Customer Reviews for

A Land More Kind Than Home

Average Rating 4
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

A different kind of debut book that keeps the reader engaged til

A different kind of debut book that keeps the reader engaged til the very end!

In his debut novel author Wiley Cash tells a chilling tragic tale from the view points of three of the main characters. The first is from Adelaide Lyle, an town's elderly midwife and healer ...
A different kind of debut book that keeps the reader engaged til the very end!

In his debut novel author Wiley Cash tells a chilling tragic tale from the view points of three of the main characters. The first is from Adelaide Lyle, an town's elderly midwife and healer who finds that the things that have been taking place at their local church isn't something that the children should be a part of. When she confronts the pastor, Carson Chambliss, he relents to having the children spend time with her but only if she is willing to keep the secrets of the church to herself. Seeing herself as the children's only protector, she agrees.

The second part of the story continues with a young boy named Jess who has an older brother Christopher that was born a mute. Earning the nickname Stump, which the reader will learn about later in the book, the spend their lazy summer days hunting down salamanders and just being boys in Madison County. Everything was going along perfect until Jess and Christopher spied on his mother one day and after that, nothing would ever be the same again.

The final part of the book picks up with the local town Sheriff, Clem Barefield, who has a bitter and painful past of his own being a sheriff and resident in the small rural town of Marshall. The reader will learn how this man is interconnected with the case of a lifetime when he's called into investigate a murder. What happens then will completely change everyone's lives forever.

I received A Land More Kind Than Home compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. This was an interesting story with a unique twist I can't give away but once you begin reading, the story hooks you until the very final page. In all honesty I didn't see how this plot would turn out in the end, and think that Wiley Cash did a masterful job at creating a book that readers will enjoy for his debut. I rate this book a 4 out of 5 stars and for those that love a bit of suspense with their murder mystery in a town that doesn't want to share their secrets, then this is a must read for you.

posted by Heart2Heart on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This author writes smoothly, is talented, and really captures th

This author writes smoothly, is talented, and really captures the "southern" way of speaking. I'm sure he's accomplished more than I ever could by writing this book. But, saying that, I find that as a reader I found this book depressing and humorless. The way ...
This author writes smoothly, is talented, and really captures the "southern" way of speaking. I'm sure he's accomplished more than I ever could by writing this book. But, saying that, I find that as a reader I found this book depressing and humorless. The way I personally rate a book is by first asking myself am I filled with satisfaction I've read this book, and second do I think about this book for a time after reading, wanting to go back and reread. The answer to both is no. I'll probably try this author again, given his talent, but I'll buy it in a used book store, and won't pay top rate.

posted by ac123 on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    This novel kept me up to finish! This is a beautifully narrated

    This novel kept me up to finish! This is a beautifully narrated book by three and unlikely narrators. The characters are profoundly real, the mystery a moving one, and the answers are not simple when human nature is involved. Faulkner and Flannery O"Connor will rest in their graves knowing that Southern Gothic fiction alive and well in 2012. I just finished The Cove, by Ron Rush, and it was another book I couldn't put down in the same Southern Gothic genre. I cannot wait to see what these wonderful authors write next!

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Great first novel

    This was a fantastic book! A little bit Faulkneresque in the sense that the time and place and the characters come alive! Definitely will read whatever Cashs next book is..a great new talent with a strong literary voice!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Dark and enigmatic, A LAND MORE KIND THAN HOME, had me captivate

    Dark and enigmatic, A LAND MORE KIND THAN HOME, had me captivated from its opening pages. As soon as I heard Adelaide Lyle speak, I knew that Wiley Cash was a talent to be reckoned with. The voices of the three narrators Cash uses to tell this story--Adelaide being my personal favorite--are so hauntingly authentic and vividly rendered that I was immediately reminded of Faulkner. Yes, that is high praise, but it is also due praise, as it is a rare talent that can so perfectly evoke a character or a place.

    If you love Southern gothic fiction, or literary fiction with a touch of mystery, then I would highly recommend this book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    I live in the foothills of western North Carolina. I am attracte

    I live in the foothills of western North Carolina. I am attracted to novels that take place in this area. Author Wiley Cash has written an excellent story about

    a mountain boy's viewpoint of circumstances involving his parents and people living near him. I couldnt put it down until I finished it! Mr. Cash reminds me of other favorite authors, Ron Rash and Harper Lee. I have recommended this book to many of my friends and offer the same to other readers. I anticipate future writings of Wiley Cash in the hopefully near future. There will always be stories waiting to be told in the mountains of North Carolina. I rate this book a 5 star. Most sincerely, Anonymous

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Loved this book from page 1.

    Loved this book from page 1.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Very engaging writing and story telling

    A lifestyle not familiar to me but brought to life in this tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    A must read!

    I love to read, and as an English Literature teacher I am fortunate to be able to share this passion with my students. I read this book in less than two days. I just couldn't put it down! I could barely wait to tell my colleagues and students about it! It is truly the most engaging story I have had the pleasure of reading in quite some time. I look forward to reading this most-talented author's next book. This is definitely a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    I read this wonderful book in 1 day. I kept telling myself that

    I read this wonderful book in 1 day. I kept telling myself that I would read just 5 more pages, and then in those 5 pages something else exciting would happen and I would have to read on to find out how it turned out. Could not put it down. I enjoyed it so much, and look forward to this author's next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Sometimes a book comes along that blends all the elements of a t

    Sometimes a book comes along that blends all the elements of a tradition of writing with its own unique flavor, a wonderful smoothie. A Land More Kind than Home is that book, in the Southern tradition. Through three fully-developed narrators with unique voices, Cash takes the reader on a journey through his own home, through his own family--all through a window of fictional panes. I couldn't put the book down once I started, and I'd read it again and again. Harper's To Kill a Mockingbird and Carver's What We Talk About When We Talk About Love are the only other books I can honestly say that about. Pretty good company.

    This is my top pick of 2012 and the paperback to get in 2013.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    This is the first novel by Cash and it definitely reminds me of

    This is the first novel by Cash and it definitely reminds me of the terrific books of award winners John Hart and Tom Franklin. I enjoyed the book and believe I've found another award winner in Cash! The story is expertly told by three characters--an 8 year old boy, an old woman, and an experienced older sherif. The themes of survivors rather than victims, love from many angles, and small town involvement in everyone's lives is written beautifully. The mystery is slyly slipped in the compelling first person narratives. A real winner f

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Best coming of age story in a long time!

    This is quite possibly one of the best coming of age stories since TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD (which was the singular reason I became a high school English teacher, so this is saying A LOT). Every few years, I read something that affects me so deeply that I cannot forget it, and this book is that kind of novel.

    The story is rich, told from multiple viewpoints. The plot moves slowly at first as Cash sets the stage, but once you become invested in the characters, it flies. And the characters are beautifully written, 3 dimensional people who I could see, hear, feel. I cared about them and had many moments I gasped at the sadness, injustice and despair many of them faced. I wept openly at the end of this novel (memories of the tears I shed regularly when Scout says "Hey, Boo"), but part of my emotion was truly that it was over, and I was no longer privy to the thoughts and lives of these characters. Cash is an author to WATCH!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Great read

    Great story kept me turning the pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Loved this story

    well written, interesting story. grabbed me from the beginning and held me through the end. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Powerful, Masterful storyteller

    First read from this author. I chose it 'cause I needed a "feel good "story. That it wasn't. Do not let this discourage you...it was so much more. To Mr Wiley Cash: will certainly read more of your books, and thank you so much for sharing this one. DK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Loved every page!

    The sample alone had me hooked! I couldnt put this book down. Loved it!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Yigjut

    Tuvn fhtu .vmvnsjfjcnbngjcn tu bmvnvmbmgje gj ggj .jdju

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    I loved this book. Couldn't put it down. Can't wait to read mor

    I loved this book. Couldn't put it down. Can't wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great book

    TThis book started out slow, but very soon you are so engrossed that you can't put it down. The characters are real for that time period and the ending its totally different from what I expected. It's a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Title Says a Lot

    I had a hard time putting this one down. The characters were realistic and the setting not unlike what is found in remote mountain communities. I could relate and that was what made for a good read. Reader beware that this is not a light story. In fact, it was pretty dark in places. Seeing it through the eyes of a child made it difficult at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    a lovely book

    Sort of Carson McCullers-ish. A look at an American culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5