Customer Reviews for

A Memory of Light (Wheel of Time Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 484 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(332)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

81 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

Come on people seriously. The ebook will be out eventually. It w

Come on people seriously. The ebook will be out eventually. It wasn't nor has it been Tor's decision to not release the ebook right away. from what I have heard it is Jordan's widow who made the choice. Either way grow up and don't rate the book a 1 because you can't ha...
Come on people seriously. The ebook will be out eventually. It wasn't nor has it been Tor's decision to not release the ebook right away. from what I have heard it is Jordan's widow who made the choice. Either way grow up and don't rate the book a 1 because you can't have the ebook right away.

posted by Victorian_Engineer on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 240 people found this review helpful.

Really can't believe the ebook won't be released until April. 

Really can't believe the ebook won't be released until April. 

posted by Aadaenyaa on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 484 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    This book is phenomenal. Sanderson and Team Jordan (including J

    This book is phenomenal. Sanderson and Team Jordan (including Jordan's editor and wife, Harriet) had a daunting task, picking up the baton from Jordan and finishing the Wheel of Time. Thankfully, they took on the task, and have done an amazing job.

    I enjoyed both of the previous two "collaborations" by Brandon Sanderson and Robert Jordan a great deal. But A Memory of Light is leaps and bounds better than them. The character voices are spot-on throughout. Mat Cauthon felt a little off to some of us, especially in The Gathering Storm, but Sanderson has been getting him better and better, and Mat really shines here. Rand is the best he's been in ages. All of the characters are true to themselves, and the Last Battle is maybe even more epic, heart-wrenching, and engrossing than expected. If you're a fan who was worried that the Dark One and his minions were incompetent, worry no more! If you feared that the ending wouldn't satisfy the anticipation, worry no more! One of the best reads of my life, truly. Thank you Brandon, Harriet, and everyone involved. P.S. Ebook readers - I can't wait to get it on ebook myself. But that's a separate issue. Review the content. If you want to bash on a publisher or bookseller for not having it on the right platform, more power to you, but complain about that in the appropriate forum, not in a review intended to help people decide if they'll like the book. They don't need you to tell them if they want it on ebook or hardcover!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    It was awesome.. couldnt put it down for a minute

    It was awesome.. couldnt put it down for a minute

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Loved the book, loved loved. Dont rate the hardcover version of

    Loved the book, loved loved. Dont rate the hardcover version of the book badly because you couldnt get it in ebook. Cant believe someone who read the whole series would say they wouldnt read the last book because the had to wait 3 more months after waiting all the years for the other books when there was no such thing as an ebook. Silly people. Anyways a great read!!!!!!!!!!!

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Like all of the other 1 star ratings, I can't believe it's not a

    Like all of the other 1 star ratings, I can't believe it's not available as an e-book.  Luckily for Tor, I'm not patient enough to wait for the e-book so they still get my money.  But Tor's stupidity cost Barnes and Noble my sale.  Would have bought it for my Nook, but instead I've bought the hardcover from Amazon.

    12 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    It was one week after having suffered a series of strokes when I

    It was one week after having suffered a series of strokes when I learned of Robert Jordan’s death from a small TV hanging over my hospital bed. Of course I had heard of him and his Wheel of Time series many times before, but I had never read any of his work. Something about the timing of his death and my own recent experiences made me want to get to know this man better. I felt sorrow for all of his fans, how his story would never be completed. 

    A couple months later I heard refreshing news; the news that another writer would pick up the mantle and write Jordan's last volume. I remember thinking to myself how generous of Robert to allow someone else to finish his tale - how selfless an act to prepare for another artist to add the final touches. I was blown away and I rushed to catch up in time for the final battle.

    I found myself falling into RJ's universe as I listened to The Eye of the World. I became engrossed in the struggles between the shadow and light so much that I searched for ways to spend time alone so I could "read" more.  I listened to the novels as I ran miles around my town preparing for my first marathon. I listened to them as I tore my house down to the studs and rebuilt it for my wife and new baby daughter. I listened to them as I flew back and forth across the country for work. A lot of good memories float to the surface every time I think of this series and I give partial credit to them for my recovery. 

    To take a word from Thom Merrilin, the last battle was "exquisite". A Memory of Light delivered on all of its promises. It is packed with action. It tied up all the many loose ends. It brought about an ending. Robert Jordan can now rest as his tale has been told. His memory has become legend. 

    A Memory of Light has so many plots! On the surface it might seem a daunting task to read and keep track of them all, but Brandon Sanderson groups them together so you're not following too much at once. The world is in utter chaos and all the main characters have crucial roles to play. No one of them has a task more important than another, save maybe Rand himself. As Rand prepares for the final battle, he uses all the assets at his disposal. After setting them in play he leaves them to their own successes and failures as he finally sets out to confront the dark one.

    You begin to wonder as the shadow pushes back, how can the light prevail? The world is being torn apart by the dark one as he attempts to break the great wheel. Cracks that fall away into the void of nothingness, bubbles of evil erupting across the lands, and forsaken permanently burning souls from the pattern with balefire all plague the armies of the light. Slowly the pieces slide together as all the many loose ends from the previous thirteen books are gathered together into one final weave. Heroes fight, friends are lost and forsaken are left behind as the third age comes to a close.

    Brandon's writing mimics Robert Jordan's very well, though he writes with a youthful flourish that adds new life into an aging story. I hadn't known of Brandon prior to this venture of wearing the dragon pin so proudly. Since then I have read almost all of his work and wholeheartedly recommend him. A Memory of Light does not fall short of his standard.

    Throughout the three final volumes, the characters have all remained true to Robert Jordan's telling. Our farm-boy heroes have all grown up over the course of their adventures, yet they remain themselves. Matrim Cauthon is still the same gambler he has always been, though he is much more calculating now. Perrin remains the most level headed of the three ta'veren and Rand's insanity has given way to a clear head that is needed for the final battle. 

    If you don't already know, the magic system within the Wheel of Time series is one of the best known in the fantasy genre. It is defined almost scientifically with advantages and dangers to its use and with opposite forces for every action. Not only is it soundly structured, it is also artful in its casting and the descriptions of its outcomes are both beautiful and ferocious. Aside from the primary magic system within the world, the pattern of existence itself grants new mystical abilities to heroes and villains to add balance and uncertainty to the stories.

    The world within the Wheel of Time is one of opposites. Villains are almost always evil and heroes are good. There are some minor exceptions, but this is not your gritty fantasy filled with anti-heroes. At its heart, this is your “farm-boy grows up and saves the world” fantasy story.

    I don't know how "original" A Memory of Light was. I certainly haven't read many books with such a wide scope, but most of the elements within the story were previously seen. There were a few new bits and pieces, but this story was more about concluding the legacy than about surprising us with new notions.

    I truly enjoyed A Memory of Light. It was a fitting end to one of the greatest epic fantasy series to date. I'd probably have liked it even more if it hadn't been so long, but the length served the purpose of wrapping up loose ends. It truly was unavoidable – there were so many. I also felt the ending would have been more powerful if a few more heroes hadn't survived into the fourth age. That isn't to say I didn't tear up at their survivals. How could I not? The Wheel of Time has come to an ending.

    I "read" this entire series via audiobook, the final volume being no exception. Kate Reading and Michael Kramer have practically become two of my best friends now, though I've never met or even talked with either of them. 

    I'm torn between four and five stars. I think the telling by Brandon definitely deserves the full five rating, but the “farm-boy saves the world” story has been done quite a bit. This is a really good story though and one that has earned its place in history.

    Thank you Robert Jordan for this epic series and for having the humility to allow another to finish your tale. Thank you Brandon Sanderson for completing this work with the grace only few have. Thank you Harriet for having the will to see your husband's work completed - you made an excellent choice.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No ebook = no rating. I will not be buying anything now. A month

    No ebook = no rating. I will not be buying anything now. A month from now there will be plenty of used books to borrow

    11 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    To those who are voting it down because it's not in ebook format

    To those who are voting it down because it's not in ebook format: You are rude little brats.  Take your complaints directly to the publisher and/or stop being cheapskates.
    I came here to read a review and not listen to your rants.  I was worried when I saw the low rating but then found that one or more people dragged the rating down simply because it wasn't released as an eBook (could be one person posting multiple times for all I know).

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No Ebook version.  Would give 0 stars if I could. 

    No Ebook version.  Would give 0 stars if I could. 

    10 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Perfect ending to the greatest fantasy series ever.

    Perfect ending to the greatest fantasy series ever.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    I started reading the series when The Great Hunt was released an

    I started reading the series when The Great Hunt was released and have been hooked ever since. I've reread the books atleast once a year since then and have loved them everytime. Thank you Robert Jordan for this epic fantasy and taking us along for such a amazing ride.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    I am really conflicted about this ending. The battle scenes wer

    I am really conflicted about this ending. The battle scenes were beautifully done and absolutely fulfilled my expectation expectations for the final battle. Some characters, like Lan and Mat, had more satisfying final scenes than others.

    However, after 13 previous books of great detail and in-depth character development, I have to say that this book felt rushed (quite a feet with about 900 pages). For the first time since Sanderson took over, I felt like he was trying to hit all the outline points Jordan left without really understanding how the pieces fit together. I was especially displeased with Egwene and Gawyn's story line. After 14 books, Gawyn never did manage to redeem himself. What happened to the Kinswomen? The Seafolk? Both are mentioned in passing but are not developed at all. Why was Alise thrown in so haphazardly at the end? Alanna seemed like a forgotten storyline. Moraine never spoke to Siuan, and Siuan barely had a voice. Where on earth was Morgase?

    I'm not suggesting that there should have been another book. It was time for things to wrap up. I'm only left with wondering if Jordan had been able to finish his wonderful saga would the ends have been tied up a little more neatly?

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    yep sucks no ebook. part of the reason i chose the ebook route

    yep sucks no ebook. part of the reason i chose the ebook route was to save space. I used to have tons of books that cluttered up my apartment. I do not want to go that route. I have been a loyal fan of this series even when others said it sucked. I official thank them for giving us the royal middle finger. It will be awhile before I pick this one up. I will however be re reading my Michelle West books until here next one comes out.

    9 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    It is Very disappointing the the e-book format is not available.

    It is Very disappointing the the e-book format is not available. The publisher needs to get off the dime.

    9 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    for delayed ebook.

    for delayed ebook.

    9 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Why should I have to buy this twice? This is not childish; it i

    Why should I have to buy this twice? This is not childish; it is a message to the publishers! I give Sanderson a 5

    9 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Good book so far! Definitely one i would prefer to have in pape

    Good book so far!
    Definitely one i would prefer to have in paper.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Haven't read this book yet but my rateing is because of this Boo

    Haven't read this book yet but my rateing is because of this Book not being on ebook the same day of release.. Having to wait because readers have ebooks is just not right at all..

    9 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    It's finally over!

    I have been following the series from almost when it first started a hundred years ago. This certainly isn't the worst book that has been written in the WOT series, but it wasn't the best either. The book is jammed thick of action, and had a few surprise developments that I liked, but for the most part I found myself having trouble caring about many of the characters. I liked that Sanderson wasn't afraid to kill off a few of the main characters, but (and I hate to say this after 14 books) the ending seemed rushed and unsatisfying. Sanderson seemed to explain too much in some areas and not enough in others. If you have been staying loyal to the series it is a must read, but if you are thinking about taking it up for the first time, I would say pass.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    While i was dissapointed and confused, maybe even a little upset

    While i was dissapointed and confused, maybe even a little upset the book was not available in ebook format i cannot bear to see such a great work and tremendously popular series end with a sub-standard rating.  How dare you consider yourself a fan and watch the BOOK rating drop just because you cant buy it on your nook. I saw the rating and thought oh no they messed up the last book! Then i actually read the reviews and realized it just a bunch of petty complaints that are ruining the last peice of the late and great Robert Jordan! I dragged myself out of my own nook to go buy the hard back, you can too.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    Shame on all of you who poorly rate this because of no ebook.  S

    Shame on all of you who poorly rate this because of no ebook.  Seriously, all of you fools shouldn't even be allowed to read this masterpiece.  Any real fan of Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson would want to have the entire collection on your book shelf.   I consider having the entire thing on hard back a trophy that I deeply with pride for truly owning something that has meant so much to my imagination.     

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 484 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25