Customer Reviews for

A Land More Kind Than Home

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

A different kind of debut book that keeps the reader engaged til

A different kind of debut book that keeps the reader engaged til the very end!

In his debut novel author Wiley Cash tells a chilling tragic tale from the view points of three of the main characters. The first is from Adelaide Lyle, an town's elderly midwife and healer ...
A different kind of debut book that keeps the reader engaged til the very end!

In his debut novel author Wiley Cash tells a chilling tragic tale from the view points of three of the main characters. The first is from Adelaide Lyle, an town's elderly midwife and healer who finds that the things that have been taking place at their local church isn't something that the children should be a part of. When she confronts the pastor, Carson Chambliss, he relents to having the children spend time with her but only if she is willing to keep the secrets of the church to herself. Seeing herself as the children's only protector, she agrees.

The second part of the story continues with a young boy named Jess who has an older brother Christopher that was born a mute. Earning the nickname Stump, which the reader will learn about later in the book, the spend their lazy summer days hunting down salamanders and just being boys in Madison County. Everything was going along perfect until Jess and Christopher spied on his mother one day and after that, nothing would ever be the same again.

The final part of the book picks up with the local town Sheriff, Clem Barefield, who has a bitter and painful past of his own being a sheriff and resident in the small rural town of Marshall. The reader will learn how this man is interconnected with the case of a lifetime when he's called into investigate a murder. What happens then will completely change everyone's lives forever.

I received A Land More Kind Than Home compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. This was an interesting story with a unique twist I can't give away but once you begin reading, the story hooks you until the very final page. In all honesty I didn't see how this plot would turn out in the end, and think that Wiley Cash did a masterful job at creating a book that readers will enjoy for his debut. I rate this book a 4 out of 5 stars and for those that love a bit of suspense with their murder mystery in a town that doesn't want to share their secrets, then this is a must read for you.

posted by Heart2Heart on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

This author writes smoothly, is talented, and really captures th

This author writes smoothly, is talented, and really captures the "southern" way of speaking. I'm sure he's accomplished more than I ever could by writing this book. But, saying that, I find that as a reader I found this book depressing and humorless. The way ...
This author writes smoothly, is talented, and really captures the "southern" way of speaking. I'm sure he's accomplished more than I ever could by writing this book. But, saying that, I find that as a reader I found this book depressing and humorless. The way I personally rate a book is by first asking myself am I filled with satisfaction I've read this book, and second do I think about this book for a time after reading, wanting to go back and reread. The answer to both is no. I'll probably try this author again, given his talent, but I'll buy it in a used book store, and won't pay top rate.

posted by ac123 on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A different kind of debut book that keeps the reader engaged til

    A different kind of debut book that keeps the reader engaged til the very end!

    In his debut novel author Wiley Cash tells a chilling tragic tale from the view points of three of the main characters. The first is from Adelaide Lyle, an town's elderly midwife and healer who finds that the things that have been taking place at their local church isn't something that the children should be a part of. When she confronts the pastor, Carson Chambliss, he relents to having the children spend time with her but only if she is willing to keep the secrets of the church to herself. Seeing herself as the children's only protector, she agrees.

    The second part of the story continues with a young boy named Jess who has an older brother Christopher that was born a mute. Earning the nickname Stump, which the reader will learn about later in the book, the spend their lazy summer days hunting down salamanders and just being boys in Madison County. Everything was going along perfect until Jess and Christopher spied on his mother one day and after that, nothing would ever be the same again.

    The final part of the book picks up with the local town Sheriff, Clem Barefield, who has a bitter and painful past of his own being a sheriff and resident in the small rural town of Marshall. The reader will learn how this man is interconnected with the case of a lifetime when he's called into investigate a murder. What happens then will completely change everyone's lives forever.

    I received A Land More Kind Than Home compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. This was an interesting story with a unique twist I can't give away but once you begin reading, the story hooks you until the very final page. In all honesty I didn't see how this plot would turn out in the end, and think that Wiley Cash did a masterful job at creating a book that readers will enjoy for his debut. I rate this book a 4 out of 5 stars and for those that love a bit of suspense with their murder mystery in a town that doesn't want to share their secrets, then this is a must read for you.

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    This book worked for me. The people came alive and the author ha

    This book worked for me. The people came alive and the author has some very real talent. I will look forward to the next book he writes. I would like the next novel to be longer; Mr. Cash would for certian have the ability to expand his charecters to their full potential.
    Now and again you stumble across a book that makes you want more. This is one of them!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Amazing story that kept me involved throughout every chapter. B

    Amazing story that kept me involved throughout every chapter. Beautiful, descriptive writing with well developed characters. I love to read about family dynamics and relationships. Also love that it is set in the South!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Exploration Of Family And Religion

    The mountains of North Carolina have their own culture. The families have lived in their own specific valley for years and everyone knows everyone else's business; whose farm is doing well, who is drinking a bit too much, who is sleeping with whom. It is a culture ripe to grow feuds; an atmosphere where wrongs can be brooded about and allowed to fester for generations. Loyalty and betrayal are everyday affairs that echo across the years.

    It is also a culture in which religion can play a large part. This is the land of small rural churches where some of the more fundamentalist beliefs play out. Churches where snake-handling or poison drinking to prove belief that God will protect the righteous is not unusual. Churches where charismatic preachers can hold huge influence over the families that attend their churches.

    Jess Hall is a curious young boy, living on a farm with his parents and his older brother, Christopher, known as Stump to everyone. Stump is a mute and Jess is protective of him even though he is the younger. The boys stumble into a secret that will have consequences that impact the entire community and make life change in ways they could never foresee.

    A Land More Kind Than Home is Wiley Cash's debut novel. He grew up in this area of North Carolina and his portrayal of the area brings it to life. The plotting is intricate and the pacing is excellent. The characters are portrayed realistically. This book is recommended for readers interested in family relationships.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Recommend

    Very enjoyable book from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    Suspenseful

    A very good story. The amount of power the "pastor" of the local church has over the community is haunting. This story is both heart breaking and suspenseful. Definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Loved this book.

    Looking forward to reading more by this gentleman. Love stories that take place in the south

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Intense an unexpected

    I was unsure about this story the first few chapters but found mysel drawn in and curious about these lives that connected. Highly recommended read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Help idk somethin

    How many pages is this good looking book:-!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Enjoyed

    I enjoyed this story by a new author to me. I will recommend to my reading friends. It was sad, but well written. Poor Jess, Ben and poor, poor Stump. I am sure most reading my review won't care, but I was actually in Asheville, NC for the 1st time for 2 days a week before reading this story - what a coincidence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Gripping and beautifully descriptive

    Quite haunting and memorable. Plot driven and evocotive. Recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Good book

    I enjoyed this book. It was good reading and kept me intrigued the whole time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    It was a great writing, even thou I was torn and wanted to put t

    It was a great writing, even thou I was torn and wanted to put the book down couple of times during first couple of chapters. I was not too happy about the portrayal of the church and faith. However keeping in mind that it is fiction and things of that sort happen in the world I have persevered. It was a sad book to say the least however very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Choices

    Everyone makes choices, everyone has secrets and in a small North Carolina town everyone is affected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    If you like nostalgia, human interest, and suspense, you will enjoy this book.

    The book is written in the style of Thomas wolfe and really gives the reader the "feel" of a small southern town. The characters are described in thoughtful style. The writer seems to have a realy understanding of customs in remote areas of the southern mountains.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    Selecting a book to read is part of the adventure of reading....

    Selecting a book to read is part of the adventure of reading........"a land more kind than home" is an example of time well spent. The character development and the setting descriptions blend themselves together to create a powerful reading experience. Author Wiley Cash tells the tortured of a family and community that makes the reader feel a bond to the community being written about. Using a three character point-of-view to tell the story, readers will be captivated by the perspectives of the characters' events. When an author is able to create a character whom the reader cares about from start to finish, the author has accomplished a goal that is difficult to achieve. The plot connections from the past to the present are top-notch creating a book that is definitely worthy of everyone's reading attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    A story of people and place

    I don't normally read crime fiction, but I was persuaded by the reviews and plot description and I was not disappointed. Quite the opposite. This is a story about specific people (not stereotypes) in a specific place and what happens to them. The writing is strong and really explores how these people react to their circumstances. I especially enjoyed the perspective of the boy. Oh, yeah, and it happens to center around bad stuff, but I wouldn't read it for that, I'd read it for is exploration of these people in North Carolina. Kudos to the author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Ahh what a story, what a story.  A Land More Kind Than Home is a

    Ahh what a story, what a story.  A Land More Kind Than Home is a contemporary southern story about the power that some people weld.  It's told through the three perspectives of Jess, a 9 year-old boy,  Clem, the local sherriff, and Addie, a local healer and elderly spinster.  Bad things have occurred in the nearby church and Addie realizes that she didn't do enough to prevent it.  Jess is caught in the middle as he tries to protect his older brother, Stump, but finds himself in the middle of events that he doesn't quite understand.  Clem must fight through his own tragedy and solve the new tragic mystery.  All the characters search for answers while reflecting on past events in their lives.  It is only Jess who knows the truth, but he isn't old enough to see it for what it is.




    Oh how I enjoyed this book.  I found the Southern setting to be both charming and authentic.  I also loved the writing style which created a mesmerizing simple tale.  Each voice stood out and I felt I could hear the characters in my hear oh so clearly.  This story is wonderful because it is unveiled in such a magical and engrossing way.  It isn't quite a mystery.  The reader quickly recognizes the coming issues and knows how the events unfolded.  However, the characters are unaware and we follow Jess, Addie, and Clem as they search for answers and the events unfold.




    Overall, you can finish this book in one sitting easily.  It's easy to fly through.  It's the kind of book that you don't think you'll love but the writing is so spectacular that it picks you up and sets you down in a small town and it makes you love it.  Even if the description doesn't rock your boat, you should read it anyway.  It is poetic and easy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    I recommend this book to anyone interested in Carolina mountain people.

    This book is interestingly written. It held my attention throughout. The characters were made real, and the story cleverly woven. The sad lives of these people were buffered by their acceptance of fate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    To be honest, I initially purchased this book because I had know

    To be honest, I initially purchased this book because I had known the author casually, and thought that it was pretty cool that someone I know wrote a book. :) Wasn't sure what to expect...but I had barely started when I completely forgot about knowing the author, and became 100% engrossed in the characters and the story. The characters have honest voices, honest emotions, and seem as though they are real people. The plot moves quickly, and pulls you in so that you don't want to stop reading (I have a crazy job, and still couldn't resist finishing this in about 3 evenings). Lent my copy to a friend, who also devoured it and had nothing but great things to say.
    Looking forward to reading Mr.Cash's next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3