Customer Reviews for

A Matter of Trust (Mia Quinn Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I love Lis Wiehl books and was very excited to see that Thomas N

I love Lis Wiehl books and was very excited to see that Thomas Nelson Publishing offered her newest book for free through their Booksneeze Blogger program in exchange for an honest review. 
As is typical for Wiehl, this book is a murder mystery with a female lead invest...
I love Lis Wiehl books and was very excited to see that Thomas Nelson Publishing offered her newest book for free through their Booksneeze Blogger program in exchange for an honest review. 
As is typical for Wiehl, this book is a murder mystery with a female lead investigating the case. I didn't even read the teaser before requesting the book, as several of my recent favorite books have been Lis Wiehl books. I enjoyed this one almost as much as the previous books. I did find that this one seemed to repeat itself a lot at the beginning of each chapter, which got to be a bit redundant  I could understand it more if it was a movie or series, as someone could have missed a moment or episode, but with a book it's unlikely someone would skip a chapter. Despite that, I would recommend this book to friends. It has real characters that readers will care about and a storyline that will keep you coming back for more of the story. There are several minor storylines that I found myself caring about almost as much as the main story. I look forward to more books by Lis. 

posted by bahh27 on March 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The book begins with the brutal shooting of Mia¿s colleague and

The book begins with the brutal shooting of Mia’s colleague and friend, Colleen. Mia is tasked with heading up the investigation as it is suspected that Colleen’s death is related to the murder of another one of Mia’s colleagues four years ago. Unlike your average book,...
The book begins with the brutal shooting of Mia’s colleague and friend, Colleen. Mia is tasked with heading up the investigation as it is suspected that Colleen’s death is related to the murder of another one of Mia’s colleagues four years ago. Unlike your average book, this one shifts point of view through multiple characters to help tell a more detailed story filled with tons of surprises. This makes for an interesting twist as you start to piece together each of the views to find out if the murders are connected and who’s behind them.

posted by amboutwe on June 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    I love Lis Wiehl books and was very excited to see that Thomas N

    I love Lis Wiehl books and was very excited to see that Thomas Nelson Publishing offered her newest book for free through their Booksneeze Blogger program in exchange for an honest review. 
    As is typical for Wiehl, this book is a murder mystery with a female lead investigating the case. I didn't even read the teaser before requesting the book, as several of my recent favorite books have been Lis Wiehl books. I enjoyed this one almost as much as the previous books. I did find that this one seemed to repeat itself a lot at the beginning of each chapter, which got to be a bit redundant  I could understand it more if it was a movie or series, as someone could have missed a moment or episode, but with a book it's unlikely someone would skip a chapter. Despite that, I would recommend this book to friends. It has real characters that readers will care about and a storyline that will keep you coming back for more of the story. There are several minor storylines that I found myself caring about almost as much as the main story. I look forward to more books by Lis. 

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mia's husband has recently passed away. Before he died he was ke

    Mia's husband has recently passed away. Before he died he was keeping secrets from Mia. After his death Mia is left with more bills than she can handle. Having quit work to raise her children, Mia is now going back to work as an attorney for the district attorney's office.

    When she is on the phone with a co-worker and friend the unthinkable happens. Mia hears a gunshot and then her friend barely breathing. Mia leaves her son Gabe on the line to listen if Colleen says anything as Mia rushes to her house. Colleen slowly dies as Gabe is listening.

    Mia's current case that she is investigating is a group of high school bullies who's threats and torment has led to a student committing suicide. When the DA asks Mia to investigate Colleen's murder she is reluctant to give up the bullying case and also reluctant to spend more time away from her kids. Mia doesn't know what else to do though in order to pay all of the bills that are coming in so she agrees to team up with Charlie from the local law enforcement office. Charlie has been married 3 times and gets on Mia's nerves but he is a good police officer even if he is a bit high-handed.

    Mia and Charlie make a good team and are soon hot on the killer's trail. Mixed in with their investigation is Mia's home life that sometimes seems to be falling apart. Her son is 14 and trying to fit in to high school and her 4 year old daughter Brooke has been having screaming episodes in the middle of the night. Sometimes Mia barely feels like she is keeping her head above water. And then there is her father who seems to have had a change in his life. From being absent when Mia was a child he is now wanting to be there for her and his grandchildren. Claiming to have a changed life in Christ, Mia has a hard time trusting him from his past track record and she definitely doesn't know how she feels about his new interest in church.

    I really enjoyed A MATTER OF TRUST. The mystery kept my attention along with all of Mia and Charlie's interactions together. There is a potential for a couple of romantic relationships in future novels. I believe this is the first book in the Mia Quinn Mystery series. There were a couple of times that I felt that I was missing part of the story. I felt like I was coming into the middle of something that the author thought I should already know. In my opinion it detracted a little bit from the story but I was able to catch up with what was going on eventually. Other than that, this was a solid mystery and I definitely will plan on reading the next book in the series. I reviewed The Triple Threat series by this author last year and really enjoyed those. If you like mysteries I definitely recommend A MATTER OF TRUST and The Triple Threat series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Highly recommend!!

    A Matter of Trust is my sixth Lis Wiehl book. I enjoy how she incorporates her experiences in litigation through her characters. She also incorporates her Christian beliefs in her books which I also enjoy. I love her books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lis Wiehl with April Henry in their new book, "A Matter Of

    Lis Wiehl with April Henry in their new book, "A Matter Of Trust" Book One in the Mia Quinn Mystery series published by Thomas Nelson introduces us to Mia Quinn.

    From the inside jacket flap: When life is murder, who can you trust?

    One minute Mia Quinn is in her basement, chatting on the phone with a colleague at the prosecutor's office. The next minute there's a gunshot over the line, and Mia listens in horror as her colleague and friend Colleen bleeds to death.

    Mia's a natural for heading up the murder investigation, but these days she has all she can do to hold her life together. As a new widow with a pile of debts, a troubled teenaged son, and a four-year-old who wakes up screaming at night, she needs more time with her family, not less--and working Colleen's case will be especially demanding. But Colleen was her friend, and she needs to keep her job. So she reluctantly teams up with detective Charlie Carlson to investigate Colleen's death. But the deeper they dig, the more complications unfold--even the unsettling possibility that someone may be coming after her.

    Lis Wiehl's signature plot twists and relatable characters shine in this absorbing series debut . . . with an intriguing cameo from her best-selling Triple Threat series.

    Yay, a brand new series from the writing team of Lis Wiehl with April Henry. Welcome Mia Quinn. Mia is a highly relatable character, she is a widow, has lots of debts, is trying to raise her son and is forced back into the work force. A murder is committed right before her ears, she is on the phone at that time, and she is given that assignment as well as a few others. I needed Mia to figure out who the murderer was because I sure couldn't. "A Matter Of Trust" is an excellent murder mystery filled with marvelous characters, great plot twists, suspense and thrills. This is an exciting book, extremely well paced and suspenseful. I am enjoying this series and look forward to the next book.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    Good Story - Well Told

    Good character development - you grow to like the main characters and desperately want them to succeed. Satisfactory conclusion, with surprises along the way, as with any good who-dun-it story. Good detail along the way of what a Prosecutor's job is like. Looking forward to reading more of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a book you will want to read all in one day. It was so h

    This is a book you will want to read all in one day. It was so hard for me to put down. The first few pages have you wanting more so fun of intensity, then you are so far into the book that you just have to keep going and going.. well, you get the point.
    The mystery was very well written. I loved how in depth she took us, and how everything tied together even threw every twist she brought to the book. I can’t imagine what the other books in this series will be like. If they are anything like this book they will be absolutely worth the money spent!
    Lis has a beautiful writing technique, the words run smoothly, and there is so much open for your imagination as the story plays out in front of your eyes. The characters are relatable; their stories and emotions are real. Although the murder of Colleen is the central plot, this book tackles bullying and secrets, making A Matter of Trust a little more challenging than just a great mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Plot: This book had a couple of different cases being solved. Yo

    Plot: This book had a couple of different cases being solved. You have the main story of the prosecutor who was shot, and then you have a couple smaller cases to follow. It wasn't too much though. It was the right amount to keep you engaged in everything that was going on.

    Characters: The character development in this book was great. You have Mia, the main character who you learn about in the beginning of the book, but then you also have several supporting characters who's lives are revealed as you read.

    Themes: I can't say that I could effectively identify a theme in this book. There is nothing that could be learned from reading it. It's just a crime novel and a good read, but not one that teaches and has you come away thinking.

    Emotion: There was not a lot of emotional pull in this book. The characters in the book had definitely had emotion, but not enough that the reader could feel it. There was however a lot of depth to the notion of emotion that the characters were feeling.

    Overall: I really enjoyed this book. There was a good amount of mystery and suspense. There was also a good amount of personal struggle on the part of Mia. The plot twist at the end is a great surprise.

    ---I received this book for free from the publisher for this review.---

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    The book begins with the brutal shooting of Mia¿s colleague and

    The book begins with the brutal shooting of Mia’s colleague and friend, Colleen. Mia is tasked with heading up the investigation as it is suspected that Colleen’s death is related to the murder of another one of Mia’s colleagues four years ago. Unlike your average book, this one shifts point of view through multiple characters to help tell a more detailed story filled with tons of surprises. This makes for an interesting twist as you start to piece together each of the views to find out if the murders are connected and who’s behind them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    Suspense Women can Relate To Today¿s women can relate to Mia

    Suspense Women can Relate To




    Today’s women can relate to Mia as a working mom, a wronged wife, and a struggling woman. The suspense of the story keeps the reader’s interest, while the realistic attempts of Mia as a mother dealing with a teen and the actions of her deceased husband creates a real person. All mothers who work or deal with teens, struggle to raise their children well. You can feel Mia’s struggle as she tries to solve the mysteries. This book is highly enjoyable to all readers of suspense with a female detective, but it fits that small unused gap of books for mature women, too. If you are into mystery/suspense get this book! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Mia Quinn is on the phone with her good friend and fellow County

    Mia Quinn is on the phone with her good friend and fellow County Prosecutor, Colleen, when Mia hears a loud noise and Colleen suddenly isn't responding. Mia realizes the sound she heard was a gunshot, calls 911, and rushes to Colleen's house. Colleen has been murdered. Soon, Mia is assigned to Colleen's murder case and has to juggle solving the case, caring for her two children, working with a detective who is swift to bend the rules, and piles of debt her late husband left her--all while hoping the killer isn't coming her way next.




    Part of the reason I chose to review A Matter of Trust was that I knew it would be a quick read. I crossed my fingers that it wouldn't be too formulaic--sometimes I just have to roll my eyes at legal thrillers because, after a while, they all sound the same. I was happy to find, though, that A Matter of Trust contained enough interesting plot turns to keep me guessing while not being so over-the-top as to be unrealistic. When, at last, the killer was revealed I was truly surprised, which I appreciated.




    When I reached the end of the book, I was kind of annoyed because I felt the book left a few ends not at all neatly tied. But, after looking on Lis Wiehl's website, I discovered A Matter of Trust is the first in a series of legal thrillers, all starring Mia Quinn (whose story, incidentally, based on Lis Wiehl's actual life). I am looking forward to reading more of the Mia Quinn series as they are released.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mia Quinn¿s colleague at the prosecutor¿s office is the victim


    Mia Quinn’s colleague at the prosecutor’s office is the victim of an apparent “hit” while talking with Mia by phone—and she takes her last breath.
    Mia is teamed with Charlie Carlson to investigate her friend’s murder, but Mia has all she can do to keep her life together at home. Her husband’s recent death, a mountain of bills and his newly discovered secrets are occupying her thinking; let alone her troubled teenage son, keeps Mia from feeling too confident about anything these days.
    When she learns this is the second murder in the prosecutor’s office with similar M.O.’s Mia begins to suspect she could be next if she doesn’t watch her back.
    Lis Wiehl has a knack for making her characters believable and so familiar and knowable. A fan of her Triple Threat Series girls, this debut of Mia Quinn promises to be a welcome addition to my library shelf! Thank you, Lis!
    **though Thomas Nelson sent me a free book to review, this was no effort to like, regardless!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    Lis Wiehl is one of my favorite authors, and I loved the Triple

    Lis Wiehl is one of my favorite authors, and I loved the Triple Threat series, so I was excited to read this one. This is book one in a brand new series, and I am going to be impatient waiting for the next one. ;) I had a hard time putting this one down when reality called! If you are familiar with this author already, I think you'll enjoy this one too because it's got the same page turning, fast paced writing you're used to. If you're not familiar with the author, and you love mysteries or crime novels - what are you waiting for?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It has been a long time since I've read a book that has crept in

    It has been a long time since I've read a book that has crept into my dreams! Lis Wiehl wrote a captivating crime novel and I couldn't wait to read it each day. I would have finished it sooner if I didn't have so much going on in my life at the moment! The story was well written and laid out. I didn't solve the mystery until the characters did. It was not predicable to me, and I appreciated that.




    The characters were very intriguing. I love that the author wrote Mia as a real, single mom, struggling to find her balance between work, family, and putting her life back together. Her character will be one that any woman, whether you have been in her situation or not, can relate to. I also love that this is going to be a series. I feel like Mia's character development will be much better when stretched out over a few books, rather than jam packed all into one.




    The faith element was a little lacking for me, however, not in a bad way. Mia's character is just learning to trust again after the events in her life took that trust away. It would be improbable that she would just jump into a faith that relies on trust right away. In my opinion, the right amount of faith was put in the book with Mia's dad as the sole witness for her. 




    Overall, I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When life is murder, who can you trust? Lis Wiehl¿s signature pl

    When life is murder, who can you trust?
    Lis Wiehl’s signature plot twists and relatable characters shine in this absorbing series. A Matter of Trust gives us an amazing insight into the life of a prosecutor— and mom.
    Prosecutor Mia Quinn is on the phone with her friend and colleague, Colleen, when the unthinkable happens. She hears a shot. When Colleen doesn't answer, she thrusts the phone at the son telling him to try to talk to her and after calling the police rushes to Colleen's house where her friend is bleeding to death.
    One theme subtly woven through the book is that people and circumstances aren't always what they seem to be. Mia and the other characters in the book make all kinds of assumptions about the people they encounter throughout the book only to learn that they are wrong, for good or bad. What matters is doing the right thing as far as you are concerned and placing trust carefully where it has been earned. Forgiveness, compassion, and giving others the opportunity to make things right when possible are also stressed.

    The spiritual themes are incorporated nicely into this story. There is a good balance between introducing the reader to a changed life and pressing the matter.
    If you want a mystery that keeps you guessing right to the end, this is a winner. Although the search is on from the first pages for the killer, it comes as a surprise at the end. However, there are enough clues that the solution is not out of the blue. A well done mystery. A Matter of Trust also contains a series of questions perfect for reading group discussions.
    I received copy of EBook from Thomas Nelson in their Booksneeze Blogging for books for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    I typically finish books I start. However, after stopping and st

    I typically finish books I start. However, after stopping and starting several times and reading nearly 100 pages, I decided to set this one aside. I enjoyed Lis Wiehl's previous fiction series (although later books shared a lot of similarities to James Patterson's Women's Murder Club series), so I was looking forward to this one.

    Unfortunately, I didn't like Mia, the main character. AT. ALL. The premise of the book is that Mia is on the phone with a friend when her friend is shot. She hands the phone to her teenage son to listen to her dying breaths and leaves her two children (the youngest of which is preschool age) alone while she drives across town to "help" her friend. Seriously? Who does that?! It just seemed super selfish and pretty much set the stage for how Mia acts throughout the rest of the book (or at least as far as I read).

    So, in this instance an unlikeable character was too much for me to get past. It's also worth mentioning that not much happened in the first third of the book. Pretty slow-moving plot. I don't plan to read the rest of this series. [DNF]

    I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze program in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book... Lots of tension throughout the story

    Really enjoyed this book... Lots of tension throughout the story. I enjoyed all of the many different story lines that kept you in suspense and wondering who the killers were.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2