BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Lady by Midnight (Spindle Cove Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

awesome

Sexy funny and witty. Great story line. Iwould highly recommend this one

posted by 14768523 on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Romance

A Lady By Midnight is book 3 in the Spindle Cove series, but can be read as a stand alone book.

*Sigh* A Lady By Midnight. What can I say? All in all, this was a nice, witty romance.

Here you have a heroine who's been orphaned at a young age and does not know wher...
A Lady By Midnight is book 3 in the Spindle Cove series, but can be read as a stand alone book.

*Sigh* A Lady By Midnight. What can I say? All in all, this was a nice, witty romance.

Here you have a heroine who's been orphaned at a young age and does not know where she came from. She's got a birthmark on her face and has always felt less than beautiful. Her life will be transformed one day, at midnight no less. Kind of like Cinderella. I liked Kate, her inner monologue would make me laugh.

Thorne is all you need in a hero. He's a gentleman to Kate, always at her rescue, but he's got a dark, tortured past. He thinks he's not good enough for her. Beta hero alert. Both he and Kate share a bond due to their unhappy childhoods.

Author Tessa Dare has given us a hero with a bit of what I'm thinking is post traumatic stress disorder. The atrocities he saw in the war make him black out sometimes when he's angry or under stress. But, of course, he never harms Kate.
I liked the use of tattoos on Thorne. He has several tats, and he explains them all to Kate. It all adds more mystery to his character.

I enjoyed the scenes between these two. Kate kept trying to pull Thorne in and find out about his shaded past, he kept trying to resist her. As the story flows, Thorne reveals his past and his reasons for keeping Kate away. The sex scenes were spicy hot. Maybe it's just me, but sex scenes in historical/regency romance always make me giggle.

Perhaps her sense of touch was misleading her. Maybe if she looked the organ head-on, it wouldn't seem so intimidating.
She dropped her gaze and pushed his breeches down over his hips.
p.196

As the story flows, Kate finds out hidden secrets about her past, her mother, the Grammercys and even Thorne. In the end, she has an important choice to make, as there is a bit of a twist to story.

There is a fight scene over Kate at one point and the author did a great job with it, she managed to add humor to it as well. It's one of my favorite scenes in the book.

Overall, I felt like A Lady By Midnight could have been slightly shorter. Although I found myself losing interest a little bit towards the middle, I enjoyed the story overall.
A Week to Be Wicked is the first in this series. I might read it one day.

I recommend this one to fans of historical romance.
This review is my honest opinion. I did not receive any type of compensation for reading and reviewing this book. I purchased my copy.

posted by thebookwormNJ on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    A Lady By Midnight is book 3 in the Spindle Cove series  It was

    A Lady By Midnight is book 3 in the Spindle Cove series 

    It was so romantic I loved it I read it like three times now and I would never get tired of reading it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Sweet

    I didn't want it to end. The loved the characters, the twists, the plot, and the ending wasn't that cliche.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2014

    The third book in the Spindle Cove series and the first one I re

    The third book in the Spindle Cove series and the first one I read. Loved it. Kate was a lonely woman who not only found the best kind of love, but a family that actually had her best interest at heart after a fashion. Thorne is my kind of Hero. Loved him. Loved all the characters of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Anonymous

    Overall this was my favorite book in the Spindle Cove series. Potent and sweet the story felt a bit like a fairy tale, and the passion between Kate and Thorne was evident. Though the story could have probably served better as a novella (dragged on a bit with too much going on) I do love the plot and characters. Wonderful love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Love...love...love

    Loved everything about this book ....and series. The plot, the characters, the story... epitome of romance. I read it twice... did not want it to end...Kate and Samuel...... a very special story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Love a story where the common, neglected girl gets her happy end

    Love a story where the common, neglected girl gets her happy ending. And it's even better when the hero is a tough, damaged man in need of love himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    Every woman should have a Corporal Thorne in their life to watch

    Every woman should have a Corporal Thorne in their life to watch over them. He is everything a romance hero should be rugged, good looking and flawed, but that doesn’t stop him from protecting the most important thing he hold dear – Kate. The fact that Kate is an orphan and alone in the family sense guaranteed that sparks would fly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    I have read ALL of Tessa Dare's novels and love them! I checked

    I have read ALL of Tessa Dare's novels and love them! I checked out some from my library and own all the Spindle Cove novels and novellas as well as the Werestag novella. You will not be dissapointed with any of her writings except that they end! I would like to find a "comparable" author because I just know Tessa's work to be the best for my tastes with the right amount of story, character development, setting, and spice. I was not actually a romance reader until I stumbled upon a free offering of one of her ebooks on my Nook. That was how I even found this genre and now am hooked!

    I have always been a fan of period romance movies and am a stickler for anything set in the Victorian (or earlier) settings of Europe which all of her books are. I do have a few other free historical romances but I just know already I won't be as pleased. I wish Tessa would go full time just writing ONLY Spindle Cove series and that PBS or BBC would pick up the rights and make an ongoing romance seriers for TV that would be hot and heavy and for adult viewers but tasteful. Maybe Netflix??? Wouldn't that be incredible! LOL

    Bascially to sum all this up do not worry one bit about purchasing any of her materials. You will love having them. I have read each of the Spindle Cove series twice and plan to re-read each once a year- Yes they are that good! I stay tuned for pre-orders and have always been on of the first to get a book as it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    These two characters just fit together perfectly.  The tension h

    These two characters just fit together perfectly.  The tension had been growing between them in the previous books and this was the perfect culmination of their story/relationship.  They both were troubled, but it didn't get at all "angst-y".  I really grew to love Thorne; he was a wonderfully nuanced hero.  I already loved Kate and she was just the right kind of woman to draw out Thorne.  Ms. Dare does another outstanding job of giving us a wonderful and unique story with characters that spar charmingly.

    I really enjoyed the backstory uncovered about them and adored the quirky Gramercy family (especially Harry---to try and avoid spoilers, lets just say that it was refreshing to see an unconventional character of her nature accepted/celebrated within this genre, though of course Spindle Cove has already been known for its unconventional characters and this is part of what I love about this series).  It was also nice to see some of our favorite characters from the previous stories make their appearances again.

    I have to add that having read this just now at time of the newest installment being released, I'm so glad know that Diana will finally have her own story and I can't wait to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    I loved it! Romantic, funny, very heart warming. I liked the style in which the book was written. Great read.

    I loved it! Romantic, funny, heart warming, and very HOT, all wrapped into one book. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Recommend

    I have 3 Spindle Cove books and loved all 3. Tessa keeps you in suspense as to what will happen next. All 3 I have read so far are almost 300 pages or more, just ordered Beauty and the Blacksmith but its only about 200 pages. Read tese books you will be glad you did. GJRA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Grest read

    Enjoyed this book. Need to find the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Wow

    This book was great. I love this series. Tessa is one of my favorites. Keep them coming..
    Maida

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Excellent

    This is the third Spindle Cove series book written and one of my favorites. All of the series have quirky characters be it people or animals. This one was about Thorne a man who had hardened his mind and heart due to terrible experiences in his life. Kate had been orphaned and had been treated horrible in her younger years. But when the two find each other all sorts of things happen. They both have to find the good in each other , learn to trust and most of all learn to love themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Tori

    How r u?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Good

    Gooodddddd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Liam

    Jhi

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    GREAT READ

    GREAT READ

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Good story

    This was the first book I read of this author, and it was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Heartwarming and hard to put down!

    I loved this latest addition to the Spindle Cove series. Kate and Thorne were made for each other. He was such a romantic hero and you could really feel Kate's lonely need to part of a family. A great and very emotional story. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3