Customer Reviews for

A Little Too Much

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

        I wanted to read this one because I fell hard for Alessandro

        I wanted to read this one because I fell hard for Alessandro in A Little Too Much, and though I knew that it wasn't his time and place to get a happy ending, I still wanted for him to face the ghosts of his past, and hopefully find a person who is in love with him as much as he was with Lexie. I also loved the hot romances that Lisa writes as far back as Personal Demons. 
        I got what I wanted and more in A Little Too Much. We get to meet Hilary, who we know had a past with Alessandro. I like that I got to know her away from Alessandro first. In her element. She is a singer looking for a job on Broadway and trying to forget her past. She is fiesty, knows how to protect herself, and seems to have it all together. But when Alessandro comes on the scene some of her insecurities and pain that she's tried to hide comes to the surface because it is obvious he's hurt her. I don't remember if Alessandro told Lexie the details, but if he did, I didn't remember, but that is okay, because they slowly unfold in this one. Between hot encounters where Lexie is trying to get the upperhand but ends up just feeling this explosive chemistry with him. 
        I like Hilary's background. I don't think that I have read anything with her particular talents. She was on American Idol and she is a great actor but not so much as a dancer. But her in is the American Idol, so she has been doing no so hot on auditions, but is hoping for a big break. I have never really been on the broadway or acting scene so its def fun to read about. 
        A Little Too Much surprised me in many ways, but I think that it all worked in my head. I like the chemistry between Hilary and Alessandro as well as watching them figure out life as a new adult and the balance between letting the past teach you and make you grow and letting it still rule over you even when you think that you have totally squashed and conquered. 
        The ending was good although I def wouldn't object to a novella or more time with Hilary and Alessandro to see what happens after, just because I want more of them and fell in love. 




    Bottom Line: Steamy romance where I loved uncovering their pasts. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    I loved this book even better than the first one! I can't wait

    I loved this book even better than the first one! I can't wait to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

     I loved A Little Too Far and really liked Alessandro in the boo

     I loved A Little Too Far and really liked Alessandro in the book, but I was Team Trent all the way, so I was so happy that Alessandro was getting his own story so I could fall in love with him and root for him to find his own HEA.  The cover of the book had me so curious, because it's really sexy, and Alessandro Moretti is definitely sexy, but he also was in training for the Priesthood before deciding that wasn't what he what he was cut out for, so I was so curious to see where Lisa Desrochers would take his character in A Little Too Much.  After being gone for 8 years, Alessandro returns to New York City to try to make amends for his past and find out about the girl that he has never been able to get out of his mind.  He carries so much guilt from his past, more than he should, and wars with the demons that haunt him from that time in his life.  Hilary McIntrye has had anything but an easy life.  After winding up in a group home at age 14, she meets Lorenzo and Alessandro Moretti, brothers who were like night and day, dark and light, and she falls hard for Alessandro, then he leaves, and it almost destroys her.  
    He opened me up and saw my black, broken soul, and it didn’t scare him away. He made me believe everything was going to be okay. He helped me understand love.
    Then a month later, he left. Just like everyone else.
    Hilary has survived what she went through by putting up walls, not allowing anyone in, and not allowing herself to feel love, give love, or receive love.  Seeing Alessandro again brings back all kinds of memories and feelings, reminders of what was, what is, and what happened after he left.  Hilary is a hard person, but has made herself that way to survive.  She doesn't "do" love, but Alessandro makes her question everything.
    "Just like in Shakespeare, when you fall head over heels in love with someone you don't even know, it's never going to end well. Love killed Juliet when she was thirteen. I made it all the way to fourteen before it nearly killed me."
    I loved Alessandro's character in this story.  He's hot, sexy, kind, loving, caring, passionate. He wants Hilary, really badly, but he wants to see her healed more than anything and makes that his goal, despite the fact that he has his own brokenness that needs to be dealt with.  Their relationship isn't immediately rekindled, but builds over time and over the course of the book, and I loved watching it grow.  Past secrets threaten to destroy what they have, and force them both to face their past, their feelings, and their future.
    Being with him again might gain me back my soul, but at what cost? Too much has happened. There are too many secrets. I have so much to gain, but more to lose. I have everything to lose.
    I truly enjoyed A Little Too Far, it was so refreshingly different, but I have to say that I really enjoyed A Little Too Much also, even more.  The story, the writing, and the characters just grabbed me and I didn't want to put it down, anxious to see where Lisa Desrochers was taking the story and the relationship between these characters.  I loved watching them on their journey to healing, to finding love, and all that took place during the process.  Overall, I found A Little Too Much to be a really great contemporary romance and I was so pleased with Alessandro and Hilary's story.  I am look forward to reading the next book in the series, A Little Too Hot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Perfect Good

    I could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am very surprised at how much I enjoyed reading this book. Lis

    I am very surprised at how much I enjoyed reading this book. Lisa Desrochers did a fabulous job at creating characters that had many many layers and depth that we couldn't help but love and hope for a happy ever after. I'll have to admit that if you didn't tear up from reading this book I don't know what you are but a punk.

    As you may well know, Alessandro was a super important character from Lisa's first book, A Little Too Far. We met him in Rome days before promising himself to God to become a priest. And as you will know, he didn't take that oath as this is his story, although told from a girl whom he had sinned and is a ghost in his dark and shadowy past, this was still an amazing read into his life.

    Hilary McIntyre also is a character that had a lot of work put into her. Her past was so surprising that I was speechless as I read. I have to admit that I had to stop and pause in my thinking many times just to let everything sink in. She was so real that I wanted to go mad with reading. Not saying that it was a bad thing because it is a really good thing, but I just.... I really felt for her. Everything she did was so normal and understanding that I had to like her. Though I hated some of the things she said to herself and thought about others, like calling a lady she didn't even know a b.... because she was jealous while the lady was helping her learn to dance. That just really got me huffing and rolling my eyes in aghast. But I supposed that's how a 23 year old woman think like.

    Since this is in the POV of Hilary we don't get to know what's going through Alessandro's mind but only see it through his actions and facial expressions.

    I have to say I absolutely love Alessandro. Knowing him from the previous book and then knowing him in this is just a dream come true. Even though we still don't get to see it through his POV it is still an accomplishment to know his past and how much he wants to change and make things better for his and Hilary's future.

    He's so understanding and maybe that was due to the fact that he was supposed to be a priest but knowing his childhood, he has always been the protective and sensitive type. Though he had done wrong, it wasn't through him alone but with his older brother whom he idolized that got him to sin. You know from his actions that he loves Hilary through his self control and friendship with her. And I absolutely Love him for that.

    This was an amazingly heart pulling, romantic, and forgiving love story. I highly recommend. And you don't have to read the first book to know the story!

    This eARC was provided by Avon via Edelwiess.

    4.5 out of 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    **3.5 stars** **Spoilers abound if you have not read A Little

    **3.5 stars**

    **Spoilers abound if you have not read A Little Too Far. **


    I was a reader who devoured and adored A Little Too Far. It was a gorgeously written story that had the perfect amount of angst, and left me guess whom Lexie would pick until the very end. Lucky for me, Lexie picked the guy I hoped for, Trent. But this left me doubly lucky because that meant Alessandro was getting a book!

    I wanted to see what happens next to the man left behind. The would-be priest. The man with a past. I thought A Little Too Much would be that book. And yes, it is about Alessandro to a large extent, but more so about the girl he left behind years ago, Hilary. The story is told exclusively through her point-of-view, which, okay, I don't have to have my hero's side of things, I guess. But I was so invested in Alessandro's life and future, that it was hard for me to let go and accept that I was only going to get his story through Hilary.

    Moving past that, I did find A Little Too Much to be a very powerful story. It is about the painful past of Hilary and Alessandro, and how it led them to the choices they made. Hilary dealt by becoming numb, Alessandro through religion. This is a reconciliation of the past, and knowing that is the only way to move forward to a future that is free. There were profound moments of pain and anger, of just how badly being left can hurt you. It is a second-chance love story, and a tale of the power of forgiveness of oneself.

    I stated in my review of A Little Too Far that Desrochers writing is quite excellent. That holds true here. The prose has a steady flow that had me through the four hundred plus pages in no time. Once again, she made the setting a character in the story. This setting is New York City, and while I didn't become absorbed as I did in the Rome setting, I did like the descriptions and how she brought the city to life. I did become invested in the story and characters -particularly Alessandro. This time around, though, I didn't feel that crazy intense pull that had me dying to know how it all ends. There was some angst, but not the kind that had my stomach in knots and white-knuckling the kindle.

    A Little Too Much wasn't exactly what I was looking for, but I did enjoy it. It was gritty and powerful.


    Favorite Quotes:

    It's amazing how a person can convince themselves of almost anything. Even when that anything could cost them everything. ~eARC, 37%


    "No matter how hard I tried to pretend that everything was fine and I belonged in the priesthood, when I saw how easily I was drawn off course, I couldn't deny the truth. I was there for the wrong reasons. I thought if I wrapped the beast in God's clothing, maybe that would tame it. I was wrong. It's still here, deep inside me. Nothing has changed." ~eARC, 38%


    We've got priests and prostitutes and a gay girl from Biloxi. Yep, just your average Christmas morning. ~eARC, 63%

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1