Customer Reviews for

A Lady by Midnight (Spindle Cove Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

awesome

Sexy funny and witty. Great story line. Iwould highly recommend this one

posted by 14768523 on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Romance

A Lady By Midnight is book 3 in the Spindle Cove series, but can be read as a stand alone book.

*Sigh* A Lady By Midnight. What can I say? All in all, this was a nice, witty romance.

Here you have a heroine who's been orphaned at a young age and does not know wher...
A Lady By Midnight is book 3 in the Spindle Cove series, but can be read as a stand alone book.

*Sigh* A Lady By Midnight. What can I say? All in all, this was a nice, witty romance.

Here you have a heroine who's been orphaned at a young age and does not know where she came from. She's got a birthmark on her face and has always felt less than beautiful. Her life will be transformed one day, at midnight no less. Kind of like Cinderella. I liked Kate, her inner monologue would make me laugh.

Thorne is all you need in a hero. He's a gentleman to Kate, always at her rescue, but he's got a dark, tortured past. He thinks he's not good enough for her. Beta hero alert. Both he and Kate share a bond due to their unhappy childhoods.

Author Tessa Dare has given us a hero with a bit of what I'm thinking is post traumatic stress disorder. The atrocities he saw in the war make him black out sometimes when he's angry or under stress. But, of course, he never harms Kate.
I liked the use of tattoos on Thorne. He has several tats, and he explains them all to Kate. It all adds more mystery to his character.

I enjoyed the scenes between these two. Kate kept trying to pull Thorne in and find out about his shaded past, he kept trying to resist her. As the story flows, Thorne reveals his past and his reasons for keeping Kate away. The sex scenes were spicy hot. Maybe it's just me, but sex scenes in historical/regency romance always make me giggle.

Perhaps her sense of touch was misleading her. Maybe if she looked the organ head-on, it wouldn't seem so intimidating.
She dropped her gaze and pushed his breeches down over his hips.
p.196

As the story flows, Kate finds out hidden secrets about her past, her mother, the Grammercys and even Thorne. In the end, she has an important choice to make, as there is a bit of a twist to story.

There is a fight scene over Kate at one point and the author did a great job with it, she managed to add humor to it as well. It's one of my favorite scenes in the book.

Overall, I felt like A Lady By Midnight could have been slightly shorter. Although I found myself losing interest a little bit towards the middle, I enjoyed the story overall.
A Week to Be Wicked is the first in this series. I might read it one day.

I recommend this one to fans of historical romance.
This review is my honest opinion. I did not receive any type of compensation for reading and reviewing this book. I purchased my copy.

posted by thebookwormNJ on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    Loved this series. So entertaining. I loved all the books from S

    Loved this series. So entertaining. I loved all the books from Spindle Cove series twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    Great

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    Very good

    Tessa is always a good read! Fun, sexy, great characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Loved it

    Its a good book . Couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Loved it!

    Your heart aches and then roots for these two unforgettable characters. Tessa Dare's one of my favorite authors and this one lived up to my expectations!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I stayed up ALL NIGHT reading this book, I just couldn't put it

    I stayed up ALL NIGHT reading this book, I just couldn't put it down for
    something so meager as sleep. Now it's time for the review and I have no
    words, I agonized over this review for HOURS because I wanted it to
    convey as much of my thoughts and feelings without revealing too much of
    the story and I hope I managed. A Lady by Midnight is the lovely and
    optimistic Kate Taylor's turn as heroine and she doesn't waste a second
    of the reader's time. Nor does Spindle Cove's resident grouch and all
    around too serious hero, Corporal Thorne. What caught and held readers'
    attention in the first and second book is definitely present in this
    one. While I loved the heroines and the heroes in A Night to Surrender
    (book 1) and A Week to Be Wicked (Book 2), I really wanted to see Kate
    get her happy ending. She's been through more than Susanna and Minerva
    put together and yet she still finds a reason to keep smiling, and being
    kind to those around her. Kate is a really special character to me. Her
    yearning for people to call "family" and her courage to keep
    going forward when others around her try to put her down was very
    touching but it left her very vulnerable at times. Enter Corporal
    Thorne, now I wasn't sure there was a vulnerable bone in his body. I was
    sure the man was just a breathing block of stone for all the emotion he
    showed, but with Kate's easy and accepting manner she began chipping
    away at that stone block in no time. You have to admire a woman who
    isn't afraid of a man like that. As the story progressed, the reason for
    Thorne's seeming indifference towards Kate is explained and shows him to
    be more than just a militia man. Though he denies he has emotions, let
    alone a heart, his actions continuously make a liar out of his words, he
    became, in my mind a tough as nails teddy bear with teeth, ready to
    defend Kate with his very life. The secret that binds him to Kate,
    without a doubt, when revealed, shows he has had a long standing
    affection for her that survived over many years and grew into a tender,
    healing love that neither expected. While the plot for A Lady by
    Midnight isn't a new one, it definitely doesn't feel overused,
    unimaginative or even boring. It's anything but. I'm always amazed how
    an author can take a well known plot, in this case the "Orphan who
    discovers she has a long lost family but said family may not be what
    they claim so now the hero must step out of the shadows and protect
    her" and spin a lovely tale with all the right ingredients:
    Mystery, suspense, passion, romance, humor and of course a happy ending.
    Kate and Thorne are a great couple, okay technically they've spent most
    of the series doing one or more of the following in regards to the
    other: Glaring, frowning, cursing, staring, insulting or ignoring. So I
    knew it was going to be fun(ny) to watch these two opposites fall in
    love and heal each other. I saw their story as a slow burn, a small
    flame ambling its way towards a powder keg. Well you know what will
    happen once that tiny, slow moving flame reaches the keg right? Exactly
    what happens with Kate and Thorne. Apart they're likable but tortured
    characters. Together they're explosive, interesting and hopeful. I do
    think that Kate has taken up a place in my heart as one of my favorite
    characters ever created because of her need and desire to have a family
    that will claim her and love her no matter what. I fully identify with
    that aspect of her character and understand her wanting a family. I know
    I'd love to be adopted by a family like the Gramercys, eccentricities
    and all. And can we talk about the Gramercys? I know some people may
    not enjoy such a loud, eccentric group of people but I do. They provided
    a bit of comedic relief from all the angst and emotional turmoil going
    on with Kate and Thorne. I do hope that they'll appear in future books
    as I've grown very fond of them. Each member is special to me in a
    different way, though that Evan has all the makings of a hero *hint
    hint* Overall, A Lady by Midnight continues to uphold Tessa Dare's
    reputation for writing breathtakingly romantic stories infused with
    humor and filled with characters that will remain in your memory long
    after you've read the final page.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3