Customer Reviews for

A Love Supreme

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    BEAUTY DEFINED BY SOUND

    EVERYTHING UNDER THE SUN HAS BEEN SAID ABOUT 'A LOVE SUPREME'. YES IT IS A BRILLIANT PEICE OF MUSICAL LITERATURE. WHAT IT DOES TO ME IS TAKES ME TO A DIFFERENT PLACE EMOTIONALLY EACH TIME I HEAR IT. A FAILED ROMANCE. A NEW LOVE. THE JOY AND PAIN OF LIFE. ONE NEVER TIRES OF THIS MUSIC. IF YOU LOVE MUSIC, NOT JAZZ MUSIC, BUT IF YOU JUST LOVE WHAT MUSIC REALLY DOES FOR THE SOUL; THEN YOU NEED TO HEAR THIS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    not & neither

    He had a Christian background, but was neither a 'born again' Christian NOR a Muslim when he wrote this. Please read the liner notes by his son Ravi Coltrane before you argue with me. He was apparently into the occult, i.e. numerology, etc. Great album too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best!!

    A must-have for everyone who likes jazz!!!As a tenor player myself, this album is everything I love!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Christian's expression of thanks and praise!

    Wonderful album, perhaps the best jazz ever produced. (Contrary to a previous review, Coltrane was a born-again Christian when he wrote this, not Muslim.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    #3: My Love Supreme

    A gigantic composition split into 4 parts, how nice. Slow and easy and very relaxing, that's the best way to describe this album. It also has the same lineup from Ballads, another great Trane album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ALL PRAISE DUE

    It is so rare, especially these days, to come across an arist with a sense of humility to them. It is even more rare to come across an artist that imparts that humility in their music. In 1964, John Coltrane was that artist. With ''A Love Supreme'', Coltrane created was is arguably the greatest jazz album ever made(sorry, ''Kind of Blue'' fanatics). What was so amazing about this record was that it was so simple, due to the fact that Coltrane was giving praise to Allah for all of his acomplishments. Therefore, he was able to put his very heart and soul into every note and inflection. The result is an album divided into three parts; the Acknowledgement, the Resolution, and the Pursuance. This is truly classic material that people of any genre can come to enjoy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love Supreme is Coltrane's finest

    I was introduced to this album through Spike Lee's movie ''Mo Better Blues''...from the minute I heard it I was in love and had to have the album....Each different version of the song takes you to a different place and vibe...I HIGHLY recommend it to others who have yet to experience Coltrane fully..this is the perfect introduction to a perfect musician.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    unbelievable

    Definetely Coltrane's best album. It swings hard with overpowering energy but remains perfect to each note. One of the best jazz albums ever made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    why...

    why does all true jazz sound so utterly confusing? it sounds as though he is trying to make up his mind... coltrane, parker... they all sound so lost until later in their careers... or lives. the polished jazz is so soothing. the early jazz is just confusing. i prefer the solid blues if i had to choose... luckily, i do not have to choose. i can play it ALL whenever i choose. God Bless Coltrane for taking his brilliant journey through his life's and music's ups and downs, and for allowing us to join him... perpetually through the confusion to HOPEFULLY find HARMONY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1