Customer Reviews for

A Little Too Much

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Deeper and even more emotional than the first (and I loved A Lit

    Deeper and even more emotional than the first (and I loved A Little Too Far!). I fell in love with Alessandro in A Little Too Far, so I was thrilled he'd be getting his own story. Stands on it's own, but I guarantee you'll love all of Lisa Desrochers' books so I'd say start at the beginning--you are in for a wonderful, sexy, emotional ride.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Should read

    I liked the first book a little more, but I liked this one as well. 4.5 out of 5 stars

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Steamy, emotional, romantic, and full of secrets, A Little Too M

    Steamy, emotional, romantic, and full of secrets, A Little Too Much was a fantastic New Adult romance. It was a lovely sequel to the absolutely amazing A Little Too Far and I really enjoyed reading it. Loved it!

    Hilary was a heroine who had been through a lot. She was toted around in the foster care system, manipulated by guys who only wanted her body and couldn't care less what she wanted, and faced the consequences of that. After being burned so many times, she was not willing to take a risk with her heart. Until a ghost from her past reappears and her plans go out the window. I really liked Hilary. She was a tough woman who had been through a lot, but was still standing. Even though she was guarding her heart, she knew when to take risks and hope for the best. If I had one complaint, it was that I wasn't sure why she was so angry at Alessandro at first, considering he was one of the only people who actually treated her well. Otherwise, she was lovely. 

    Alessandro...
    What can I say? I already fell for him in A Little Too Far, even though I had been rooting for Trent to end up with Lexie. I totally adored him and, when I found out that he was going to get his own story and his own happy ending, I was ecstatic. He was still just as adorable and sweet and absolutely perfect in this book. But, we get to know him more. In book 1, we mostly saw the polished surface that Alessandro had worked so hard to create and maintain. We got to know him a little deeper, and got to understand some of his past, but not that much. In this book, we see every one of those layers and get to see how dark his past was until he left it all behind. It made him even more lovable because he managed to become such a good person even after everything he had gone through. I completely and totally loved him and I thought he was perfection.

    The romance was wonderful. Hilary and Alessandro were sweet together. They were the kind of couple that made each other stronger and I thought that was lovely. I wasn't feeling the chemistry quite as much as I was in book 1, but it was still steamy and hot. Definitely enough to make you fan your face ;) I thought they were perfect together.

    The plot was fast paced. I was hooked most of the way through. There were some moments when the plot slowed down, but it wasn't too bad, not enough to be an issue. There were definitely some shocking secrets that I never saw coming. Particularly one that totally blew me away. It explained a lot and made sense in hindsight, but I never suspected. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was lovely. I can't wait to read more from this hot and steamy series!

    A Little Too Much was a brilliant New Adult romance. I totally loved this book. It was sweet, steamy, emotional, and full of secrets. Fans of book 1, you won't be disappointed with this sequel. And, if you haven't started this series yet, you definitely need to, because these books are HOT!

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿Just like in Shakespeare, when you fall head over heels in

    “Just like in Shakespeare, when you fall head over heels in love with someone you don’t even know, it’s never going to end well. Love killed Juliet when she was thirteen. I made it all the way to fourteen before it nearly killed me.”

    Hilary McIntyre is twenty-two and living in New York City with her boyfriend. She’s trying desperately to make it big as an actress. She’s also trying to forget her past. It’s working pretty well until her past shows up on her doorstep. Literally. Alessandro Moretti has traveled to New York to see firsthand how Hilary is. He never meant for her to know he was there, but fate intervenes and they’re face-to-face for the first time in eight years.

    “I want to see him as uncomfortable as he makes me. I want to see him squirm. And I definitely know how to make men squirm.”

    To say Hilary and Alessandro have a complicated past would be a ginormous understatement. They had very strong feelings for one another once upon a time, but their time together back then didn’t end well. They’re both damaged and broken, but for very different reasons. Hilary never quite got over the fact that Alessandro disappeared from her life all those years ago. Alessandro feels guilt for leaving her – and about other things that happened when they were at the foster home together. He feels remorse over the death of his brother, Lorenzo, who was … well, not a very nice guy. He worked over both Hilary and Alessandro in the past. But, he’s gone now and Alessandro is trying to ease his guilt.

    “You meant something to me, Hilary. You were important to me once. I just needed to know you were okay. I needed to see for myself.” He shakes his head. “You were never supposed to know I was here.”

    I liked Alessandro in A Little Too Far. A lot. He was swoony, sexy and sincere. I can absolutely understand why Lexie was attracted to him. There was just something that bothered me about him. I know now what it was. It’s that he just didn’t fit with Lexie. She belonged with Trent. I fell head-over-heels in love with Alessandro in this book. There was so much more to him than met the eye. Sure, in ALTF, we readers learned about his troubled past and the violence and drug use that occurred, but we didn’t get the whole story. There’s much more to learn. He’s steaming hot and sexual, he has a great sense of humor, he’s on a quest for closure and absolution, he’s conflicted. He is kind-hearted and a good person. We got a dose of all of this with Lexie in ALTF, but it was just so much stronger in this book. It was a little hard to believe that this Alessandro almost became a priest. Thankfully for us all, he didn’t.

    “But now Alessandro’s here, and I feel the dead parts of me coming back to life. Being with him again might gain me back my soul, but at what cost?”

    Hilary and Alessandro try to put the past behind them and be friends again. He decides to stick around New York a little longer than he originally intended. She’s been in the city for quite awhile, but hasn’t really seen much of what it has to offer. Together they begin to explore the sites – and ultimately their feelings for each other. The scenes with them just hanging out around the city are some of my favorites, because a) I love love love New York and Lisa’s writing made me feel like I was there and b) their chemistry is so strong, their personalities so well-matched, that they just left me smiling.

    “I have no right to want to touch you, and yet I want that more than anything – to convince all of my senses you’re really here after all this time.”

    As time goes on, Hilary wonders what having Alessandro back in her life really means. It’s obvious that they both still have strong feelings for the other. Their chemistry leaps off the page. There’s a slow burn of sexual tension. But more than all the physical stuff, they share genuine, intense feelings. They’re both so much better when they’re together. Will they be able to overcome their pasts and have a real future together? Will he leave again and break her fully this time? Will he be able to get past his guilt for what happened in their past and with his brother? You just need to read it for yourself to find out.

    Maybe I’m blind, but I didn’t see the twist in this book coming. I literally gasped. Then, just so I wouldn’t forget, I made a note in my Kindle app with “GASP!” written again. It all made perfect sense, but I definitely didn’t figure it out on my own. It, to me, is what made the story. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure I would have loved Hilary and Alessandro just as much had the story not gone in the direction it did. But this added another level of emotion to their relationship and their history. Some of my favorite scenes in the book, the ones I won’t talk about because I refuse to spoil anything, happen as a result of this revelation.

    Lisa Desrochers has rocked my world once again. A Little Too Far landed her on my auto-buy author list. A Little Too Much moved her to the top. I got everything I wanted in this book: second chances, smoking-hot sexy scenes and true love. It took me on a full rollercoaster ride that I wouldn’t trade for anything. Sweet, heartfelt and beautifully-written, this is one of my favorite books of the year. (Even higher on the list than A Little Too Far, which I swooned and gushed over a few months ago.)

    I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review. All quotes come from the review copy and may differ from the final version.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Yes

    Just as wonderful as the first!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    Exceptional! Lisa knows how to write! I loved Alessandro's story

    Exceptional! Lisa knows how to write! I loved Alessandro's story - I love when we see the men through the heroine's eyes, and here we see him through Hilary, who I slowly fell in love with too. I love strong heroines and I have loved Alessandro ever since I met him in A Little Too Far. I LOVE LOVE LOVE LISA DESROCHERS!!!! I'm getting this in paperback too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Wow

    Wow! I loved this book! I loved the characters and the plot was excellent! Loved the sexy cover! Loved Hilary and Alessandros story and their funny banter and sexy chemistry! The cockroaches had me laughing so hard I almost peed myself several times! Great series! Loved all of them! Excellent book! Can't wait for more! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Dayyum Amazing .

    :*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Kyle

    Yeah.. why?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Aubrey

    Nothing just wondering...... bye firwedn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    Alessandro has went back to where his past is. He wants to face

    Alessandro has went back to where his past is. He wants to face up to all the mistakes he made in the past and see where he wants to go in the future. Alessandro looks for and finds Hilary. She is the girl he cared about as a teen and he has to make sure she is alright. Hilary would like nothing better than to forget her past. She was put in the system and had it rough growing up. She is doing better with her life now and seeing Alessandro brings her past back to her. They fall back in love but their past has many secrets that may rise up to tear them down.




    To say I loved the first book in this series isn't enough. I couldn't get enough of it and was so ready to get the next book. Alessandro got my heart and I had to see what would happen to him next. A Little Too Much was just as wonderful as the first book. Alessandro has a past that he has to get over. He still feels guilty years later and wants to make things right. He is such a wonderful guy now it's hard to believe he ever had a bad thought. He is one that would be easy to fall for. Hilary is thinking she has it all together but she really just has huge walls around her. Alessandro is the one who always manages to tear them down. She slowly reveals some of what happened to her in the past to him and as they get to know each other again she also gives him a piece of her heart. I loved reading about the two of them together and watching them reopen past wounds and healing them. There is the hottness so if you enjoy that you will get it. I will say the author managed to throw a surprise that I really didn't see coming. This book full of wonderful characters and you really can't put it down when you read it. You have to see how it will end then you are left wanting more just because it is so fantastic. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    Excellent!! Both books, A Little Too Much and A Little Too Far did not disappoint and are both worth reading!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    So sexy

    Mm

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    4.5 stars! Let me start by saying if you haven¿t read A Little

    4.5 stars!

    Let me start by saying if you haven’t read A Little Too Far yet, stop reading this review and read it immediately. If you have even the slightest interest in this series, just give into the temptation and pick it up. It’s a must-read in my opinion. Plus, just a heads-up, you may find spoilers for book 1 in this review of book 2.




    Alessandro… let’s begin with him. It was love at first sight in ALTF. Though I was routing for Lexie to end up with Trent, I still adored Alessandro and was so excited to see his story would be out next. When we first meet Alessandro he has the perfect, shiny exterior of a guy who could do no wrong. In this book we get to see deeper into his past and what made him the person he is today. He’s been through quite a lot in his life, and he’s definitely made a lot of mistakes along the way, but that only made me love him more. So he’s not perfect. He has flaws. But he used those negatives and turned his life around. A perfect example of making lemonade with those yummy lemons, wouldn’t ya say? :)




    I wasn’t so sure about Hilary at first. Let’s just say she’s a little rough around the edges. But after delving into the childhood she had, including a group home with a less-than-ideal living situation, it was understandable why she built up such a tough exterior wall.




    The romance in this book wasn’t as steamy as in A Little Too Far, but man, it was still HOT! This entire series will have your heart pounding (and your blood boiling) from time to time. In comparison to book 1, there were a few spots where the story slowed down a bit. But overall it was wonderful. Oh! And I have to mention the curve-ball that was thrown at us. I mean… WOW! I did NOT see that one coming! Another fantastic book added to this remarkable series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    As I loved Alessandro in the first book I am very happy with thi

    As I loved Alessandro in the first book I am very happy with this book. Hilary is a tough lady who has fought for the life she has I I really hated her relationship with Brett, so glad she wised up. They both had to come a long way to get to the place they could be together. But they are a great couple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Loved it

    Alessandro is amazing. Hilary was so tough yet broken. Perfect for each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Wow

    This author is amazing! I want to read all of her books now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Love it

    This book is so awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    I absolutely adored the first book in the series A Little Too F

    I absolutely adored the first book in the series A Little Too Far, so when I saw A Little Too Much pop up for review, naturally I HAD to have it! I'm so glad I got the chance to read this because I found it to be right up my alley.

    Firstly, I want to say how much I love that Desrochers incorporates travel and exploration into her books (first we had Rome and now NYC!) Second, after the sort of love triangle in A Little Too Far, we all needed our boy Alessandro to get a HEA. But, wow. Who knew just how much he was struggling with? A Little Too Much introduces us to two characters whose pasts are still controlling their presents. This book is much darker than the first and we have two very emotionally battered characters who are trying to make their way in life.

    With that being said, while I enjoyed this one, I still loved ALTF a bit more. I really liked Lexie as a protagonist. Hilary on the other hand? I found her to be a bit more difficult to like. And I really thought Alessandro was too good for her. However, Hilary has been through ALOT in her life. She has been through things no young person should ever have to, her family situation was NOT ideal, and she basically did what she could to survive. Having been placed into a group home at the age of 14, while waiting for her sister to be able to obtain custody of her, Hilary was forced to grow up faster than she should have. It is here that she meets Alessandro and his brother Lorenzo. Hilary has history with both of them, but Alessandro was clearly the shining light in the dark for her. He was tender and sweet and really cared for her, unlike his brother who used her to his own advantage. After Alessandro and Lorenzo both were sent back to live with their grandparents in Corsica, Hilary's world is turned upside down. The one good thing in her life was leaving her and she was absolutely shattered over it.

    Now, Hilary is a struggling actress trying to find a role on Broadway. She has a boyfriend, Brett, who is also in the business and is working to help her secure a role also. However, Brett and Hilary's relationship is purely physical and I hated that she didn't drop him faster than she did. She knew she would never have anything more with Brett, but Hilary also doesn't think she is capable of loving or being loved in return. She has spent so many years shutting off her emotions, that she doesn't remember how to truly feel anymore. When Alessandro shows up on her door step, Hilary is catapulted back into the past. Alessandro's return forces her to reexamine her life: what she's doing with it, what she wants out of it, and if she can lay old demons to rest. Alessandro wants much the same thing. He is at a crossroads in his life. He is working to get over Lexie, as well as his failed attempt at priesthood. The weight of the past still weighs heavily on his shoulders and so he comes to NYC to try and make amends for what happened, beginning with Hilary.

    I loved Hilary and Alessandro's developing relationship. Their past is a fragile thread that holds them together, and while Hilary doesn't want to talk about it, she finds neither one will be able to find peace without doing so. They end up spending time together every Thursday- it is their mission to discover new places in NYC neither one has been. I loved this added element to the story. We got to see Hilary and Alessandro experiencing new things together, which really gives us hope for their future. They don't disregard the past, but they slowly but surely work through their demons together.

    Hilary is keeping a pretty big secret from Alessandro and I was able to guess what it was pretty early on. While I don't agree with all of her decisions, I understand her hesitancy in not telling him. However, she was the one who should have owned up to it, and not let him find out the way he did. She was so afraid that this would tear apart their burgeoning relationship, yet she should have trusted in him, especially knowing the type of person he is. Alessandro is forgiving, sweet, and incredibly kind. He is patient and wants to work with troubled youth- he wants to be able to make a difference in kids lives and hopefully help them stay out of the trouble he and his brother found themselves in.

    Hilary's family plays a pretty big role in this book also. Her sister is married with two kids, Henri and Max, and I liked watching Hilary interact with them. While she may not be the most dependable, she's still their 'Auntie' and I loved how easily she was able to adapt and be with these kids, despite her claims of not wanting a family of her own.

    I love that Hilary and Alessandro weren't able to stay away from each other. He told her many times that he would leave her alone if that's what she wanted, and she knows she shouldn't spend time with him and vice versa. Both know they won't be able to leave each other with their hearts left intact. Hilary has spent so much of her life shutting people out, that she has forgotten what it's like to feel every emotion. Alessandro makes her feel way too much and she tries to let him go multiple times, but can't. I will say this: there is NO insta-love here. Desrochers does a brilliant job of developing these two characters. She begins by developing their friendship and then takes their relationship to the next level. And oh how hot that next level is! These two have serious chemistry and she does a great job of building it up to a point where I felt like I was going to burst if they didn't give in to the sexual tension!

    If you enjoyed A Little Too Far, I think you'll be happy with where Desrochers takes Alessandro and Hilary's relationship. It is much darker and more angsty than the first, but I liked seeing two emotionally damaged individuals fight the pain of their past and emerge on the other side of that pain, stronger than ever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Best book

    I liked this book because it was a good book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2