Customer Reviews for

A Man of Honor: First Responders Book #3

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    An Amazing Story of Second Chances and Hope. This is the third b

    An Amazing Story of Second Chances and Hope.
    This is the third book in The First Responders series. I loved this one so much I need to read the other two books. It is an amazing story of love and loss, second chances and hope. It has suspense and romance. It will make you laugh and cry so make sure you have kleenex handy. I loved every minute of this book and I hated to see it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    WHAT A WONDERFUL BOOK!!!!  WHAT A WONDERFUL SERIES AND AUTHOR!!!

    WHAT A WONDERFUL BOOK!!!!  WHAT A WONDERFUL SERIES AND AUTHOR!!!!  
    This book kept me throughout the book had me staying up late to finish!!!  
    Each in the series can be read alone; but the best is to read 1 thru 3!!  You won't be sorry!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a Writer!

    I just finished reading Loree Lough's latest in the First Responders Series, A Man of Honor. Loree has a talent for keeping me on the edge of my seat, and this book was no exception.
    Dusty is on a search and rescue (SAR) mission when a pretty and young volunteer is paired with him who obviously must have known the victim they expect to find. Sure enough, it turns out Grace is the dead girl's teacher. Maybe she isn't as young as she looks, but she's still pretty.
    Dusty is one of those bleeding hearts who takes in boys in trouble. He currently has eleven living with him in a house targeted by a gang who is giving him and the boys one last chance to either join the gang or get out. Dusty won't allow the first option and doesn't have much choice about the second. Where could they go?
    Grace is another bleeding heart, volunteering to go with the police to give word to the mother of the victim--who had just months previous lost her husband and now had to be told her only child was gone, too. Grace also sort of mothers an odd girl in her class who doesn't look like much--messy, definitely not style conscious, antisocial, and bounced from one foster home to another.
    It's inevitable these two do-gooders will get together--isn't it? Or is it? Tell me, Loree--is there another sequel? Please?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    This was an exceptional read - omgosh, everytime that I finished

    This was an exceptional read - omgosh, everytime that I finished one book of this series, the next one was even better! I so admire all the first responders in this book and in real life-esp. those that were there during 9-11. They serve with courage and a desire to protect those they serve if it means putting their lives on the line. The dogs that the first responders, train to be part of the team, are awesome,too-there were many dog heroes as there were people heroes in 9-11.
    This is a beautiful story of love, hope, faith,courage, forgiveness,and honor! Thank you, Loree- for this awesome book-I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dusty Parker is a man most would look at twice and wonder who he

    Dusty Parker is a man most would look at twice and wonder who he really is. On the outside, he's a big, muscle bound, tattooed, diamond pierced ear, Harley riding, pony-tailed man. But it's who he is on the inside that really matters and it matters a lot to the foster teenage boys he's raising in The Last Chance home. He is a part-time pastor and part-time Search and Rescue worker with a true heart of gold. Despite the fact he has what some would consider a colored past, Dusty tries to do all he can to give the boys he's helping to raise make lives for themselves where they wouldn't have had any hope.

    A chance encounter on a recent Search and Rescue case for a teenage girl missing from prom, leads Dusty to work with a volunteer. She turns out to be the teacher of the missing girl and can identify her before the police can. Turns out that Grace Sinclair is an inner city school teacher with her own colored past. Yet Grace truly lives up to her name, offering the gift of grace to those she meets, from Molly Logan, the grieving parent of the missing teenage girl, to offering up her 30-acre ranch home when gang members threaten the boys staying with Dusty. Does God have a plan for both of them to use their pasts to create a new brighter future?

    In the latest novel from Loree Lough, in her First Responder Series, A Man of Honor takes us into a different character than we have known before. Dusty's past comes from a tragic experience during 9/11 that costs him his career. He also has received a discharge from the Marines due to not being able to follow strict orders. Grace is also suffering from tragic circumstances surrounding the loss of someone in 9/11 as well, but it's her ability to care for others that makes her so admirable and attractive to Dusty. In the midst of this compelling story we find that local gang wants to induct the boys, Dusty is trying to save into his gang and if Dusty keeps him waiting much longer, he will make sure that his message is received loud and clear.

    I received A Man of Honor compliments of Abingdon Press and Pump Up Your Book Tours for my honest review. I've read every single novel in Loree's First Responder Series and they are truly addicting because of how well she creates her characters. She doesn't make them perfect, but uniquely flawed so they can become believable and wind their way into our hearts like family. In A Man of Honor, you find yourself rooting for Dusty and Grace as much as the boys and girls they care for despite all the odds against them. There's even an appearance from Honor Mackenzie, the top SARs trainer from book 2. The best part about this series of books, is that Loree brings old and new characters together and blends them perfectly to create a story you'll fall in love with. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and look forward to many more in this amazing series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Man of Honor by Loree Lough First Responders Series Book 3 Pas

    A Man of Honor by Loree Lough
    First Responders Series Book 3
    Pastor Dusty Parker had come a long ways from where he once was. From living dangerous and reckless….as if it didn’t matter if he lived or died….to opening Last Chance after becoming a Pastor. Between the eleven boys, keeping up the old home they live in and having to put up with the gang leader, Gonzo, who wanted his boys in his gang….Dusty found a beautiful distraction from life while on a SAR mission.

    Teacher Grace Sinclair went on the mission to look for one of her students who disappeared the week before. The handsome man she partnered with made it clear he didn’t like newbies, she never even learned his name. And yet they found each other once again and were pulled together like magnets. And she loved his Last Chance boys as well.

    This is the third book in the series and I would recommend reading the first two if you enjoy “seeing” the whole story. This book don’t shy away from the real life facts. Not everything always turns up bright and happy. Loree has brought these characters to life so well that I shed many tears while reading and many smiles over the antics of the Last Chance boys. Be prepared for the unexpected.These books are more about real life situations more than romance. There is an underlying romance but the life of First Responders, real life, is the stronger theme.
    **Received through NetGalley for review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loree Lough in her new book, “A Man of Honor” Book T

    Loree Lough in her new book, “A Man of Honor” Book Three in the First Responders Series published by Abingdon Press brings us into the lives of Dusty Parker and Grace Sinclair.

    From the back cover: Dusty and Grace find love together, but will it be enough to pull them through tragedy?

    On a steamy spring morning, Dusty Parker—part-time pastor, part-time search-and-rescue team member, and full-time administrator of a school for troubled boys—joins the search for a missing teenage girl. He partners with volunteer and inner-city school teacher Grace Sinclair, and what they find bonds them in ways neither could have expected.

    As they begin to build their lives together, a visitor from the past causes Dusty and Grace to further open their hearts and home. But a threat is looming on their seemingly perfect lives and in one terrifying night, everything changes.

    Dusty is the administrator of a school for troubled boys that is home to eleven boys that he cares for deeply. On the other hand there is Gonzo, the gang leader, he doesn’t care for the boys, only as new recruits for his gang. Dusty and Gonzo are in conflict that needs to be resolved. Dusty is part of the search-and-rescue team and when a teenage girl goes missing he is called in to help search. It is at this time that he meets Grace, inner-city school teacher, and romance blossoms. ”A Man of Honor” is filled with tension and many twist and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story is about child prostitution, those who are in it and those that are trying to get them out of it. Ms. Lough has managed to weave the romance between Dusty and Grace in such a way that it just captivates you. She makes you care for all the characters and their journey. This is also just plain fun and exciting as well. Don’t start this book late at night because it will cost you sleep.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review: "A Man of Honor" by Loree Lough was the t




    Review:


    "A Man of Honor" by Loree Lough was the third book in the series (The First Responders Series) and a very good inspiring read that I thoroughly enjoyed. I found this novel to be not only beautiful but also powerful. Be ready for many twist and turns that kept me on the edge of my seat and I did find myself laughing at a lot as the story progressed.

    How this author got these two people together was simply a work of art. Dusty Parker was not only a pastor, a search and rescue team member, but also in charge of eleven troubled teen boys that he cared for deeply..then there was a gang leader(Gonzo) who also wanted Dusty's boys in his gang. Grace Sinclair was a teacher...and one of her students(Melissa) had disappeared and ended up dead and this is where these two (Dusty & Grace) meet up and you will get the answer to the question...Was this 'love at first sight?' Will there be test in this relationship? Now, this is where I say you must pick up this excellent "Man of Honor" to see how this author gets this story out because the end will be a real test that only if you read "A Man of Honor" will you find out if...'Grace could do it!'

    The characters were really all very very good..making this story so believable and powerful...Dusty, Melissa, Grace, Mitch, Gavin, Derek, Lucille, Matt, Honor,Montel, Cody, Trevor, Molly Logan, Kylie, Uncle Mike, Joe, Frank Benedict,Jesse Vaugh, Dom, Destor, Jack, Billy, Axel, Nick, Tony, Nestor, Miller, Shipley,Isaacs, Gonzo, Randi Fletcher, Ethan, Austin, Keith,and Agent Spencer Pastor Nolt, Mercy, Amanda, Dr. Applegate, Anita, Conner, Adam Miller, Blake, Flynn, Mr. Miller, Dr.Peterson, Marianai, Brigid and Tucker.

    "A Man of Honor" showed much love, faith, humor, death and even tears. If you are in for a excellent read I would recommend this one for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1