Customer Reviews for

A Little Bit Scandalous

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Little Bit Scandalous is the third book of the Forbidden Love

    A Little Bit Scandalous is the third book of the Forbidden Love series. I have read all of the series up to this point but believe this book can be read on its own and the reader will not be lost. That being said however, one of the things I really enjoy about this series to date is that ancillary characters that are depicted in one book then become the main characters in the next book; almost like a vinette. For example, book 2 started up towards what is the end of the first book but from the view point of Clarissa and Justin who we got to know a little in the first book. A Little Bit Scandalous does the same, picking up the story with Monroe (Roe) and Caroline.


    All of these stories are a light but not fivoulous love story that invloves mystery and danger. Robyn DeHart keeps enough of the historical accuracy to satisfy fans of the time period, but also make some "artistic changes" to keep the story relevant to a modern readership. In this book as well as her others of the series, the heroine is intelligent and indepedent, overall making smart decisions. Roe is sex on legs *yummy*. An aspect specific to this story I found quite appealing was the younger "innocent" female seducing the slightly older worldly male. Solid story and great series. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Get a free ipad

    Kiss your hand and then post this on three diff books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Little Bit Scandalous is story about the gamble of love and ho

    A Little Bit Scandalous is story about the gamble of love and how high the stakes are to win the one you love. Caroline has been in love with Roe for as long as she can remember, but he does not notice her. When she is caught in disguise he is furious and intrigued at the same time. Roe would have to be a simpleton not to notice and appreciate Caroline’s beauty, but Roe is not worthy of her and the more he can push her away, the better off she will be.

    The intensity between Caroline and Roe is just delicious in this story. They are so perfect for each other, but Roe is determined to save Caroline from his scandalous ways. Caroline is up to the challenge and in this game she is playing for keeps.

    The seduction, romance, and thrill of the game make this story a must read that will win you over and leave you asking for more!

    I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    Carolyn Jellico has a very handsome guardian, Monroe Grisham. He

    Carolyn Jellico has a very handsome guardian, Monroe Grisham. He is a Duke but that isn't why she loves him. When she asks him to marry her, he refuses. He feels responsible for her brother's death. Time passes but her love does not. Caroline is determined to be her own person. If Roe will not marry her, she will stay single. How will she get the money she needs? By playing Vingt-et-un (a card game). To do this she goes to Rodale, a gaming hell, and plays there, disguised as a boy. When Roe finds out, he takes her to his town house so that he can keep an eye on her. Now the stage is set. When these two are together sparks fly and desire ignites. Roe and Carolyn are a passionate couple. I love their interaction. Roe is determined to see that Carolyn has everything and she wants him to understand that he is what she needs. There is a mystery to solve that will keep them busy. The ending was a shock. I never saw it coming. Don't miss A Little Bit Scandalous. It is a great romance entwined with a suspenseful mystery. You get the best of both worlds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What can I say about this book? It was just brilliant! A card-sh

    What can I say about this book? It was just brilliant! A card-shark of a heroine, a guilt ridden rake of a hero, high stakes, steamy romance, and a swindler on the loose. A Little Bit Scandalous had all that and more. Loved this book!

    Caroline was a wonderful heroine. She was just so easy to like. She's had an infatuation with Roe for years and, even though he rejected her, she wasn't going to let that bring her down. So, she packs up to London, decides she wants to obtain independence, and sets about doing just that by playing cards in a club, dressed up as a boy. And I really liked that she was a reasonable heroine. I love my romance heroines, but they have a tendency to be melodramatic. It was nice to see a heroine who was a little more clear headed. I really liked her character. I thought she was just great.

    Roe was also amazing. Though he's always had a thing for Caroline, he never let himself do anything about it because he feels that he's responsible for her brother's death. Is that true? No. But that doesn't stop him for feeling guilty about surviving while his best friend died. He might play the part of the rake, but he was a gentleman at heart. Except when it suited him not to be. He was so sweet and adorable and I just loved him. He was a brilliant hero.

    The romance was lovely. It was so sweet, with how both Caroline and Roe fell for each other, even while they told themselves they shouldn't. But, thankfully, they didn't wallow in denial for long. And, though the chemistry was undeniable, I would say it was more sensual than spicy. And I liked that about it. I could feel that sexual tension throughout the entire book and, when it was finally realized, it was steamy.

    The plot was fast paced and I was hooked. The investigation of who was stealing money from the orphanage kept me riveted and the final reveal of what was going on with that scheme was a surprise. The story was lovely and the ending was perfect.

    A Little Bit Scandalous was a brilliant historical romance. I LOVED this book! It had steamy romance, mystery, secrets. Romance lovers, you have to read this book, because it's just fantastic. 

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Short, but oh so sweet

    This was a great story - a girl who always knew what she wanted - and took the initiative to get it. Thoroughly enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When Caroline Jellico puts her heart on the line and suggests to

    When Caroline Jellico puts her heart on the line and suggests to her guardian, Monroe Grisham, that he marry her, only to be turned down, she decides to take her future into her own hands, literally. She turns to the one thing she’s good at, cards. By dressing up as a boy and playing cards, she earns a large sum of money, money that she is convinced will help her live an independent life, a life where she will be financially free from Roe. But when Roe decides to play “the boy” in a game of cards, he learns that he’s not playing a boy, but rather a woman. A seductive woman. When Roe reveals to Caroline that he recognizes her, a different kind of game begins. A game where hearts and emotions are on the line.

    Set in 1869 England, this novel was a fabulous, fast paced, read by Robyn Dehart. I loved everything about this novel, from the well-developed characters, fast paced plot, and romance to a bit of mystery, deceit and suspense. Caroline and Roe’s relationship was a great “second chance at love” story and was very entertaining. I especially enjoyed the meddling family members who are secretly pushing Caroline and Roe together, all the while, helping them find themselves as well. Overall, a great story that I would recommend to anyone who loves historical fiction, set in the Regency Era. This book was received from the publisher for the purposes of an honest review.

    Rating: 4

    Heat Rating: Mild

    Reviewed by: AprilP

    Review Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have finally read the third book in the Forbidden Love books,

    I have finally read the third book in the Forbidden Love books, and I think A Little Bit Scandalous happens to be my favorite. Which each book it just keeps getting better and scandalous. This time the scandalous relationship is between Monroe Grisham (Roe), Duke of Chanceworth, and his ward Caroline Jellico. 
    Caroline has been in love with Roe, I have no clue how long. When she was about to start her first season, she made it abundantly clear that she wanted Roe. However. Roe being older and wiser declare it would be unwise, since he was her guardian. After two dismal weeks, Caroline decides to scurry back to the country declaring she would never marry. Yes, a bit dramatic, but she's entitled to be.
    About six years later, Caroline decides to her make return to London with her guardian's mother, Millie. Millie is an absolute hoot by the way. Anyway, they come with a hair-brain scheme to raise money for her plans to help orphan children. After all she's a talented card shark, and what easy way to raise money when the cards are in your favor. Yet, there is a snag when she's caught by Roe. Now this will cause a tad of a complication.
    Seriously, I think this is the best out of the three stories. You actually hear about Caroline in the earlier books, but not as we know her in this story. She's refer to as "the boy"(we don't find out why she's refer to as the boy until this book). The banter between Roe and Caroline is phenomenally witty. I actually really like Roe, because he believes he wouldn't make a good husband since he's a lot like his father. Or at least he believe he is and it takes a clever young woman to prove him wrong. Caroline is a lot of fun. Of course, she has to be, I mean what kind of young woman goes around masquerading as a man to make money? A clever one. Overall, I think this is the best of Forbidden Love books. So, you can't resist a young woman who risks her reputation to go to a gaming hell, you might want to give A Little Bit Scandalous a try.

    Copy provided by the publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    The heroine Caroline Jellico becomes the ward of the hero, the D

    The heroine Caroline Jellico becomes the ward of the hero, the Duke of Chanceworth (Roe) at 15 when her brother dies from cholera when the 2 men are in Persia looking for a precious artefact. Roe is guilt stricken over his best friend’s death. He was saved by his father who brought him back home; but who refused to do the same for Christopher, Caroline’s brother who was merely a baron’s son. 
    The ward & guardian trope is nicely done; Caroline falls in love with Roe quite early on & tells him of her love & suggests they marry instead of her having a Season. When he turns her down, she continues to London with Roe’s mother & is introduced to Society but declares herself done after 2 wks & returns to the country. Even then, Roe is already attracted to Caroline but refuses to acknowledge his feelings since she’s his ward.
    I like both Caroline’s & Roe’s characters & they had wonderful chemistry. Caroline is intelligent. Roe teaches her cards when she became his ward & she becomes a master at it by counting the cards & calculating the probabilities of what card will turn up (I can’t imagine being able to do that mentally!). She’s determined to be independent & stay unmarried since Roe will not have her. 
    The story reopens 7 years later with Caroline back in London with Roe’s mother & his aunt. She’s come up with a plan to disguise herself as a boy to be able to enter the gambling dens & win enough money to not have to depend on Roe. Her plan is to convert her family’s townhome into a into a boarding house for other orphan girls who were too old to live in asylums. She’s way successful & soon is quite well known as “Grey” the young boy who always wins. Her disguise doesn't last very long with Roe who realizes quite soon when he plays her that Grey is female & later discovers it’s Caroline. 
    I love when he gets protective of Caroline (he gets all worried that someone will see thru her disguise & what would happen then) & jealous when other men notice her beauty (when she's not in disguise of course). He has a chip on his shoulder that he’s not capable of loving Caroline as she deserves to be loved being his father’s son (who never loved or was faithful to his mother) & his 1st failed engagement. 
    I enjoyed the book & would recommend it to those who enjoy a light historical romance read with engaging characters. There were a few typos in the ARC copy that I read but not that numerous that it became irritating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    A Game of Seduction 5 stars I love stories set in the Regency-Vi

    A Game of Seduction 5 stars
    I love stories set in the Regency-Victoria era, because they are so romantic!
    So I decided to read for the first time, a book written by Robyn DeHart;
    A Little Bit Scandalous #3 of her Forbidden Love series. I was not disappointed!
    It's the story of Caroline Jellico and Monroe Grisham; set in 1869, she is 18 years old and
    has a crush on Monroe but time goes by until they meet again in 1876.
    She has become a beautiful and independent woman who plans to support herself by gambling.
    Monroe has to find the right man to marry her, but discovers that he has strong feelings for her.
    Sparks will flare between Caroline and Monroe! Some scenes are so funny, when Caroline plays card dressed as a young man. You have to read this story, if you want to discover the plot behind this intrigue!
    Ms. DeHart has written a romantic story filled with emotions, it's charming and funny!
    I enjoyed her Regency story very much! I like the style of writing of this author for her humour that
    she added to this story. I highly recommend this book, if you love Regency-Victorian stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1