Customer Reviews for

A Lady Pays Her Penalties

Average Rating 3
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A good read that will push your boundaries

I promised in a email that I sent to Ms. Zacharias that I would write an honest review when I was finished reading this book. I still haven't quite finished it yet, but I have enjoyed it. She writes clearly and with good detail. I'll be honest and say that bondage do...
I promised in a email that I sent to Ms. Zacharias that I would write an honest review when I was finished reading this book. I still haven't quite finished it yet, but I have enjoyed it. She writes clearly and with good detail. I'll be honest and say that bondage does make me a little uncomfortable, but she writes about it very well, and I think that writing should sometimes make a person uncomfortable so that boundaries are pushed. Again, I have thoroughly enjoyed this book.--TR

posted by RainyAprilDay on April 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great, if... Great if you Great if...

Great if you are into or have ever been curious about bondage or submission. If you think that kind of stuff is "gross" or "crazy" this story is not for you. I wasn't personally into every part of what was described, but I still found the book as a whole interesting. Al...
Great if you are into or have ever been curious about bondage or submission. If you think that kind of stuff is "gross" or "crazy" this story is not for you. I wasn't personally into every part of what was described, but I still found the book as a whole interesting. Also, it wasn't as cheesy or bizarre with it's language as some erotic novels, which I appreciated.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great, if... Great if you Great if...

    Great if you are into or have ever been curious about bondage or submission. If you think that kind of stuff is "gross" or "crazy" this story is not for you. I wasn't personally into every part of what was described, but I still found the book as a whole interesting. Also, it wasn't as cheesy or bizarre with it's language as some erotic novels, which I appreciated.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    A good read that will push your boundaries

    I promised in a email that I sent to Ms. Zacharias that I would write an honest review when I was finished reading this book. I still haven't quite finished it yet, but I have enjoyed it. She writes clearly and with good detail. I'll be honest and say that bondage does make me a little uncomfortable, but she writes about it very well, and I think that writing should sometimes make a person uncomfortable so that boundaries are pushed. Again, I have thoroughly enjoyed this book.--TR

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Stressing

    I was having panic attacks reading this because i have never done bondage before. Most if the stuff sound painful to me! Other than the fact that i almost had a heart palpatation, it was a great read. Good for when you are really bored!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unique

    A good chronicle of self flagellation. Well written.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Nothing erotic about this violent bondage of women

    One cannot help wondering if the author has the ability to tell a really good story, or is the goal to simply get off on violence towards women - even its it violence towards self. My initial assessment was sick, sick sick! After some thought, and reconsidered and decided that it was SICK! SICK! SICK! Good thing it was free. This doesn't qualify as erotic, in my opinion. It qualifies as sadistic, masochistic pornography. What a terrible thing to do to Backgammon.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    Not Recommended

    This book was horrible - full of pain and degradation!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Wow - REALLY compelling -

    I started reading this gem at bedtime, and was up til 3:30am finishing it.

    The heroine puts herself through the deepest misery that she herself can imagine, and her imagination is fertile.

    It follows the heroine through four stages of penalties, and each is more horrifying/thrilling than the one before.

    Don't be fooled by the bland cover (or the misspelling - it's 'penalties,' not 'panalties'). This one is an erotic, thrilling, sometimes infuriating page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Heavy

    Too heavy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Not my type of book

    Not my type of book. Boring and non tasteful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Great

    Fjhshfgjdgkdgdkkkjdicikdickjfhgbhcmkfsifdjf

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Stupid

    It was not sexy or interesting. It took me three tries to read it and I only succeeded because I am home sick with the flu.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Very Good

    Not her best book, but a great book all the same. Highly recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Weird

    I can't tell whether to be discusted or intreuged. This book was gross, but facinating. I don't think I understand Lesli at all. She is crazy, but in a way that is sane. My brain feels like exploding.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Safe, Sane and Consensual

    I stopped reading this about a quarter into it because it did not represent the Safe, Sane and Consensual mantra that should be evident in any BDSM material. Maybe it did get better but I couldn't stand so much self-inflicted violence because the person had too much pride.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    my wife made me change this review

    I don't know anything about this author. The book is free, so download it and you will not be out any money. There. Now maybe peace will be restored in my house. I've already accomplished all I wanted. Insert evil laugh here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is another great book By AZ. What an imagination!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Amazing- you must read!!!!

    This is an amazing book! You must read it and enjoy it! Well written, long, and hot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    My "Story Of O"

    This is the book that got me into the genre. It was free and sounded interesting enough to read. I was absolutely blown away. The bdsm subset is littered with authors who don't have 1/10th the talent or imagination of AZ. And THEY charge for their books. Leslie is a fascinating character. Her motivation is as compulsive and bizarre (and deeply erotic in a way most sub/m heroines are not) as I've run across (having now read about 40 of these titles -- again this one got me started.) I gave it five stars. The only small criticism I'd make is that I didn't enjoy the last vignette as much as the first three. Her new fiancee comes across as a trespasser who doesn't belong in the story. This story is about Leslie, and her "guardian angel." That dynamic was far more interesting to me than the final chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8