Customer Reviews for

A Land More Kind Than Home

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A different kind of debut book that keeps the reader engaged til

A different kind of debut book that keeps the reader engaged til the very end!

In his debut novel author Wiley Cash tells a chilling tragic tale from the view points of three of the main characters. The first is from Adelaide Lyle, an town's elderly midwife and healer ...
A different kind of debut book that keeps the reader engaged til the very end!

In his debut novel author Wiley Cash tells a chilling tragic tale from the view points of three of the main characters. The first is from Adelaide Lyle, an town's elderly midwife and healer who finds that the things that have been taking place at their local church isn't something that the children should be a part of. When she confronts the pastor, Carson Chambliss, he relents to having the children spend time with her but only if she is willing to keep the secrets of the church to herself. Seeing herself as the children's only protector, she agrees.

The second part of the story continues with a young boy named Jess who has an older brother Christopher that was born a mute. Earning the nickname Stump, which the reader will learn about later in the book, the spend their lazy summer days hunting down salamanders and just being boys in Madison County. Everything was going along perfect until Jess and Christopher spied on his mother one day and after that, nothing would ever be the same again.

The final part of the book picks up with the local town Sheriff, Clem Barefield, who has a bitter and painful past of his own being a sheriff and resident in the small rural town of Marshall. The reader will learn how this man is interconnected with the case of a lifetime when he's called into investigate a murder. What happens then will completely change everyone's lives forever.

I received A Land More Kind Than Home compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. This was an interesting story with a unique twist I can't give away but once you begin reading, the story hooks you until the very final page. In all honesty I didn't see how this plot would turn out in the end, and think that Wiley Cash did a masterful job at creating a book that readers will enjoy for his debut. I rate this book a 4 out of 5 stars and for those that love a bit of suspense with their murder mystery in a town that doesn't want to share their secrets, then this is a must read for you.

posted by Heart2Heart on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This author writes smoothly, is talented, and really captures th

This author writes smoothly, is talented, and really captures the "southern" way of speaking. I'm sure he's accomplished more than I ever could by writing this book. But, saying that, I find that as a reader I found this book depressing and humorless. The way ...
This author writes smoothly, is talented, and really captures the "southern" way of speaking. I'm sure he's accomplished more than I ever could by writing this book. But, saying that, I find that as a reader I found this book depressing and humorless. The way I personally rate a book is by first asking myself am I filled with satisfaction I've read this book, and second do I think about this book for a time after reading, wanting to go back and reread. The answer to both is no. I'll probably try this author again, given his talent, but I'll buy it in a used book store, and won't pay top rate.

posted by ac123 on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A different kind of debut book that keeps the reader engaged til

    A different kind of debut book that keeps the reader engaged til the very end!

    In his debut novel author Wiley Cash tells a chilling tragic tale from the view points of three of the main characters. The first is from Adelaide Lyle, an town's elderly midwife and healer who finds that the things that have been taking place at their local church isn't something that the children should be a part of. When she confronts the pastor, Carson Chambliss, he relents to having the children spend time with her but only if she is willing to keep the secrets of the church to herself. Seeing herself as the children's only protector, she agrees.

    The second part of the story continues with a young boy named Jess who has an older brother Christopher that was born a mute. Earning the nickname Stump, which the reader will learn about later in the book, the spend their lazy summer days hunting down salamanders and just being boys in Madison County. Everything was going along perfect until Jess and Christopher spied on his mother one day and after that, nothing would ever be the same again.

    The final part of the book picks up with the local town Sheriff, Clem Barefield, who has a bitter and painful past of his own being a sheriff and resident in the small rural town of Marshall. The reader will learn how this man is interconnected with the case of a lifetime when he's called into investigate a murder. What happens then will completely change everyone's lives forever.

    I received A Land More Kind Than Home compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. This was an interesting story with a unique twist I can't give away but once you begin reading, the story hooks you until the very final page. In all honesty I didn't see how this plot would turn out in the end, and think that Wiley Cash did a masterful job at creating a book that readers will enjoy for his debut. I rate this book a 4 out of 5 stars and for those that love a bit of suspense with their murder mystery in a town that doesn't want to share their secrets, then this is a must read for you.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    This novel kept me up to finish! This is a beautifully narrated

    This novel kept me up to finish! This is a beautifully narrated book by three and unlikely narrators. The characters are profoundly real, the mystery a moving one, and the answers are not simple when human nature is involved. Faulkner and Flannery O"Connor will rest in their graves knowing that Southern Gothic fiction alive and well in 2012. I just finished The Cove, by Ron Rush, and it was another book I couldn't put down in the same Southern Gothic genre. I cannot wait to see what these wonderful authors write next!

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Great first novel

    This was a fantastic book! A little bit Faulkneresque in the sense that the time and place and the characters come alive! Definitely will read whatever Cashs next book is..a great new talent with a strong literary voice!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    This author writes smoothly, is talented, and really captures th

    This author writes smoothly, is talented, and really captures the "southern" way of speaking. I'm sure he's accomplished more than I ever could by writing this book. But, saying that, I find that as a reader I found this book depressing and humorless. The way I personally rate a book is by first asking myself am I filled with satisfaction I've read this book, and second do I think about this book for a time after reading, wanting to go back and reread. The answer to both is no. I'll probably try this author again, given his talent, but I'll buy it in a used book store, and won't pay top rate.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Dark and enigmatic, A LAND MORE KIND THAN HOME, had me captivate

    Dark and enigmatic, A LAND MORE KIND THAN HOME, had me captivated from its opening pages. As soon as I heard Adelaide Lyle speak, I knew that Wiley Cash was a talent to be reckoned with. The voices of the three narrators Cash uses to tell this story--Adelaide being my personal favorite--are so hauntingly authentic and vividly rendered that I was immediately reminded of Faulkner. Yes, that is high praise, but it is also due praise, as it is a rare talent that can so perfectly evoke a character or a place.

    If you love Southern gothic fiction, or literary fiction with a touch of mystery, then I would highly recommend this book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Land More Kind than Home by Wiley Cash is a novel tak­ing plac

    A Land More Kind than Home by Wiley Cash is a novel tak­ing place in a small town in North Car­olina. I saw a lot of great reviews and arti­cles about this book and thought that I might enjoy the story as well.

    Jess Hall is a young man who has a lust for life and adven­ture, he is also pro­tec­tive of his older brother, Christo­pher, who is a mute and has devel­op­men­tal prob­lems. One day Christo­pher, also known as Stump, sees some­thing he’s not sup­posed to and the con­se­quences are enormous.

    Jess, Ade­laide Lyle, the town’s mid­wife, and Clem Bare­field, the sher­iff, all nar­rate the story with their own unique per­spec­tive and painful history.

    I had a tough time get­ting into A Land More Kind than Home by Wiley Cash. The first 80 pages or so seemed to drag and only when the sher­iff was intro­duced did the story pick up. even though the book is cat­a­loged under the “mys­tery” genre, the story is pretty much straight­for­ward and there is no mys­tery per-se.

    From a tech­ni­cal aspect, this is a superb book. Mr. Wiley is extremely tal­ented and even though I might not have enjoyed the whole of the story, I cer­tainly enjoyed embrac­ing the lit­er­ary aspects of the nar­ra­tive. The real star of the book is the atmos­phere, which gives this time­less story a rich and expan­sive feeling.

    The set of char­ac­ters is fan­tas­tic; each one of them prob­a­bly deserves a book of their own. I don’t say this often (actu­ally, this is the first time I ever said this) but it would have ben­e­fited the book to have plus or minus 50 pages more of char­ac­ter devel­op­ment. The story is slow and steady, the drama builds up slowly but ends very quickly with­out giv­ing any char­ac­ter it’s just due.

    How­ever, many things hap­pen in the book, a lot of innu­en­dos and dark under­tones which could give book clubs hours of fun dis­cussing what was, could have been or would have been in the story (see the Read­ing Group Guide). It’s too bad that the author chose to tell the story from the per­spec­tive of three char­ac­ters that all share the same per­spec­tive; it would have been inter­est­ing if another char­ac­ter who doesn't share their point of view has his or her say.

    A Land More Kind than Home is a smooth, ele­gant and enjoy­able novel. The char­ac­ters are vivid and inter­est­ing. Mr. Cash has fan­tas­tic tal­ent which is sure to make him a ris­ing star in the lit­er­ary world and I am wait­ing to read more from his pen.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    I live in the foothills of western North Carolina. I am attracte

    I live in the foothills of western North Carolina. I am attracted to novels that take place in this area. Author Wiley Cash has written an excellent story about

    a mountain boy's viewpoint of circumstances involving his parents and people living near him. I couldnt put it down until I finished it! Mr. Cash reminds me of other favorite authors, Ron Rash and Harper Lee. I have recommended this book to many of my friends and offer the same to other readers. I anticipate future writings of Wiley Cash in the hopefully near future. There will always be stories waiting to be told in the mountains of North Carolina. I rate this book a 5 star. Most sincerely, Anonymous

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Disappointing

    To begin with my family is from Marshall. My mother grew up there and I grew up in Mars Hill 15 minutes from Marshall. I know that it is fiction, but the author could have got his facts of the county correct. The only thing in the book that fit the county was river road. He didn't even get the distance to Asheville correct. Very disappointing and not researched obviously.





    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Save Your Money

    Just finished this last night. I scanned through so many pages just to get to the point. The book had a Great Story Line however it seemd to drag on and on. If I could have asked for a refund I would have after paying 12.99. It was depressing and no uplifitng moments that made you feel good about reading a book. The writing was so blotchy I just lost interest.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Loved this book from page 1.

    Loved this book from page 1.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Boo

    Once again another possible good book ruined by plot spoilers giving away the entire storyline in their reviews. Please stop doing that. Ppl like to read a book for themselves, not have someone else read it for them, them regurgitate it back to them. If you cannot stop giving a book report, then stop giving a review at all.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    This book worked for me. The people came alive and the author ha

    This book worked for me. The people came alive and the author has some very real talent. I will look forward to the next book he writes. I would like the next novel to be longer; Mr. Cash would for certian have the ability to expand his charecters to their full potential.
    Now and again you stumble across a book that makes you want more. This is one of them!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Very engaging writing and story telling

    A lifestyle not familiar to me but brought to life in this tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    A must read!

    I love to read, and as an English Literature teacher I am fortunate to be able to share this passion with my students. I read this book in less than two days. I just couldn't put it down! I could barely wait to tell my colleagues and students about it! It is truly the most engaging story I have had the pleasure of reading in quite some time. I look forward to reading this most-talented author's next book. This is definitely a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Amazing story that kept me involved throughout every chapter. B

    Amazing story that kept me involved throughout every chapter. Beautiful, descriptive writing with well developed characters. I love to read about family dynamics and relationships. Also love that it is set in the South!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    I read this wonderful book in 1 day. I kept telling myself that

    I read this wonderful book in 1 day. I kept telling myself that I would read just 5 more pages, and then in those 5 pages something else exciting would happen and I would have to read on to find out how it turned out. Could not put it down. I enjoyed it so much, and look forward to this author's next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Sometimes a book comes along that blends all the elements of a t

    Sometimes a book comes along that blends all the elements of a tradition of writing with its own unique flavor, a wonderful smoothie. A Land More Kind than Home is that book, in the Southern tradition. Through three fully-developed narrators with unique voices, Cash takes the reader on a journey through his own home, through his own family--all through a window of fictional panes. I couldn't put the book down once I started, and I'd read it again and again. Harper's To Kill a Mockingbird and Carver's What We Talk About When We Talk About Love are the only other books I can honestly say that about. Pretty good company.

    This is my top pick of 2012 and the paperback to get in 2013.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    This is the first novel by Cash and it definitely reminds me of

    This is the first novel by Cash and it definitely reminds me of the terrific books of award winners John Hart and Tom Franklin. I enjoyed the book and believe I've found another award winner in Cash! The story is expertly told by three characters--an 8 year old boy, an old woman, and an experienced older sherif. The themes of survivors rather than victims, love from many angles, and small town involvement in everyone's lives is written beautifully. The mystery is slyly slipped in the compelling first person narratives. A real winner f

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Exploration Of Family And Religion

    The mountains of North Carolina have their own culture. The families have lived in their own specific valley for years and everyone knows everyone else's business; whose farm is doing well, who is drinking a bit too much, who is sleeping with whom. It is a culture ripe to grow feuds; an atmosphere where wrongs can be brooded about and allowed to fester for generations. Loyalty and betrayal are everyday affairs that echo across the years.

    It is also a culture in which religion can play a large part. This is the land of small rural churches where some of the more fundamentalist beliefs play out. Churches where snake-handling or poison drinking to prove belief that God will protect the righteous is not unusual. Churches where charismatic preachers can hold huge influence over the families that attend their churches.

    Jess Hall is a curious young boy, living on a farm with his parents and his older brother, Christopher, known as Stump to everyone. Stump is a mute and Jess is protective of him even though he is the younger. The boys stumble into a secret that will have consequences that impact the entire community and make life change in ways they could never foresee.

    A Land More Kind Than Home is Wiley Cash's debut novel. He grew up in this area of North Carolina and his portrayal of the area brings it to life. The plotting is intricate and the pacing is excellent. The characters are portrayed realistically. This book is recommended for readers interested in family relationships.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Not what I expected.  Disappointing.  Too many characters to fil

    Not what I expected.  Disappointing.  Too many characters to fill in the space of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9