Customer Reviews for

A Love Surrendered (Winds of Change Series #3)

Average Rating 5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    recommended

    Enjoyed it very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    An incredible read that I really enjoyed! My Rating: 5 out of 5

    An incredible read that I really enjoyed!

    My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

    Disclaimers: I received a temporary e-galley of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion. Thanks!

    My Overall Thoughts/Impressions: I didn't know what to expect from this novel when I saw it on Netgalley. I love Christian fiction and so
     I decided to give it a shot. I hadn't read the previous two in the series so I really was going into this series blind.

    I absolutely adored this book. In fact, I was stunned by how much I loved it. I knew it would be good because I knew Lessman was
    an incredible author, but I didn't think it would be this good.

    I loved every single one of the characters in this book. I could spend a whole post talking about every single one of them; however,
     since the main characters were Annie and Steve, I'll focus on them for awhile. 

    I loved Annie. She wanted so badly to fit in and she wanted to find herself after her parents' death. She falls in with a
    questionable crowd and is warned to find better friends. I loved watching Annie grow as her faith increased and as she
    started making better choices. Annie was definitely not a flat character and I loved that.

    And then there was Steven. Steven was not perfect. I loved that, so often the male characters are perfect and it
    makes the story seem flat. I loved watching Steven as he struggled to make the right choices and to be a better person.

    And of course, I loved the interactions between Annie and Steven. That was definitely an interesting portion of the novel. I
    also loved how you gained insight into other character's minds throughout the novel.

    Usually I can guess the plot line of novels, and while I guessed the general plot, I was thrown for a few loops. Lessman tucked in
    a few twists that I absolutely didn't see coming. 

    Lessman's writing was inspiring, entertaining, and uplifting. Lessman is a master at crafting words. I flew through this
    novel and loved every single minute of it. 

    Fans of Christian fiction will love this novel. Readers who have not read the previous two books can read this novel
    without feeling lost, but there are a lot of characters that might be a little hard to keep track of at first.

    I definitely recommend reading this series in order and I know I will be going back and reading the first two. I am definitely going
    to be tracking them down ASAP.

    In Summary: Lessman has created a beautiful writing style and creates realistic characters that readers will love.
    One of my favorite Christian fiction novels of the year.

    Warnings/Side-notes: This is a very clean novel. It does talk about sex but in a very vague
    and appropriate manner.

    The Wrap-up: I absolutely adored this novel and definitely recommend it. Lessman is a brilliant writer.
     I definitely recommend checking out her novels.

    Love,
    Danica Page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    I wrote this review when I just finished reading A.L.S and let's

    I wrote this review when I just finished reading A.L.S and let's just get one important thing out: Julie Lessman has got incomparable, amazing talent. Hallelujah. Amen. And Praise the Lord.

    I am SO glad she took on this writing journey and so not exaggerating when I say that I'm lost for words right now.

    WOW! People, if y'all haven't any one of her books, what are you waiting for? They're more than just mere works, in my opinion. They truly have deeply blessed me. Each one of them.

    I laughed. I wiped away tears upon tears of mine (I'm afraid PLENTY of tissues will be needed for this one which - in my opinion, is not only the best in the series but also one of the best in 2012!) The drama got me gasping and all and oh how my heart melted.

    The beloved, sweet O'Connors.... *snif!* How I love thee!

    I just can't wait to see what God has in store for Julie! All the glory be unto God for this author. She's got so much talent that I can even hear that NYT best-selling list calling her name.

    Write on, Ms Lessman... write on!

    *Satisfied Sigh*

    This is my honest review. So many thanks to the author and the publisher for a copy of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2012

    A CLASSIC CHRISTIAN ROMANCE

    Annie Kennedy was left orphaned and bitter at a young age. She moved to Boston to live with her aunt, determined to experience all that life has to offer. Using her aunt's last name, she became friendly with the crowd her older sister had left behind, never intending to fall in love with the her sister's ex-fiance'. Steven has spent the intervening time trying to forget her sister; will he be able to move beyond his own past to create a future with Annie?

    A Love Surrendered is classic Christian romance. It is decent, safe, and people say really sweet, religious things to one another that few say in real life. For example:

    "...I thank God every hour of every day for the joy of being your wife, Sean."

    It isn't bad; it's just very, very nice. That being said, there is enough suspense in the plot to keep the reader hooked. Will he find out her secret? If he does, how will he react? Will her new city friends be a bad influence on her? Having started this series with this book, the third in the series, I suggest that if you have not yet read Books 1 and 2, you might want to buy all 3 and begin at the beginning. I know they are now on my TBR list.

    4 stars

    “Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    An Awesome ending to an Awesome series!

    MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK

    Now we have Steven’s story. Getting over Maggie has taken three years, and well, he’s really not over her. But never in his wildest dreams did Steven think that helping a young lady, or really a stupid kid walking in an alley, would change his life forever.

    After his breakup with Maggie, Steven was hard and stubborn, plowed down with guilt over the choices he made in his younger life. Annie was seventeen soon to be eighteen and was curious to know how the fast life was lived. With Peggy and the other girls’ help, she was willing to do whatever it took to make a guy kiss her. But what she didn’t know was the kind of guys Peggy and her friends hung out with. But why did it bother Steven so much that Annie wanted to hang with this crowd, when it’s really none of his business?

    I thoroughly enjoyed another visit with the O’Connor’s in Julie Lessman’s new book A Love Surrendered. Again, Julie has written an intriguing story with a plot so well developed, and so many twists and turns that your head will be spinning and your heart will be beating faster as the story unfolds before your eyes. And I appreciate how Julie deals with everyday issues that people face every day through the O’Connor family throughout this three book series. And more importantly, how she shows how we can make a mess of our lives, but when we give our lives to the Lord, and trust Him for our difficult issues, He will carry us through them.

    You just have to read this series to know what I am talking about! And I strongly encourage you to pick up a copy of A Love Surrendered, and the first two books in the Winds of Change series,

    “Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

    I received this book from Revell Publishers. I was not required or expected to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Hard choices¿Heartbreak¿Hope¿

    Sometimes life takes so many twists and turns it can leave a young heart dizzy. Especially one trying to accept changes and fit in an unfamiliar world… Annie, still seventeen, is forced to grow up faster that most. Now living with her little sister and an aunt they know little about, the relationship is strained. Things begin to change as Annie ventures out, seeking friendship and on a quest to find love. Love or lust? Only Annie’s choices will determine what path she follows…. Many characters, personalities and family challenges to keep you busy! “Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2