Customer Reviews for

A Man Without Breath (Bernie Gunther Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

If you think it's hard for a detective to find a killer today in a city like New York or Los Angeles, imagine what it would be like for an investigator in the German Army in the middle of World War II deep in Nazi occupied Russia. A large portion of the German Army has ...
If you think it's hard for a detective to find a killer today in a city like New York or Los Angeles, imagine what it would be like for an investigator in the German Army in the middle of World War II deep in Nazi occupied Russia. A large portion of the German Army has been crushed by Russian troops at Stalingrad. Tens of thousands are dying on both sides of the war as Bernie Gunther, ex-cop from Berlin, now working for the Army, is called in to investigate the mass murder of over 4,000 Polish officers, who were once prisoners of the Russians near Smolensk. If the Germans can prove the Russian Communist forces have ruthlessly executed these men, it may provide a badly needed public relations coup for the Nazi's, glossing over some of their crimes. Gunther is a loyal German, but not a member of the Nazi party. He has to walk a tightrope between the facts and the results that his superiors want. Any facts are hard to come by as everyone involved, both German and Russian, are looking out for themselves. More often than not lying to keep themselves out of trouble and trying to stay alive. This includes Gunther, who has gotten in trouble before over his less than enthusiastic views of the Nazi's. As if this weren't enough, two German soldiers have been murdered. Their throats sliced open with surgical precision. Gunther is the only competent investigating officer, in the middle of the on going international incident, available to track down their murderer. This is a good blend of fact and fiction, full of action and suspense. Author Philip Kerr's series on the Berlin cop, Bernie Gunther, is a great addition to detective fiction. Highly recommended for those who enjoy hard hitting detective fiction with a touch of noir.

posted by Ronrose on March 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

L

Only one review and its a plot spoiler. So much for a true review where a real reader tells if they liked it or not. No, we get a wannabe author who has to take someone elses work, rewrite as a review and claim it as their own. These rude, inconsiderate plot spoilers ne...
Only one review and its a plot spoiler. So much for a true review where a real reader tells if they liked it or not. No, we get a wannabe author who has to take someone elses work, rewrite as a review and claim it as their own. These rude, inconsiderate plot spoilers need to be fined and banned from posting these plot spoilers.

posted by 8888649 on April 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK

    GREAT BOOK

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    L

    Only one review and its a plot spoiler. So much for a true review where a real reader tells if they liked it or not. No, we get a wannabe author who has to take someone elses work, rewrite as a review and claim it as their own. These rude, inconsiderate plot spoilers need to be fined and banned from posting these plot spoilers.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    If you think it's hard for a detective to find a killer today in a city like New York or Los Angeles, imagine what it would be like for an investigator in the German Army in the middle of World War II deep in Nazi occupied Russia. A large portion of the German Army has been crushed by Russian troops at Stalingrad. Tens of thousands are dying on both sides of the war as Bernie Gunther, ex-cop from Berlin, now working for the Army, is called in to investigate the mass murder of over 4,000 Polish officers, who were once prisoners of the Russians near Smolensk. If the Germans can prove the Russian Communist forces have ruthlessly executed these men, it may provide a badly needed public relations coup for the Nazi's, glossing over some of their crimes. Gunther is a loyal German, but not a member of the Nazi party. He has to walk a tightrope between the facts and the results that his superiors want. Any facts are hard to come by as everyone involved, both German and Russian, are looking out for themselves. More often than not lying to keep themselves out of trouble and trying to stay alive. This includes Gunther, who has gotten in trouble before over his less than enthusiastic views of the Nazi's. As if this weren't enough, two German soldiers have been murdered. Their throats sliced open with surgical precision. Gunther is the only competent investigating officer, in the middle of the on going international incident, available to track down their murderer. This is a good blend of fact and fiction, full of action and suspense. Author Philip Kerr's series on the Berlin cop, Bernie Gunther, is a great addition to detective fiction. Highly recommended for those who enjoy hard hitting detective fiction with a touch of noir.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    A bit of a disappointment after reading "Field Gray" a

    A bit of a disappointment after reading "Field Gray" and "Prague Fatale". Bernie Gunther continues to be an interesting character, and certainly had his hands full in this one. But, the main mission he was on in trying to uncover the tragic happening in the Katyn woods got a little sidetracked with other activity requiring his attention. A little disjointed it seemed at times, and finally saved at the end with the discovery of the real culprit. Not a bad read, but certainly not a page turner for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    Philip Kerr has done it again. Another terrific Bernie Gunther

    Philip Kerr has done it again. Another terrific Bernie Gunther mystery / historical fiction. I've loved each book in this series and hope to have new ones to read regularly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Interesting and different perspective of WWII.  Great characters

    Interesting and different perspective of WWII.  Great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    Great book!

    Interesting to read a mystery when the lead character is a German and has to deal with the politics of the Nazis at the time. Quite a different twist on a mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Would not recommend this book

    I did not care for his style and had a difficult time continuing to read. I finally just stopped reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    always a good read

    Phillip Kerr's books are so full of history,and he makes his detective stories revolve around the most interesting subject matter.I thoroughly enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    This is an exceptional novel ! It's the first Bernie Gunther nov

    This is an exceptional novel ! It's the first Bernie Gunther novel I've read and I will definitely read all of the others . It is history and entertainment wrapped in a terrific read . Wow !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Couldn't put it down until I had finished!

    A fascinating read' saying that, I should remind readers that the Wehrmacht (Make War) was thoroughly despised and hated in all occupied countries. The Nazis were worse but only by degree. The Wehrmacht was just as hard and cruel as any army in modern history. I do know, many of my immediate family were engaged in WWII and a close friend lost his family to the Holocaust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Splendid portrayal of a Berlin cop during WWII

    I lived in Berlin from 1960 to 1963 as a Mormon missionary. I was in East Berlin on Sunday, August 13, 1961. The German border police and the Soviet infantry built a wall 30 miles through the center of Berlin in essentially one night.

    I came to know and love Berliners. I was on the street with almost two million of them when John F Kennedy riveted them with his now famous: Ich bin ein Berliner. Berliners have always been more skeptical and possessive of a wry sense of humor than Germans, or other Europeans. That was true before the war, and was accentuated by the Soviet occupation after the war. Here, Phillip Kerr captures that essential Berliner character in the person of Bernie Gunther. At times, as you read this book, you will wonder if someone could be so brash in the face of the evils of Nazism. I think it is a fair question, and my answer, having known many Berliners as good friends, my answer is it is not only possible, I believe it was prevalent beneath the surface during the era of the triumphant Nazis.

    I recommend this to all those who enjoy a hard bitten detective story with an entertaining and compelling figure at its heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    another entertaining Bernie Gunther novel. As with the previous

    another entertaining Bernie Gunther novel. As with the previous novel, this one goes back into the past, where our intrepid hero is working for the German Army War Crimes Bureau when Polish army bodies are found in Katyn Wood/Forest. Bernie is sent by Joseph Goebbels to help build an international case showing the horrors the Soviet NKVD has unleashed by killing almost 5000 Polish senior NCOs and officer POW's. Along the way he meets a lady friend, has shots fired at him, and as usual, manages to piss off most of the German High Command and those he works around. If found this to be interesting both for its historical notes and for the usual cynical but ultimatley very human main character. However, I did not find it as "deep" as most of the earlier novels about the detective from Berlin. Given the way that Field Grey ended, I'm not sure author Kerr can continue moving the series forward, and will have to simply be content with fleshing out episodes in the past. Still, good readng.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2