Customer Reviews for

The A-List: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 339 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

Anna, Ben, Sam, Cammie, Dee, and Adam made readers fall in love with THE A-LIST. Now it's time for those A-Listers to take a bow and the next generation to take the stage.

First there is Amelie Adams, the Hollywood starlet. Famous for her role as the Fairy Pri...
Anna, Ben, Sam, Cammie, Dee, and Adam made readers fall in love with THE A-LIST. Now it's time for those A-Listers to take a bow and the next generation to take the stage.

First there is Amelie Adams, the Hollywood starlet. Famous for her role as the Fairy Princess, Amelie has little girls screaming, asking for her autograph. Unfortunately, starting out as an actress on a child's show never benefits you when you're trying to land a more mature role. Amelie is ready to grow up and break out of her good-girl shell. She is ready to show the world that she has more potential, but is the world ready for her?

Then there is Myla Everhart. Famous just for being adopted by Hollywood's golden couple, Barbar (short for Barley) Everhart and Lailah Barton, Myla has the paparazzi tracking her every move. Every time she turns around, not only is a picture taken, but it seems like her parents adopt another child to be her sibling. However, that really doesn't matter to Myla, since the only thing she cares about right now is her longtime boyfriend, Ash.

Ash Gilmour, the son of record producer Gordon Gilmour, has everything going for him, but his laid-back exterior gives no sign of it. Together, Ash and Myla are Hollywood's next golden couple. Of course, this is Hollywood, and relationships always take a turn for the worst. Are they any different?

Next is Jacob Porter-Goldsmith. With a mom as a publicist, Jacob knows who is falling and who is rising in Hollywood. Jacob has always been the geek, the one who never has had a girlfriend, the one who has never had a girl even look his way. But that has all changed. Back from math camp, Jacob has an entirely new look, going from looking like a dork to being transformed into a complete hottie. He knows now he can get any girl he wants, but will a certain starlet he has an eye for look his way?

Last but certainly not least is Jojo. Nowhere near the other A-Listers, literally, Jojo has managed to adapt to her normal life with two dads and a wardrobe that isn't fit for a celebrity. Her life takes a major turn when she discovers who her biological parents are. With that kind of connection she just entered into the A-List world by default. But is the A-List that welcoming? It's not going to be easy, but Jojo is determined to be accepted, even if she has to play a little dirty.

This new cast of A-Listers are just as devious, scandalous, and gorgeous as the first, something fans of the first generation have grown accustomed to. Fans of the original series will not be disappointed. It will be good to see how this series progresses - can it possibly outlast the original?

posted by TeensReadToo on January 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Overrated

My friend suggested this book to me, and of course I read it. It absolutely sucked, and was very poor and overrated. Now my friend has been acting out of control, and I can totally see why. I suggest you read the books I have recommended.

posted by 886927 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 339 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    Anna, Ben, Sam, Cammie, Dee, and Adam made readers fall in love with THE A-LIST. Now it's time for those A-Listers to take a bow and the next generation to take the stage. <BR/><BR/>First there is Amelie Adams, the Hollywood starlet. Famous for her role as the Fairy Princess, Amelie has little girls screaming, asking for her autograph. Unfortunately, starting out as an actress on a child's show never benefits you when you're trying to land a more mature role. Amelie is ready to grow up and break out of her good-girl shell. She is ready to show the world that she has more potential, but is the world ready for her? <BR/><BR/>Then there is Myla Everhart. Famous just for being adopted by Hollywood's golden couple, Barbar (short for Barley) Everhart and Lailah Barton, Myla has the paparazzi tracking her every move. Every time she turns around, not only is a picture taken, but it seems like her parents adopt another child to be her sibling. However, that really doesn't matter to Myla, since the only thing she cares about right now is her longtime boyfriend, Ash. <BR/><BR/>Ash Gilmour, the son of record producer Gordon Gilmour, has everything going for him, but his laid-back exterior gives no sign of it. Together, Ash and Myla are Hollywood's next golden couple. Of course, this is Hollywood, and relationships always take a turn for the worst. Are they any different? <BR/><BR/>Next is Jacob Porter-Goldsmith. With a mom as a publicist, Jacob knows who is falling and who is rising in Hollywood. Jacob has always been the geek, the one who never has had a girlfriend, the one who has never had a girl even look his way. But that has all changed. Back from math camp, Jacob has an entirely new look, going from looking like a dork to being transformed into a complete hottie. He knows now he can get any girl he wants, but will a certain starlet he has an eye for look his way? <BR/><BR/>Last but certainly not least is Jojo. Nowhere near the other A-Listers, literally, Jojo has managed to adapt to her normal life with two dads and a wardrobe that isn't fit for a celebrity. Her life takes a major turn when she discovers who her biological parents are. With that kind of connection she just entered into the A-List world by default. But is the A-List that welcoming? It's not going to be easy, but Jojo is determined to be accepted, even if she has to play a little dirty. <BR/><BR/>This new cast of A-Listers are just as devious, scandalous, and gorgeous as the first, something fans of the first generation have grown accustomed to. Fans of the original series will not be disappointed. It will be good to see how this series progresses - can it possibly outlast the original?

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Overrated

    My friend suggested this book to me, and of course I read it. It absolutely sucked, and was very poor and overrated. Now my friend has been acting out of control, and I can totally see why. I suggest you read the books I have recommended.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    An AMAZING book!

    Okay, so i'm not typically a very fast reader or frequent reader. But when I picked up the A-list and started reading it, I literally could not stop reading it! It's really suspenseful from cover-to-cover, and it's really addicting as well. Fans of the Clique Series and Gossip Girl would absolutely love this book. So I totally recommend buying this book if you are thinking about it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    boring

    this book is boring. if i were u i wouldnt waste money or time on it. The "talent" novels are better. i seriously dont like The A-List.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    HollyWood Royalty

    This book was fun to read. the characters ranged anywhere from sweet and innocent to mean and vicious. It kept you wondering what these hollywood starlets were going to do and if they'd succeed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Spinoffs!

    This book was a fast read, and pretty much had my attention from the very beginning. Her writing style is just like the original series, so it is easy to jump right into, and pretty much get hooked. I loved the plot. The characters brought plenty of drama and romance, just what everyone wants to read! I would reccomend this book to anyone who liked the original series. It's a fun book,perfect filler for in between reading your series'.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2003

    It was Good!

    I liked it. It was a face paced fun-book. I read it in the car in one sitting! I hope there's a sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Quick

    It is a quick easy and entertaining book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    You Are Who You Are

    Summary: Anna Percy a seventeen year old prep school New Yorker is tired of living in the shadow of her best friend Cyn, so Anna decides to fly to Las Angeles and stay there with her dad for six months. Anna is ready to jump out of her sheltered life and become a different person in Las Angeles. On Anna's plane ride to L.A she meets a cute boy from Princeton, Ben Birnbaum. Ben invites Anna to Jackson Sharpe's wedding (a famous director) on New Years and Anna agrees to go with him. Anna's plane lands in L.A; she is so excited to see her father she has not seen him in years since her parents got divorced. Unfortunately, her father is not very reliable; he did not pick her up from the airport or meet her for lunch like he promised to. Anna goes to the wedding with Ben and meets his friends, Sam Dee, and Cammie, there. Sam, Dee, and Cammie all have a crush on Ben, so they are very jealous that Anna is on a date with Ben. The three girls do all they can to make this New Year's Eve the worst day of Anna's life, but Anna is not affected by their shenanigans and has a great night with Ben. Ben and Anna then leave the party to go have their own party on a yacht. The night was very romantic for the both of them, but Ben left early and left Anna stranded all alone on the yacht. Anna was very upset with him, so two days later when Ben tried to apologize to her Anna told him that he lost his chance with her and she never talked to Ben Birnbaum again. Major Messages/Themes: The major message or theme of The A-List is to be yourself, but to have confidence and strength within yourself. Anna wanted to go to Las Angeles to be reborn and not be the same old boring person, but when she goes to L.A she realizes she does not need to change who she is she just needs to be proud and confident about herself. In the past Anna would have forgiven Ben and given him a second chance, because she was afraid to express what she truly feels, but for the first time in her life she has the confidence and strength to tell Ben that he has lost his chance with her. Likes and Dislikes: the things I liked about, The A-List, are the overall theme of the book and the cliffhangers in the book. I personally love the theme of the book; it is an inspiring theme that makes the book seem so realistic. The book maybe fiction, but what happens in it is something that can happen in real life, which makes it easier to relate to. I also like how the author left some cliffhangers at the end of each chapter; they always made me want to read more. The only thing I dislike about The A-List is how the story ends; Dean (the author) ends the book by Anna walking away from Ben, but Dean does not tell how the rest of Anna's time went in L.A I found the end of the book almost frustrating, because I wanted to know what happened in the rest of the time Anna was in L.A. Why Someone Should Read This: I recommend The A-List by Zoey Dean to anyone who wants to read a romantic and mysterious book with a solid story line and theme. The book is packed with interesting dialogue and events that keeps the reader on their toes. This book is great, but is not for any readers under the age of 14, because it has many suggestive language and events. Overall Rating: My overall rating for The A-List by Zoey Dean is a seven. The book is filled with exciting twist and turns that I enjoyed, but the disappointing end was frustrating, so I had to give the book a mediocre score.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHER THAN THE SKY RECOMMEND

    Basically this series is the best series i have EVER read! You guys HAVE to read these books! They literally changed my life! As strange as that sounds...I learned to love all the characters! It was so hard when i finished the last book California Dreaming but like they say,..its not how they died, but how they lived. Or something like that... x] Anyways! Please read these books! You deffiently will NOT regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    A Series You'll Learn To Love

    You'll fall in love with your first time meeting the characters. Anna, the sophisticated girl from New York who goes to California to live with her dad and find adventure, Ben, the boy she meets on the plane and makes her wonder about love at first sight, Cammie, the hot bad girl of LA, Sam, her best friend who is insecure about her looks and daughter of Hollywood's favorite movie star, and Dee, the innocent girl who has some troubles.

    The chapters showing the views and points of views of the different characters will be refreshing, and give you a new view on them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    Simply Amazing! :)

    WOW. These books were just amazing, who would've thought. I didn't, that's for sure. The cover of the 1st book didn't look that inviting but as soon as I started reading, I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN! It was just really refreshing to finally read something, that wasn't just about the same old high school love stories, I mean come on, ZzZzZzZ. These books had more than that. They had intrigue, glamour, & romance. You really get the essence of life in Hollywood! Trust me, once you read this 1st book, you'll want to rush to any bookstore to get the rest of the series! GREAATT SERIES, I definitely recommend it to girls 14-up.I'm definitely going to read the 2nd set of this series! :) ENJOY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hollywood Royalty

    I thought this book was just okay. I prefer the characters from the original books because they acted more mature than the ones in Hollywood Royalty. It just doesn't have that spark that the original books had. I probably won't be reading the next one. Give it a chance though, maybe you'll like it better than I did.

    And to answer your question, there was some bad language here and there, but not as much sexual content as in the original.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    omg sdkhfsdkahflashd

    This bookk is sooooo annoying. I hated it. I read the entire series because when I start something I have to finish it but I seriously couln't stand it. Like it starts up concepts like Sam might have a gay thing for Anna but then it suddenly disappers...not mentioned in any other books...the only one that I kinda liked was the last one California Dreaming? Because it was slightly believable.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Loved the series

    Im in the middle of heart of glass and am sooo perplexed i reccomend this to anyone looking for a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a cute book for teens. I can honestly see how some girls

    This is a cute book for teens. I can honestly see how some girls can be so nasty- they are rich and therefore think the world should shine down specifically on them! Anyway, this book is a quick read, cute for teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Ehmagawd.

    Ahmazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    OhEmGee!

    Give me your Nook names. Idk mine so yeah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    Great Series!!

    Great Series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Jf

    Fff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 339 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17