-life experience in hand to hand combat as well as having traveled and studied medieval architecture, because it certainly shows in his work, particularly the graphic bone-crunching melee scenes. The characters are well-developed, each with interesting vivid personal backgrounds. But what truly makes the read worth it is that if you are the skeptical type like me who yawns thinking he's seen, heard and read it all in the Fantasy genre then somewhere in the back of your mind you'll be nervously WAITING for A King's Quest to crash and fall off into the usual conventions of the genre. And even when you think "hmm, where have I read this before?" it turns out you haven't. Mr. Wedhorn mercifully deprives us of that satisfaction. In conclusion, a definite must-read if you're tired of "the usual" and would like to experience something different. Enjoy your journey to Kallamar but be forewarned: not only is an inter-species civil war brewing but much worse, the taxes there are bloody high!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    Great new book

    Mr Wedhorn, I picked up a signed copy of your book at a Barnes and Noble in Ga, and loved it. The actions scenes were fantastic and I liked the way you invented a whole new take on Elves. Damien Daverge and his quest to regain the dragon rings left me wanting more and I hope that you finish up the sequal soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    A Excellent Adventure

    This exciting adventures opens with the brutal murder of a Royal family. You are thrust into the Kingdom of Kings and Nobel's, elves and magicians as you begin this page turning read. Who is Damien Daverge, and is he truly the rightful ruler of these Kingdoms? Why is his cousin claiming Kingship and will Damien prove himself as rightful King before it is too late? Can he save the Kingdoms from the rule of the ancient evil Masters who would once again enslave them?A lot of questions, a lot of adventures packs a wallop of a punch in this fast pace mystical read. The author does an outstanding job pulling the many characters together, weaving them into their proper places in the storyline and bringing to light their colorful personalities and magical gifting. This is no small feat in this work that is but part one of 'The Kingdom Chronicles.' If you like a book that is brimming with supernatural powers, swordsmen of mystical powers, teachers with unearthly wisdom,loyalty, betrayal, and a quest of grave importance, this is the one for you. A book of the finest quality, with a medieval flavor, captivating and attention grabbing. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2005

    Awesome book

    Awesome book Mr. Wedhorn!! I am a huge Fantasy fanatic and have read most of the big names, Tolkein, C.S. Lewis, etc. You are right up there with them. I just bought your book at Barnes and Noble and noticed that you had signed it. I thought that was pretty cool. Anyway, I cannot wait to read A King's Task. Yours is one of the best books I have read in a while. I could not put it down. Thank you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    King's Quest

    I love fantasy and have read just about everything I can put my hands on and this guy tops all I have ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    King's Quest

    Wow this guy can really write, almost as good as Robert Jordan or George Martin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1