BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sophie Hudson had me at hello...                                

    Sophie Hudson had me at hello...                                                                                                 

    As the bearer of a southern heart, I fell in love with this book reading the blasted introduction! The rest of the book doesn’t disappoint, either. ;) Even though my upbringing was somewhat different, I easily relate to these stories, and can almost swear Sophie Hudson’s relatives and mine are the same! (Bless their hearts.) What a charming 90-percent-true-ish memoir!

    My word, you’ll laugh and you’ll cry reading this book, but mostly, you’ll walk away with the feeling of belonging to this delightful, imperfect, inspirational southern family. And, heavens to Betsy, being a peach in this salty pie is a sweet thang!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received the Advanced Review Copy free from the NetGalley book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Put it in your cart!

    I've been reading BooMama for a sweet forever, so as soon as A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet was available for preorder, I got on it. As Sophie herself might say, I was like, "YES MA'AM. LOAD 'ER UP."

    Sophie's not only hilarious, which everyone knew, but she's also an artist. Several passages just struck me to the core, like:

    "Like Scout Finch in To Kill a Mockingbird, I saw the effortless grace and elegance of the women around me and realized that 'there was some skill involved in being a girl,' and I knew I didn't just want to grow up and be a woman.

    I wanted to grow up and be a lady."

    If you want a great southern read that will certainly make you laugh, possibly make you cry, and definitely make you nod your head in understanding, please do not delay in purchasing Sophie Hudson's delightful celebration of food, faith, and family. If nothing else, it will make you want to brew sweet tea and fry bacon. You're welcome.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    I just finished reading A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet and I am

    I just finished reading A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet and I am so sad that it has ended. I was not a previous reader of Sophie's blog, I bought her book because a friend recommended it. I loved it so much that I have been thinking what will I do now that it ends and we are just getting to know each other? I can't recommend this book enough. Heartwarming, funny and thought provoking about all kinds of family relationships.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Sophie Hudson has done a fabulous job of accurately and lovingly

    Sophie Hudson has done a fabulous job of accurately and lovingly telling the story of being brought up in a real Southern home with real Southern women.  I have loved her stories about Martha for years, and her book did not disappoint.  Martha getting a Kindle was solid gold reading material.  You'll feel like you know her when you've finished.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I loved this book. Being raised in the south, I could very well

    I loved this book. Being raised in the south, I could very well relate to many of the stories.
    I read this book over a three day period while sitting out on the beach. It is just a great read. I recommend this book to every southern lady! 
    It warms my heart!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    A Walk Down Memory Lane

    I devoured this book on a transcontinental flight that was less than I expected. Sophie's stories transported me from a cramped and uncomfortable situation to the wide open spaces of my childhood home. Her stories of growing up in Mississippi reminded me of family Sunday dinners and chasing fireflies in my grandparents front yard. I laughed, I cried and I sighed with contentment. She has a way of telling her story so that the reader remembers their own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Not Very Salty

    Pleasant, sometimes funny, stories of the author's family. I did look forward to reading a chapter whenever I needed a dash of lightness in my day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    Totally Entertaining. This book is full of very amusing stories

    Totally Entertaining. This book is full of very amusing stories of quirky personalities, and touching reminiscences. The tales are almost always upbeat, but the drama of life is included too. I love the writing style; I can almost hear them talk. As the author says, “…this book is not meant to be An Airing of the Grievances; it’s meant to be a celebration of family.” And that it is. The author celebrates life and relatives and friends beautifully (even if she admittedly embellishes here and there). I was alternately touched and laughing aloud. I felt welcomed into her family. Sophie Hudson mentions a few Bible verses, and talks about how the Lord wants us to share stories, talk, laugh, and remember. She even includes recipes. I am glad I bought this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Cute stories

    Cute stories that reminded me of a night with the girls talking about their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    This was a wonderful book. It had me laughing (and sometimes c

    This was a wonderful book. It had me laughing (and sometimes crying), pretty much the whole way through. Sophie is hilarious and it translates well in her writing. Although it was written somewhat like a blog, it made for an easy, funny read, with sweet and tender moments. I would definitely recommend this book to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    This book is absolutely delightful! It had me crying, laughing a

    This book is absolutely delightful! It had me crying, laughing and everything in between. Sophie’s writing makes the reader feel like they’re in the story right along with the characters. The book keeps the stories engaging, but real and always in an environment of complete respect which was one of the very best parts. She manages to tell great stories that can make the reader laugh or cry but never at the expense of the main characters. A whimsical read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    Sophie Hudson shares real life stories of her family and their l

    Sophie Hudson shares real life stories of her family and their lives in the South in a laugh out loud funny kind of way. After reading this book, I'm intrigued by the realities of life in the deep South. I love the way they women in Hudson's family use the article the in front of random nouns, as in going to the Walmart instead of going to Walmart. The story of her family's road trip and disembarking from the vehicle made me laugh so hard!

    Aside from all the laughter, Hudson shares a wonderful message in her book. Good friends and family and fellowship are what matter the most in this world. Through the ups and downs, families should love each other and support each other. I would love to spend a holiday gathering in the Hudson household!

    I also enjoyed reading through the recipes at the end of the book and look forward to having a taste of the South in our kitchen soon.

    This book is great for any woman looking for a laugh while reading a relaxing, entertaining book! So funny, but with a great message!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    Enjoyable read I enjoyed the stories Sophie tells. It reminds m

    Enjoyable read

    I enjoyed the stories Sophie tells. It reminds me a lot of my own Southern family, even though the details are different. And I feel like if I met the folks she write about (particularly Martha! can you imagine? CAN YOU IMAGINE?!) I would know them right off the bat. And that makes me smile. (Though sometimes her use of fragments and parentheticals are a little much, they do serve a purpose.) The book definitely made me smile and laugh, though it has its sad parts too - after all, it's a book about life, and sadness and loss is a part of that journey.




    I appreciated how things really did keep tying back to God. It was refreshing. ...though I only remember 8 pounds of bacon from the stories, not 15...but there is an unexpected treat of a chapter of recipes at the end of the book. I can't wait to dig in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    This is a book by Sophie Hudson, author of the Boo Mama blog. Th

    This is a book by Sophie Hudson, author of the Boo Mama blog. The author tells stories of her crazy Southern family, and there are recipes in the back. I thought this was a cute, easy to read book, and the recipes looked interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    I don't read a lot of non-fiction. And I rarely¿if ever¿post a r

    I don't read a lot of non-fiction. And I rarely—if ever—post a review of the few I do read. However, I couldn't keep my excitement about this book to myself. It would be a disservice to you, my faithful readers, and the public at large.

    A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet by Sophie Hudson is hands down the best book I've read this year. RUN to the store and get yourself a copy. NOW. Don't even read the rest of this review. Just buy a copy for yourself … and maybe one for your mama and your grandmama and your best friend too.

    Sophie has an incredible talent for weaving stories of her very southern family together with nuggets of spiritual truths. Some of the stories are quite poignant. (Reader Tip #1: Have a box of tissues on hand for the first two chapters.) Others are happy tears streaming down your face, wet your pants funny. (Reader Tip #2: Particularly for chapter 7, it would be in everyone's best interests to "go potty" prior to reading. I am not lying to you when I tell you I nearly wet my pants—and thus the bed—while reading this chapter very late one night. Additionally, my dear husband thought I was having a seizure because of the spasms I was having while trying to laugh silently so as not to wake him up. Needless to say, he woke up anyway.) But each story shines a light on the legacy of faith that Sophie and her husband are so blessed to have. Plus, Sophie tells these stories in such a way where her family seems to leap right off the pages, becoming more than just "characters" in a book (which of course they are, since they're real people and all).

    By the end of the book, I literally could.not.put.it.down. I read the last two chapters on the way to church one night and sat in the car in the parking lot to finish the last few pages. (Pastor, I apologize for coming in late to service that night. This book was just so good!) (Reader Tip #3: Clear your calendar when you pick up this book. Your spouse, children, dog, pastor, and friends will thank you for it.)

    Sophie's reflections about the treasures she has in her family made me reflect on my own family. There were moments while reading where I found myself imagining my mom or grandmother doing or saying the exact same thing. (Southerners are really all alike, you know.) Southern born and bred, I have a new appreciation for the way we sit around after dinner and tell stories—some of which I've heard at least half a million times.

    Every year it seems that one book stands out as a book that must be read by all. And it inevitably ends up under every Christmas tree we visit because I can't stand the thought of everyone I know not getting to read this book. For 2013, I feel certain that A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet will be that book (unless I can't wait until December to share it). (And for any relatives or in-real-life friends who may be reading this, act surprised when you open your Christmas gift this year!)

    A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet reminds Southerners of the joys of being Southern and is a great introduction to the best parts of the South for those who may not have the privilege of living here—faith, family, and lots of laughs.

    (And apparently, I've now adopted Sophie's habit of writing with lots of parenthesis … at least for this review anyway!) [5 stars]

    I read this book for the pure pleasure of reading. I was not requested to provide a review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    The reviews indicated this book a very good, make you laugh, rea

    The reviews indicated this book a very good, make you laugh, read. I found it boring and not worth my time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    I love this book. It seems to talk to my heart. As I was reading

    I love this book. It seems to talk to my heart. As I was reading, I noticed that the author incorporated what she had learned and not just on the surface either. I like the part where she says God camps right in your heart and stays for life and never leaves you. And the part where someone come full circle from where they started. That's where I am. 22 years ago I fell in love with this guy, but it seems he didnt want and told me so, Broken heart. And now 22 years later the same thing happened to me, my ex-fiance broke my heart, I found out he was living with some woman and broken heart again, but this time I am finally learning the lessons I should have the first time. God comes first and we listen to Him and read our Bibles to learn what he wants from us. I am at the beginning stage again, but starting to be more mature in my dealings in life because of God. This author nailed it just perfect the way the state my heart is in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    I read this book over two nights (while juggling an eight month

    I read this book over two nights (while juggling an eight month old).  It's a very quick read with very relatable stories about Sophie's family.  Her humor and faith made for a real treat!  I am passing it to my mom and sharing with her Sunday School class.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    A great summer read! It will make you invite the entire family o

    A great summer read! It will make you invite the entire family over for dinner soon to enjoy them around your table. Buy two and share one with a friend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    I read this book in 3 horus- just couldn't put it down! So many

    I read this book in 3 horus- just couldn't put it down! So many of the stories are relatable to my own family and experiences growing up in the South. We all have someone in our family like each of the characters she describes. Sophie's ability to tell the stories so passionately and humorously make this one of the best books I've read in a while!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2