Customer Reviews for

A Little Orange in the Big Apple

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I ABSOULUTLY LOVE THIS BOOK SO SO TRUE LOTS OF FAMILIES ARE GOING THROUGH A HARD TIME BUT THERE IS ALWAYS A LITTLE GOOD STORED UP AN ITS HARD TO MOVE BACK AND FORTH TO STATE TO STATE BUT THIS LITTLE GIRL AND HER FAMILY MANAGED TO MAKE IT

THIS IS A VERY REALISTIC STORY EVEN IF THE CHARACTERS ARE NOT RIGHT FAMILYS DO HAVE TO GO THROUG HARD TIMES EVEN IF THAT MEANS THAT HER PARENTS GET A DIVORCE AND IT NOT HER MOMS FAULT OR THE KIDS THE DAD DECIDES TO CHEAT ON HIS WIFE BUT THIS BOOK IS ABSOULUTLY WONDERF...
THIS IS A VERY REALISTIC STORY EVEN IF THE CHARACTERS ARE NOT RIGHT FAMILYS DO HAVE TO GO THROUG HARD TIMES EVEN IF THAT MEANS THAT HER PARENTS GET A DIVORCE AND IT NOT HER MOMS FAULT OR THE KIDS THE DAD DECIDES TO CHEAT ON HIS WIFE BUT THIS BOOK IS ABSOULUTLY WONDERFUL ITS A FUNNY SOME WGAT TRUE STORY THAT TAKES PLACE IN NEW YORK, AND IN CALIFORNIA, THANK YOU FOR READING THIS I LOVE THIS BOOK THIS BOOK SHOULD NOT BE FREE THATS HOW GOOD IT IS I PLAN ON READING MORE ON THIS AUTHOR TODAY THANK YOU AGAIN FOR READING THIS REPORT



GOD BLESS YOU AND I HOPE THIS BOOK TOUCHES YOU THE WAY IT DID FOR ME

posted by Anonymous on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Realistic Historical Fiction

This story is about an 8 year old girl who moved with her mom amd brother to NYC to be with their father from California in the 1950s. I called it Realistic Historical Fiction because much of the book is a realistic scenario of what life was like in the 1950's and 1960'...
This story is about an 8 year old girl who moved with her mom amd brother to NYC to be with their father from California in the 1950s. I called it Realistic Historical Fiction because much of the book is a realistic scenario of what life was like in the 1950's and 1960's. I got the impression from the book that it is a semi -autobiographical account of the author's life after reading "About the Author". I selected the book to see if it would be a good read aloud for elementary children that I work with. I didn't realize that the book takes place in the 1950's until I got to the middle of the book although the main characters didn't seem to be from the current era. While there are a few things my students could identify with (divorce, sibling rivalry) I think the story is so realistic to the time period it is set in, that I think my students would be confused by the fact that there are no cell phones to use when people in the family are in different places and the use of the word Negro (once). If the time period was easier to determine at the beginnning of the book, the story might be less confusing for young readers. There were a few typos, a few glitchy pages and a pixilated cover picture. It's an okay book but I felt that the main character never catches a break- kind of "whatever can go wrong will go wrong" for her.

posted by NookloverEC on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    I ABSOULUTLY LOVE THIS BOOK SO SO TRUE LOTS OF FAMILIES ARE GOING THROUGH A HARD TIME BUT THERE IS ALWAYS A LITTLE GOOD STORED UP AN ITS HARD TO MOVE BACK AND FORTH TO STATE TO STATE BUT THIS LITTLE GIRL AND HER FAMILY MANAGED TO MAKE IT

    THIS IS A VERY REALISTIC STORY EVEN IF THE CHARACTERS ARE NOT RIGHT FAMILYS DO HAVE TO GO THROUG HARD TIMES EVEN IF THAT MEANS THAT HER PARENTS GET A DIVORCE AND IT NOT HER MOMS FAULT OR THE KIDS THE DAD DECIDES TO CHEAT ON HIS WIFE BUT THIS BOOK IS ABSOULUTLY WONDERFUL ITS A FUNNY SOME WGAT TRUE STORY THAT TAKES PLACE IN NEW YORK, AND IN CALIFORNIA, THANK YOU FOR READING THIS I LOVE THIS BOOK THIS BOOK SHOULD NOT BE FREE THATS HOW GOOD IT IS I PLAN ON READING MORE ON THIS AUTHOR TODAY THANK YOU AGAIN FOR READING THIS REPORT



    GOD BLESS YOU AND I HOPE THIS BOOK TOUCHES YOU THE WAY IT DID FOR ME

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Realistic Historical Fiction

    This story is about an 8 year old girl who moved with her mom amd brother to NYC to be with their father from California in the 1950s. I called it Realistic Historical Fiction because much of the book is a realistic scenario of what life was like in the 1950's and 1960's. I got the impression from the book that it is a semi -autobiographical account of the author's life after reading "About the Author". I selected the book to see if it would be a good read aloud for elementary children that I work with. I didn't realize that the book takes place in the 1950's until I got to the middle of the book although the main characters didn't seem to be from the current era. While there are a few things my students could identify with (divorce, sibling rivalry) I think the story is so realistic to the time period it is set in, that I think my students would be confused by the fact that there are no cell phones to use when people in the family are in different places and the use of the word Negro (once). If the time period was easier to determine at the beginnning of the book, the story might be less confusing for young readers. There were a few typos, a few glitchy pages and a pixilated cover picture. It's an okay book but I felt that the main character never catches a break- kind of "whatever can go wrong will go wrong" for her.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    :)

    Six stars if i could :D

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Very good book

    This a great book to read to kids

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Awesome

    It is grest for children the age of 9-and older

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    BEAUTIFUL!

    This book was amazing. This book described every little detail. One part that got me off is that they never talked about Ernie or how the years went by. Other than that i would recommend this book to anyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    GREAT Read!

    This story is intriguing and lifelike. The characters go through a hard experience. I'm sure everyone has the same desire to be together as Ali has. She shows determination and strength through tough times. You'll instantly love the character for her feelings and soon, you'll find yourself wishing the same things as Ali! Lovely read, you WILL enjoy it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Great book for every one ages 9 and older

    I think this is the best book in the whole wide world

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    I LOVE IT

    I WOULD GIVE IT FIVE STARS?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Why

    Why am i alive?
    Why is there life?
    Why am i reading this book?
    What is the meaning of life?

    - mercedes

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    T.T-TAYLOR

    OMG ! YOU WILL LLLLOOOOVVVVEEEE THIS BOOK! It kinda tells you no matter what the problem is you CAN get through it . It maybe take SOME time ,but if you stay Strong, Good , and Careful , you can get through just about anything . Just don't go CRAZIE ! :* )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Pleasant

    Pleasant read about a separated family and the struggles the children face upon moving to New York.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is sooo good. You really feel how Ali feels about whats going on in her life. The events in her life are touching and explained really well. It was free and it izs over 200pages. I think that this is an awsome book!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Get it!!!!

    Love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Not worth it

    Just as it says up there. Not worth it. Nothing else to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Loved this book

    kind of sad that they don't see each other much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Recommend jmm44

    But why do families have to be separated?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Dxd

    Jkdkddkdj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Threasa's Review

    I thought that this was a very interesting and well written book. The only problem I had were a few words were misswritten as other words. Such as..is, him, her, ect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Book

    I tried only reading two chapters a day but the next day i read about six i recommend this book to whoever loves reading as much as i do :D
    WONDERFUL BOOK A MUST READ!!!!!!!!
    *if you dont like it archive in case you want to try it again :)*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2